We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow!”
Review of Atherton House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vineland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Atherton House
Ranked #2 of 4 Vineland B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 10, 2013

My wife and I have been doing the b&b route for about thirty years now, and I have to say that we have never been made more welcome than by Pat and Tom at Atherton House!
The extra effort that Pat put in to accommodating our every wish was truly wonderful.
The house is deceptively more spacious than it appears from outside: large, extremely comfortable bedrooms, and lots of areas to sit around both inside and out. A fabulous breakfast made to our taste, and Pat's cheerful and genuine hospitality ensured that we will be back (if there is a vacancy after all the great reviews!).

Thanks again Pat.

All the best,

John and Diana

Room Tip: We had the Cloud Nine room. Large and very comfortable with beautiful ensuite bathroom, sofa by the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GranVineland, Owner at Atherton House, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Thanks for the review ! Come back and visit again ! Pat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (29)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 29 reviews

Reviewed April 9, 2013

I've been here first in August 2011, then in September 2012 - both incredible times!!

The owners of this B&B are SO friendly, kind and generous, it makes every single other B&B I have ever been to look like greedy monsters.
Patricia has the kindest soul and I can't recommend staying here enough.

She accommodated myself, my spouse, and three other couples in her guest suites during my friend's wedding last summer. I forgot to leave a review until now! My spouse and I had previously stayed there the previous summer during a winery tour and trly enjoyed our stay which is why we came back with the entire wedding invitees. She is an incredible host and so friendly and social, she honestly feels like family.

And before I forget, the breakfasts are always amazing. Always fresh and delicious! And there is always so much on the table, from freshly picked berries to delicious homemade muffins.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Char M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GranVineland, Owner at Atherton House, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

We enjoyed your visit ! Thank you for the kind words ! Pat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We highly recommend this lovely Bed and Breakfast. Pat Atherton made us feel so very welcome at her beautiful home nestled among peach orchards in the Niagara wine country. We enjoyed Pat's delicious breakfasts and engaging conversations. The rooms and beds are very comfortable and guests are welcome to "hang out" in the lounge or in the garden gazebo by the pool. If you are there during early summer, the songbirds will entertain you as they dart in and out of their gourd birdhouses.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Takemealong777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GranVineland, Owner at Atherton House, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

I have the best guests ever ! Thank you for the review ! Pat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

We keep coming back to this B&B due to the hospitality, breakfasts, beautiful setting and lovely rooms. Being summer, I went for a walk and enjoyed seeing a huge variety of birds, rabbits, orchids and vegetation. Breakfasts were once again amazing. You are right in the middle of wine country so there are lots of interesting ones to visit. It is just a short drive to many attractions. This time another couple came along and they were thrilled with the B&B as well. We will all be coming back.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FuzzyBeaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GranVineland, Owner at Atherton House, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

I have the best guests ever ! Pat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2012

Had a recent wedding at a nearby winery and selected this B & B to stay overnight. Wonderful hospitality from Pat Atherton, she was more than flexible and accomodating with our wedding schedule and made sure it worked out well for us, from start to finish.
We sat in her warm and inviting living room as she prepared breakfast and felt so welcome.
The breakfast was fabulous, the grounds offered perfect country charm.
This place we would go back to in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GranVineland, Owner at Atherton House, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2012

Thank you for your review !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2011

We had gone to visit friends in Ft. Erie and then did our annual winery tours at Niagara-on-the Lake. I had seen Atherton House posted on-line and decided to make a night of it. We usually come home and just go for the day. Pat was truly amazing!! She welcomed us with open arms and had the light on for us as we didn't arrive until 8 pm. We had the Cloud Nine room which was just beautiful. There was coffee, hot chocolate, tea and biscuits if we wanted a snack at night. We had a couch by the fire in our room which was so comfortable that we could have slept on it. It pulled out if we had extra members in our party.
The next morning, we had coffee at our door and eggs Florentine, fruit platter, yogurt, orange juice and more coffee. Pat sat and talked to us about the town of Jordan. It surpassed all of our expectations!! Great for family, friends and a romantic evening. George and Roberta, Guelph, On

Room Tip: Cloud Nine had the ensuite and a great view of the vineyards, private porch
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lauryn88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GranVineland, Owner at Atherton House, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2012

Thank you for your review !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2011

We were warmly welcomed back by Pat and Tom. The location on a quiet road bordering the orchids and vineyards is so relaxing. We took advantage of the fine weather to sit outside and enjoy the day and the various interesting birds. The breakfasts are absolutely amazing. Pat emphases local produce, meat, fruit, honey and jams. Plus home-baked items every day. The rooms are very nice and have everything you need. Their knowledge of the local events and sites is enormously helpful. We will definitely be back and do highly recommend the B&B.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FuzzyBeaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GranVineland, Owner at Atherton House, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2012

Thank you for your review !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Atherton House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atherton House

Address: 4265 21st St, Vineland, Lincoln, Ontario L0R 2E0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Lincoln > Vineland
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Vineland
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are small. But we are effective . If you need a great relaxing get away . We are what you need ! The " Twenty Valley " in Niagara offers something for everyone ! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Atherton House Vineland, Canada - Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing