We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some of the best wine in Ontario. ”
Review of Tawse Winery

Tawse Winery
Ranked #4 of 16 things to do in Vineland
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Some of the best wine in Ontario. ”
Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

Staff is great, wine is superb. A little pricey though. But really worth it. There are so many good wines here. Even the ice wine is good, which I usually hate.

Helpful?
Thank ToferRowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    38
    15
    8
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing winery experience!”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We visited in late August and had an amazing experience at Tawse Winery. There were six of our family in total, and we had our own private tour and tasting at Tawse. The grounds and location of the winery were stunning, with amazing views over the surrounding area. Our host was extremely knowledgable and very thorough in terms of explaining the process to us. The tasting in the cellar area was incredible, with lots of delicious tasting wines, excellent explanations to the differences between each one, and very very tasty cheese and bread to accompany some of the wines too. We spent around 3 hours here on our private tour, and although some of the wines were a little pricey, we all ended up buying a bottle or two to take with us on the rest of our trip. The ice wine, and White Riesling were particular favourites. All staff were very friendly and attentive, and our trip there was a real highlight of the trip for us all. Will definitely be recommending Tawse winery, and wines, to others - can't wait to go back!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank veej10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not a wine lover but this converted me”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Not a wine lover but this converted me, the setting itself is amazing and well worth the drive if you are based in Toronto. The guide that we had was incredibly knowledgable and the wines that we tasted were superb. The wine itself is reasonably priced for the quality. A must visit.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Grantjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cobourg, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good wine is expensive”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

The drive up to the building was impressive to say the least. A high end feeling and a price tag to match. So e really good high end wines but hard to justify the price. We did buy some but I will not be opening it until a special occasion!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tracy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Great experience, fabulous wine.”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

While most of the product at Tawse is beyond my desired price point, it was still worth the visit. The staff were quite busy while we were there, and yet were friendly, making time to talk with us younger visitors. While it was clear we didn't have the funds to buy out the place, Austin took the time to share everything he could about the wines and the winery with us. He was extraordinarily knowledgable and passionate, really making our visit memorable. I would recommend this vineyard and tasting room to everyone!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank LauraJabalee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tawse Winery also viewed

 

Been to Tawse Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing