We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay between Sicily and Rome or the Naples area”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Barbieri

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Barbieri
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Altomonte
Certificate of Excellence
Anacortes
Level Contributor
96 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great place to stay between Sicily and Rome or the Naples area”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

We stayed here twice, on the way to and from Sicily. The first time, our GPS took us a strange way, along narrow, grassy roads....easier & quicker to head into Altomonte first, then begin following the GPS. Although we had reservations confirming a room with balcony and view, we were disappointed to find no balcony in the room we were given. It did have a view from the window, though, and was a comfortable room. Decided to stay another night, as we needed more of a rest after the Sorrento Peninsula, and managed to get a balcony. Enjoyed sitting out with wine and taking in the amazing views of the town and mountains. The only unpleasant thing was that when someone smoked in the room next to us we could smell it, especially strong in the bathroom. Upon our return from Sicily, we were given a larger, newer room above the parking area. The window looked out onto trees. Not having a balcony got us to spent more time on the wonderful terrace however. In this building, all bathrooms had high windows that opened onto a hallway. Again we were bothered by smoke, as the windows were open. I managed to close ours, which helped. The hotel and grounds, however, are beautiful, as are the views. The staff were friendly and gracious. Breakfast was good and plentiful. We enjoyed walking into town and exploring it. An excellent location and value.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dayle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    61
    13
    6
    1
See reviews for
72
99
5
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

We stayed at this fabulous hotel for 4 nights as part of an escorted Saga tour of Southern Italy and Sicily. We were met by the proprietor Senor Barbieri with a welcoming drink and address on the terrace overlooking the village and the Pollino National Park. The rooms were great, the food superb and the service excellent. I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 64Rod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

The absolutely best thing about this hotel is it's location, the views are stunning!!!

Although the hotel did not appear to be anywhere near full the first 2 rooms we were offered had no view! Eventually we were given a room, although smaller than the first 2, it had the balcony and the views.

Back to the hotel, the family who own the hotel are very hand's on and all the staff were very pleasant. Although there were times during the day when it was difficult to find someone to arrange a drink. Please remember this is not a large chain hotel, your expectations need to consider this fact also remember you will get the personal touch in other areas.

The restaurant was very good, on our first night the owner made recommendations which we were happy to take on both food and wine.

Room Tip: The rooms and decor are a little dated but I understand that the hotel is currently undertaking reno...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BulmerTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Level Contributor
188 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

this was the best hotel i ever stayed in. we were on a family trip to calabria to visit relatives and were told that this was the place to stay. it is in the ancient town of altamonte with a castle on top of the mountain. the barbieri family was very attentive and the owner was even busing tables, he gave us a tour of the hotel and the kitchen. terrific breakfast that was included with the hotel stay. we had a late lunch there for ten people and i must say it was the best i ever had, the food never stopped coming and every dish was better than the last. it is worth coming to italy just to stay here. i give it 6 stars.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lekerm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

On our "touring Calabria" holiday we had booked one night in advance at Hotel Barbieri and just a half-hour after arrival we decided to stay one more night. We felt so welcome! It was our first vacation day and to open up the balcony door and look out over the old town of Altomonte, the mountains and valleys and feel the serenity, it was priceless. At arrival (between lunch and dinnertime) we were hungry and asked for something small to eat and they were so happy to help and made us a couple of lovely sandwiches.
The dinner in the evening was really good with lots of locally procuced food and nice wine from the area and on top of it so the waiter, Alfredo, was so accommodating and knowledgeable.
Returning "home" after a trip and be able to take a dip in the beautiful pool was a big plus. We have only nice things to say about this lovely hotel and really hope to come back someday!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

Whilst road tripping through Italy we needed a night on the way to Amalfi. It is not an obvious choice for Australian tourists, however, it should be! The stunning hill views of Calabria are breathtaking and the hospitality and generosity of the Barbieri family was overwhelming. We ate at the restaurant for dinner and I think "wow" was every second word. Fantastic food, local produce, excellent wine and a lovely terrace made for a very enjoyable meal and stay. Highly recommend!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michka78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed in this beautifully situated family hotel for three nights as part of an 'over fifties' touring group and were greeted with drinks on the terrace which has stunning views of Altomonte, the mountains, countryside and the shimmering sea in the distance. All the family seem to be involved in the running of the hotel, presided over by Mr Barbieri himself who is a great character and they were all so friendly, welcoming and helpful that we never wanted to leave! The food was excellent, well presented and delicious - the local wine was great. The rooms were very clean and comfortable with a balcony to enjoy the wonderful views. The swimming pool area is delightful and ideal for relaxing. We would definitely want to stay here again as we were made to feel special and welcomed.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brook B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Altomonte
23.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Premier Villa Fabiano Palace Hotel
17.2 mi away
Il Cormorano Exclusive Club & Spa
16.1 mi away
Grand Hotel San Michele
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Hotel Don Carlo
Hotel Don Carlo
#1 of 2 in San Marco Argentano
3.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
15.6 mi away
Bouganville Palace Hotel
Bouganville Palace Hotel
#3 of 9 in Belvedere Marittimo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
19.3 mi away
Sibari Green Village
Sibari Green Village
#1 of 13 in Cassano allo Ionio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Barbieri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Barbieri

Property: Hotel Barbieri
Address: Via Italo Barbieri 30, 87042 Altomonte, Italy
Location: Italy > Calabria > Province of Cosenza > Altomonte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Altomonte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Barbieri 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Barbieri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barbieri Hotel Altomonte
Hotel Barbieri Altomonte, Italy - Calabria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing