We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a great meal”
Review of Fish & Co. - CLOSED

Fish & Co.
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Approximately 30mins walk or 10mins drive from RPA Hospital Missenden Rd Newton
Sydney
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“What a great meal”
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Well one of worlds great conundrums, does one share a great local cafe and reward great food and service, or keep it a secret and be selfish in hope that there will always be a spare table just down the road.

Throwing caution to the wind I feel I must share, last weeks meal. First of all we headed off without a reservation hoping that we could get a quick bite to eat and be out before 7p.m. As luck would have it we could get a table inside as long as we could enjoy out meal within 90 minutes, given that we only were after a main course, not a problem.

Whilst we already were locked into our winter favorites, mine the creamy  fish pie with a shredded potato crust and baby spinach and my beautiful partner the Spaghetti with Spencer Gulf prawns, organic mussels and cuttlefish with garlic, chilli, parsley and white wine.  

However, what happens when the you are highly recommended the fresh Alaskan salmon, fresh, Alaskan what about the carbon footprint. Being the last night before the carbon tax saves Australia and the environment we through caution to wind and both order the daily special.  Having placed our order the waiter reassures us by showing us the brilliant color of the uncooked flesh. A rich pinky red color that could have been mistaken for have being cold smoked.

In a short time our foreign visitor arrives siting on a bed of cauliflower purée and bathed in a hint of lemon butter, first impressions are that the brilliant color hasn't left the flesh, as we pull apart the firm flesh we note that it is cooked perfectly. The flesh fills the mouth with a mild rich sweet flavor, we both look at each other and go wow, think we have to add Alaska to our trip wish list, The Salmon is washed down beautifully with a Hunter Heathcote vermentino. Thank you ball boys, that you chefs and thank you waiter for the recommendation.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    19
    16
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
154 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
“5 stars from a non-fish eater”
Reviewed June 27, 2012

We eat here pretty often and that on its own is a compliment to the menu here as I do not enjoy fish in general.

The food served is simply awesome and most importantly very fresh and all the dishes are packed full of chunky seafood, such that one main is probably enough for 1 - 2 adults.

For entree, the soup is highly recommended (do note that it is very filling, and can actually be sufficient as a main for some). On the current menu, the soup is a Thai coriander fish soup and it is literally filled with chunks of seafood, with a very appetizing Thai based broth, with coconut cream. What is most surprising about the soup is this: many seafood based soups do not come with the best quality seafood in it or it comes with tiny pieces of seafood or those that have been over-boiled till its rubbery. This one served by Fish and Co packs a punch and is satisfyingly good with no fishy taste and amazing freshness in each bite of the fish chunks.

For mains, they do very good pasta and paella. If you would like something light, the grilled fish of the day is also beautifully done and perfect for a simple, fresh taste of seafood.

One side surprise that we would recommend is the hand cut chips with chili jam. Very addictive so beware!

The menu is not very extensive but given that all the dishes we have tried are top notch, there is no complain there.

This place is kid friendly with a kids menu as well as crayons and colouring paper provided each time. It is a rather small restaurant so do make a booking especially on the weekends. The service is great but we have experienced times where our meals take quite long - usually this is on a Friday or Saturday night. On weekdays however, it is usually fine. If you are going with the young one, we would recommend heading in at 6 PM when they open as that is when the service is the fastest and you will be able to get the little one nice and full in no time, without waiting.

The restaurant itself is slightly cramped, gets a little noisy when its full but none of that matters as the food is simply outstanding.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank carrotnose_snowman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowral, Australia
Level Contributor
130 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed April 14, 2012

We ate dinner at Fish on friday night and were quite impressed.. Simple, fresh meals for a reasonable price in a small'ish restaurant with a great vibe. Excellent wine list also! Service could have been a little better, i.e. could of poured wine rather than just showing us the bottle then putting it back in the ice bucket but all in all a good value meal..

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank krissylou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great fish restaurant”
Reviewed November 16, 2011

Fish is for fish lovers and even non-fish lovers, it's that good.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mhsd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Impressive sustainable philosophy, great service, menu ok.”
Reviewed August 11, 2011

I think the sustainable fish concept is brilliant. I felt the menu could have been more diverse. The Cerviche was excellent. However, the daily specials were not all together different from the menu items. Beautiful fresh ingredients used in the food we tried. I suppose I was looking for a wider selection of fish based on the name. I am just not a fan of Mullet but that is personal. Outdoor seating with heating in a cute village setting was appealing and the front stacker doors open in Summer would create a lovely space. Takeaway available too. Tables for 2 quite small. Large tables for communal diners or groups is a good idea. Attentive and very swift, friendly service, however, we were asked if our main courses would be ok in 5 minutes while finishing our entrees so the timing was not quite right. Well worth a visit.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank craigthompson11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fish & Co. also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Annandale, Sydney
 
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing