We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quite serenity”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Atherton House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vineland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Atherton House
Ranked #2 of 4 Vineland B&B and Inns
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Quite serenity”
Reviewed May 11, 2012

Had a recent wedding at a nearby winery and selected this B & B to stay overnight. Wonderful hospitality from Pat Atherton, she was more than flexible and accomodating with our wedding schedule and made sure it worked out well for us, from start to finish.
We sat in her warm and inviting living room as she prepared breakfast and felt so welcome.
The breakfast was fabulous, the grounds offered perfect country charm.
This place we would go back to in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GranVineland, Owner at Atherton House, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Thank you for your review !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    0
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
18
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2011

We had gone to visit friends in Ft. Erie and then did our annual winery tours at Niagara-on-the Lake. I had seen Atherton House posted on-line and decided to make a night of it. We usually come home and just go for the day. Pat was truly amazing!! She welcomed us with open arms and had the light on for us as we didn't arrive until 8 pm. We had the Cloud Nine room which was just beautiful. There was coffee, hot chocolate, tea and biscuits if we wanted a snack at night. We had a couch by the fire in our room which was so comfortable that we could have slept on it. It pulled out if we had extra members in our party.
The next morning, we had coffee at our door and eggs Florentine, fruit platter, yogurt, orange juice and more coffee. Pat sat and talked to us about the town of Jordan. It surpassed all of our expectations!! Great for family, friends and a romantic evening. George and Roberta, Guelph, On

Room Tip: Cloud Nine had the ensuite and a great view of the vineyards, private porch
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lauryn88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GranVineland, Owner at Atherton House, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Thank you for your review !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
584 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 281 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2011

We were warmly welcomed back by Pat and Tom. The location on a quiet road bordering the orchids and vineyards is so relaxing. We took advantage of the fine weather to sit outside and enjoy the day and the various interesting birds. The breakfasts are absolutely amazing. Pat emphases local produce, meat, fruit, honey and jams. Plus home-baked items every day. The rooms are very nice and have everything you need. Their knowledge of the local events and sites is enormously helpful. We will definitely be back and do highly recommend the B&B.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FuzzyBeaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GranVineland, Owner at Atherton House, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Thank you for your review !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
131 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2011

This was our third annual trip to stay with the Atherton's and everything was perfect...yet again. This is such a great spot to stay in the area. So centrally located, has all the amenities a person could want, and your hosts are the most wonderful people taking great care to look after anything you might ask. The rooms are so comfortable and quiet, ensuring you'll have a not only your own private space, but also a lovely, peacful night's sleep. If you stay here, not only are you getting great value, but great insight into all the happenings in the area as Pat and Tom are always on top of what is new in the area and where the great events are taking place. If you have any hesitations on staying at a B&B, I can assure you they are misplaced when it comes to the Atherton House...if we could find places like this to stay all over the country, we'd never stay in a hotel!

Room Tip: All rooms have their own baths, ours was acroos the hall from our room, but was huge and we loved it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScottyMontana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GranVineland, Owner at Atherton House, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
I have the best guests ! Pat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2011

This is our third stay here and it won't be our last! We were received with wine and cheese and Pat gave us helpful advice about local attractions and restaurants. The rooms are comfortable and very nicely decorated; the bathrooms are clean and have a luxurious feel. The breakfasts are also particularly delicious and included a filling "main" with home-baked goods on the side! There is nothing to fault about this B&B, and anyone who stays here will notice the warm welcome they receive.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alow110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
584 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 281 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2010

From the moment you arrive, you feel like family. The house and rooms are beautiful. Very large common sitting area. Although it was the fall and we could not take advantage of it, they have a great backyard and swimming pool. The breakfasts are 100% made from scratch using local ingredients. Even the jams and honey is local. The food is really, really good. Each afternoon they offered local wine and cheese. Pat and Tom are truly gracious hosts. Plus they have a great knowledge of all the things you might want to do. Highly recommend and we will be going back.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FuzzyBeaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GranVineland, Owner at Atherton House, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Thank you for your review !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castlegar, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2010

We arrived on a Friday and stayed for 2 nights.We were in the area to attend a Wedding. Friday night we were with with our cousins and had the 2 large rooms with ensuites. The Saturday night , our cousin's Son, Daughter and 2 granddaughters arrived. So we had all 4 rooms booked.
We were greeted by Pat on Friday with wine, cheeese and crackers. We sat outside by the pool and enjoyed the beautiful gardens and the surrounding orchards while having our wine. Pat and Tom came out to pick fresh raspberries for our breakfast. We had a great time talking to them about the gardens and surrounding area. They are very knowledgeable about the wineries and the local area.
The rooms were beautiful and clean, and we had a restful sleep. The 2 breakfasts were great. The first day we had eggs florentine and peameal bacon, with fresh raspberries, banaba bread and cranberry bread, orange juice and coffee. The second morning was for 8 of us. Pat prepared a baked pancake with fresh peaches along with fresh baked muffins. Of course you coul also have cereals and yogurts.
The breakfast was served in a large sunroom with doors to the backyard. Very bright and roomy. We also made use of the large living room, for hanging out with our family.
You definitely arrive as strangers and are made to feel like friends by the time you leave. We had great conversations and laughs with Pat and Tom.
We have already recommended their house to many frinds , family and coworkers.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RustieDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GranVineland, Owner at Atherton House, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Thank you for your review !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vineland
1.8 mi away
Jordan House Hotel
Jordan House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Jordan
65 reviews
5.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. Catharines Conference Centre
1.5 mi away
Inn On The Twenty
Inn On The Twenty
#1 of 3 in Jordan
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Ramada Jordan/Beacon Harbourside Resort
0.8 mi away
Coach House at Jordan Station
Coach House at Jordan Station
#2 of 4 in Jordan Station
42 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bonnybank Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atherton House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atherton House

Property: Atherton House
Address: 4265 21st St, Vineland, Lincoln, Ontario L0R 2E0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Lincoln > Vineland
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Vineland
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are small. But we are effective . If you need a great relaxing get away . We are what you need ! The " Twenty Valley " in Niagara offers something for everyone ! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Atherton House Vineland, Canada - Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing