We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A delightful local haunt.”
Review of Sede - CLOSED

Sede
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Reservations
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A delightful local haunt.”
Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

We live only a few minutes from Sede and consider it our 'go to' for a cocktail, glass of wine or casual dinner. The staff are lovely, energetic and genuinely friendly. The pizzas are great value or try the gnocchi - simply amazing. A great selection of wines are available with tecomendations frok the staff. They also make a mean dirty martini. Monday to Thursday upstairs is free BYO - whats not to like!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    10
    7
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“SEDE (new name) - cosy and trendy local eatery”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

My wife and I had a great night last night at Sede.

The service was friendly and helpful. we reserved a table so that we could put our baby daughter in her lobster chair but did not specify a round table would not do. The waiter was very kind in asking other diners (thanks again) if he could swap them for a the round table instead of the square one they were sitting at.

The ambience in quite warm and the trendy interior decoration makes this place welcoming. The fireplace next to the sofa is very cool and much appreciated in winter!

The concept of tapas style dishes and/or woodfire pizza is rather good and the wine list extensive enough.

The sweet potato chips were a winner for the whole family, the calamari nice and tender, and the prelibata (cheese, mushroom, roast beef and truffle) was delicious.

We felt though the mini burgers could have done with, perhaps, a softer bun and some of the chorizo was a little too 'chargrilled' for our liking (the tomato chutney was very good though).

The Yering station pinot noir was delicious too. One thing I noticed is that the drinks menu on their website is not up to date, although there is plenty to choose from.

All in all, a very pleasant experience. We'll be back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DamienOfSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Overated and slightly pretensious”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

As previously noted, Vicini's is now called Sede. The same menu is now available upstairs and downstairs. Apparently they only take reservations for 4 or more people. However, we were lucky to get a table upstairs for two. There's not a lot of room between tables so it's a bit squeezy.

After receiving the menu, the waiter disappeared for some time. Eventually he returned and took the order. We ordered a drink and a main course each. We waited and waited and waited for our drinks to arrive to no avail. They had forgotten the drinks and we received them after the food arrived. The portions were extremely small, although tasty enough.

I believe the food and wine are overated and overpriced for what you get. The service was extremely disappointing. I won't be going back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gjwjmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
“A simply good dinner”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

The atmosphere was relaxed, friendly, no pretentiousness here. All one need be concerned about is enjoying the food. And enjoy the simply delicious pasta and fish dishes we did!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Vicini is now called SEDE - have the cocktails, skip the food!”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We dined at the newly refurbished and renamed SEDE, at the roundabout on Booth Street Annandale, on Friday night 11th January, 2013. It seems to have new owners and reopened - we think - in November 2012. We dined upstairs on the full dinner menu, rather than downstairs at the pizza bar.

The greeter/front of house fellow was delightful and helpful. However the wait staff are really trying too hard to be formal and snotty, in what is otherwise a delightful comfortable environment.

The tomato salad was an absolute joke, although in fairness the waiter did warn us the portion was very small! But for $9 there was about .35 cents worth of salad on the plate. The pork belly was spongy and flavourless. The $9 potatoes were salty with a bit of rosemary as an afterthought, rather amateur.

The worst element of the meal was when the waiter arrived with 2 bread rolls on a plate, and said "bread for you?". We said sure, and the plain sesame white rolls were placed in front of us. Then to our surprise there appeared a $7 charge for bread on the bill. We found that rude!

The shining lights of the meal:
1.calamari fritti, dusted with paprika, quite a good value for $18 as a shared entree, and perfectly delicious!
2. margherita cocktail was perfectly mixed and ice cold.

If the new owners can adjust the attitude of the waiters, abandon the cost for bread, and so something more interesting with the vegetables - then they might have a winner for Annandale.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Compass41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sede also viewed

 
Annandale, Sydney
Annandale, Sydney
 
Annandale, Sydney
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing