We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best dinner of the holiday!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Altomonte
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Agriturismo Le Farnie
Reviewed September 24, 2011

We had an great time at the agriturismo. Unfortunately the weather wasn't that good but the view was amazing and the rooms and balcony were beautiful. At night we had dinner and I think it was one of the best dinner experiences from our three week trip. Everything they serve grows and on their land, and alhough we also do like fish or meat very much, we did no miss a thing with this vegetarian dinner. Just the taste of the grapes (fragola) was unforgettable! Next morning Carla showed us around and we learned about the process of making olive oil. She took really the time for us and it made ou visit to this agriturismo even more special. We bought some of the products and in this way we will keep the memory of a terrific stay!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eline Anna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (48)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 48 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2009

This is a nice place for a few days (that's what we spend, wouldn't mind spending moore) in Calabria. Carlo and Carla produce their own organic olive oil and dinner is made from their own produce. Great food! And beautiful surroundings. The rooms are simple and tastefully furnished. You really get the feeling that they are truly engaged in making your trip something special.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DKtravelerCopenhagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2009

You will be rewarded if you get off the tourist trail & experience this excellent agriturismo in the heart of Calabria & close to the most beautiful village of Altomonte.
The nearby villages of Morano Calabro & Civita, are also amazing & worth visiting.
Firstly, Carla is very gracious & friendly &, speaking excellent English will give you a most interesting tour of the olive oil production & facilities (their olive oil is outstanding!)
Secondly, the accommodation is in a newly renovated farmhouse & is a large, clean, comfortable room with good bathroom facilities.
Thirdly, to round off the Calabrian experience is dinner in the farmhouse restaurant - & this is fantastic - 5 courses to enjoy, including eg antipasti of fried sweet peppers, & eggplant & potato fritters, then primi, secondi, dolci & finally an aperitif of dried figs & ricotta & limoncello to finish.
Overall: Highly recommended as both a unique place to stay & beautiful area to visit.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hpoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2009

We stayed for over a week at Le Farnie, and have only praise for our hosts Carla and Carlo. The Agriturismo itself is lovely, tranquil, simple and far away from the rush and bustle of summer in Italy. There is all the information you need on what to see and do in the area (alot!!), presented upon arrival in an organised manner. The food, as all who stay at Le Farnie point out, is wonderful. Our three children loved the holiday, and were welcomed most warmly. Carla and Carlo are generous and genuinely interested in the well-being of their guests.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ExtraVirgin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2009

We where part of the NIAF tour in April and where treated to a awesome experience and a great lunch at Agriturismo Le Farnie. All the food was excellent and home made from the pasta to the wine. Great people and I highly reccomend a visit. Carlo aslo showed us how they make the olive oil!!
Grazie Carlo

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank B717FO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2008

We selected Le Farnie because it was close to where our family originated -- a starting off point to search for family. We were welcomed with open arms at the very start of our stay. We enjoyed amazing home cooked meals and peaceful nights. Le Farnie is set amidst picturesque landscape and is truly beautiful.

Our husband and wife hosts were more than helpful with all of our questions. They made every attempt to help us have an enjoyable visit, not just to Cosenza, but to Italy.

Thank you, Le Farnie!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FamiliaenItaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2008

Here the Godess of pasta rules, probably some of the worlds best pastasauce
y.s.
jps
Denmark

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank 2zeus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Altomonte
22.2 mi away
Agriturismo la Locanda del Poeta
0 mi away
Agriturismo Santa Gada
Agriturismo Santa Gada
#2 of 10 in Morano Calabro
28 reviews
16.5 mi away
No photo provided
La Corte dei Cavalli
#1 of 4 in Francavilla Marittima
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Barbieri
Hotel Barbieri
#1 of 2 in Altomonte
347 reviews
1.9 mi away
La Casa nella Prateria
La Casa nella Prateria
#1 of 7 in Altomonte
61 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Food & Drink
Hotel Food & Drink
#3 of 7 in Altomonte
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agriturismo Le Farnie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agriturismo Le Farnie

Address: Contrada S. Anna, 87042 Altomonte, Italy
Location: Italy > Calabria > Province of Cosenza > Altomonte
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Altomonte
Price Range: $86 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Le Farnie" is situated on the hills of Altomonte, in Calabria, between the Nathional Park of Pollino, the Tyrrhenian and Ionian seas.It is an organic farm and produces extra-virgin olive oil in its own artisan olive press.Hospitality is offered in an old farmhouse built at the end of the 1800s and now entirely renovated. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Agriturismo Le Farnie Altomonte, Italy - Calabria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing