We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very welcoming” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tregarth Homestay B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tregarth Homestay B&B
Ranked #2 of 2 Tregarth B&B and Inns
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very welcoming”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

Really homely place to stay, electric blankets highly recommended! Peter and Kathleen were very accommodating and ensured I found somewhere to eat on the evening I arrived. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank emily4bball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tregarth, Owner at Tregarth Homestay B&B, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you "Emily" we regard this as part of our normal service. We're glad you enjoyed your short visit and hope to see you again for a longer stay as there is so much to see here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    7
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
15
19
21
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

I stayed here for one night with my brother, having been out walking all day. As soon as we arrived Peter was very accommodating (seeing us cold! and making us a cup of tea). The room was very clean, shower was excellent, breakfast was good. Perhaps stating the obvious but it had a very homely feel to it and much more character than other options at the similar prices (e.g. travelodges).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tp2012_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tregarth, Owner at Tregarth Homestay B&B, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Hi "TP",

Thanks for your kind words, we always do our best to welcome our guests whether staying for 1 night or 1 week. Try to stay longer next time and enjoy Snowdonia!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, CA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

What wonderful hosts! Couldn't ask for nicer, more considerate people to host our first visit to Wales. It helped that Peter and Kathleen are English, so communication was not an issue, and they are very helpful in offering advice. Clean, beautiful location and within 1/2 hour of major attractions. You do need a car to get around any of Wales. Would highly recommend Conway Castle and any scenic experience you can imagine is exquisite.
Irene and Steve

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tobeinformed1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tregarth, Owner at Tregarth Homestay B&B, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank you Irene and Steve for such a lovely review! We're so pleased you had such a good time in North Wales, and it was great meeting you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tilburg, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

Last summer we've been staying at Tregarth Homestay for 10 days. We couldn't have been more happy having chosen this B&B. Peter and Kathleen really made us feel at home. They have been most kind and helpful to us, cooked us the most lovely breakfasts and even gave us the wheather forecast and advice on day trips. We also got to enjoy the guest lounge where we could watch tv/dvd's and relax. The beds were also very comfortable and the B&B is located in a wonderful environment. We'd recommend this B&B to anyone who'd like to explore Wales.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hans_and_Marleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

Sorry to be the odd one out but this B & B was not up to our expectations. Access to it is very poor up a very steep, narrow road with blind bends where you hope you will not meet another vehicle. The parking area for guests is awkward. We had a small double room with poor TV reception and a cramped en suite. The decor and furnishings were not to our taste. I have stayed in about 50 B & Bs in the last 7 years and this is the first time breakfast has been taken in the kitchen with the proprietor cooking there as well. The choices available at breakfast were limited and the general presentation of the breakfast table was not good enough. It did not help that we had just come from an outstanding B & B and comparisons were made with that which was the same price. Tregarth was overpriced by comparison.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Derek C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tregarth, Owner at Tregarth Homestay B&B, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
We are very sorry but it seems that you chose the wrong B&B for your requirements. We are a HOMESTAY as explained on our website, and different from the traditional British B&B. We welcome guests into our home to stay as we would our friends, in an informal atmosphere. In answer to some of your complaints:- One must expect steep narrow roads in Welsh upland villages and we have ample off-road parking for three normal sized cars. All our bedrooms meet the requirements of Visit Wales, the official body which grants us 3 stars. It is a pity you did not mention the TV problem at the time as I fixed it in 5 minutes. It is disappointing that you did not like our breakfast menu and the fact that it was served in our kitchen-dining room, but this is part of our ethos. We feel that the 38 “Excellent” reviews give a more accurate picture of our operation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neufahrn bei Freising, Deutschland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

I stayed for 3 nights to have access to both Snowdonia and Anglesey. The house is located in Tregarth, 3 miles away from Bangor at a hilly village. Excellent view towards Angelsey. Beds comfortable, lodge with tv/dvd set, Wifi. Bathroom not en-suite, but therefore large (this is the better choice I would say, comparing to what is called an en-suite bathroom sometimes). Nice time there.
Live cooked delicious breakfasts, good conversations with the hosts, a lovely couple. Very helpful about finding the right places to eat, hike or visit and even more. Bedrooms and lodge perfect.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1975Kenny2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tregarth, Owner at Tregarth Homestay B&B, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Thank you "Kenny" for such a nice review, we're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We did have some interesting conversations over breakfast. It was a pity about the punctured tyre on your hire car, and the unfortunate consequences! We look forward to your next visit; there is so much to see in our part of Wales.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maastricht, Limburg, Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

The rooms were very comfortable and clean, we especially enjoyed the guest lounge where we had a place to relax after a long day. Peter and Kathleen were very kind and were more than happy to advice us on various subjects. For example just the mention of this site helper us in our time of need when we could not find a place to stay which made sure we ended up in a lovely fair priced b&b instead of sleeping in the car. All in all we would recommend this b&b to everyone

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tregarth, Owner at Tregarth Homestay B&B, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Hello Keith,

We're glad we could take you and it was good to meet you both and have a chat. It's a pity you could only stay for 1 night before your ferry home. It would be good to see you again sometime for a longer visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tregarth
3.9 mi away
Premier Inn Bangor Hotel
5.1 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
0.2 mi away
Pant Teg B & B
Pant Teg B & B
#1 of 2 in Tregarth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Joys of Life
Joys of Life
#1 of 3 in Bethesda
5.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
1.8 mi away
Plas Tirion Bed and Breakfast
3.4 mi away
Ashbrook, Bangor Boutique Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tregarth Homestay B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tregarth Homestay B&B

Property: Tregarth Homestay B&B
Address: Llain y Grug Dob, Tregarth, Bangor LL57 4PW, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Bangor > Tregarth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Tregarth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tregarth Homestay B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at Tregarth Homestay 3-star B&B. Situated at the entrance to the beautiful Ogwen Valley/ Nant Ffrancon Pass in the foothills of Snowdonia, the elevated setting gives views of the mountains, the Menai Straight, Anglesey and Puffin Island. In a quiet rural location on the edge of a small village, yet just two miles from the A55 Expressway/A5 and 4 miles from Bangor. Llanberis (for the Snowdon Railway) is 20 minutes drive; Caernarfon, Conwy and Beaumaris medieval castles are 20-30 minutes. There is something for everyone within easy reach! We have 1 double en-suite bedroom, 1 twin and 1 single bedroom both with their own private bathrooms, and a cosy lounge. Arrive as guests, leave as friends! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Tregarth Homestay B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing