We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“September Stay”
Review of Hotel Barbieri

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Barbieri
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Altomonte
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 25, 2013

The absolutely best thing about this hotel is it's location, the views are stunning!!!

Although the hotel did not appear to be anywhere near full the first 2 rooms we were offered had no view! Eventually we were given a room, although smaller than the first 2, it had the balcony and the views.

Back to the hotel, the family who own the hotel are very hand's on and all the staff were very pleasant. Although there were times during the day when it was difficult to find someone to arrange a drink. Please remember this is not a large chain hotel, your expectations need to consider this fact also remember you will get the personal touch in other areas.

The restaurant was very good, on our first night the owner made recommendations which we were happy to take on both food and wine.

Room Tip: The rooms and decor are a little dated but I understand that the hotel is currently undertaking reno...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BulmerTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (350)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 350 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2013

this was the best hotel i ever stayed in. we were on a family trip to calabria to visit relatives and were told that this was the place to stay. it is in the ancient town of altamonte with a castle on top of the mountain. the barbieri family was very attentive and the owner was even busing tables, he gave us a tour of the hotel and the kitchen. terrific breakfast that was included with the hotel stay. we had a late lunch there for ten people and i must say it was the best i ever had, the food never stopped coming and every dish was better than the last. it is worth coming to italy just to stay here. i give it 6 stars.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lekerm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

On our "touring Calabria" holiday we had booked one night in advance at Hotel Barbieri and just a half-hour after arrival we decided to stay one more night. We felt so welcome! It was our first vacation day and to open up the balcony door and look out over the old town of Altomonte, the mountains and valleys and feel the serenity, it was priceless. At arrival (between lunch and dinnertime) we were hungry and asked for something small to eat and they were so happy to help and made us a couple of lovely sandwiches.
The dinner in the evening was really good with lots of locally procuced food and nice wine from the area and on top of it so the waiter, Alfredo, was so accommodating and knowledgeable.
Returning "home" after a trip and be able to take a dip in the beautiful pool was a big plus. We have only nice things to say about this lovely hotel and really hope to come back someday!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

Whilst road tripping through Italy we needed a night on the way to Amalfi. It is not an obvious choice for Australian tourists, however, it should be! The stunning hill views of Calabria are breathtaking and the hospitality and generosity of the Barbieri family was overwhelming. We ate at the restaurant for dinner and I think "wow" was every second word. Fantastic food, local produce, excellent wine and a lovely terrace made for a very enjoyable meal and stay. Highly recommend!!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michka78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed in this beautifully situated family hotel for three nights as part of an 'over fifties' touring group and were greeted with drinks on the terrace which has stunning views of Altomonte, the mountains, countryside and the shimmering sea in the distance. All the family seem to be involved in the running of the hotel, presided over by Mr Barbieri himself who is a great character and they were all so friendly, welcoming and helpful that we never wanted to leave! The food was excellent, well presented and delicious - the local wine was great. The rooms were very clean and comfortable with a balcony to enjoy the wonderful views. The swimming pool area is delightful and ideal for relaxing. We would definitely want to stay here again as we were made to feel special and welcomed.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brook B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

On our way to Sicily, we booked a room at the Barbieri hotel for one night. We have had a beautiful stay: the Barbieri people gave us the warmest welcome, we had the best Italian dinner with a fantastic Chef, great wines, a romantic breakfast in the sun with stunning views!! We would make the whole trip to Sicily again, only to visit the Barbieri family ....

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ABecking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

we stay at the magnificent barbieri every time we drive to and from sicily as it is a perfect stop over, situated on a tall hill, surrounded by fruit orchards, with a view of the adriatic sea to the east and vast mountains to the west.
the family who own the hotel are as welcoming as the staff and our dogs say they love it! the food is delicious and the service exemplary.
we always look forward to returning (-;

Room Tip: chose a room with a view of the old citadel to the north of the hotel (most face this way)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iggybarbados
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Altomonte
23.3 mi away
Best Western Premier Villa Fabiano Palace Hotel
15.5 mi away
Bouganville Palace Hotel
Bouganville Palace Hotel
#5 of 9 in Belvedere Marittimo
212 reviews
9 mi away
Hotel Toscano
Hotel Toscano
#1 of 1 in Tarsia
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Hotel Don Carlo
Hotel Don Carlo
#1 of 2 in San Marco Argentano
29 reviews
17.1 mi away
Il Cormorano Exclusive Club & Spa
9.4 mi away
La Locanda di Alia - AliaJazzHotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Barbieri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Barbieri

Address: Via Italo Barbieri 30, 87042 Altomonte, Italy
Location: Italy > Calabria > Province of Cosenza > Altomonte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Altomonte
Price Range: $103 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Barbieri 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Barbieri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barbieri Hotel Altomonte
Hotel Barbieri Altomonte, Italy - Calabria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing