We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really great B&B”
Review of Bet's B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Annandale
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bet's B&B
Ranked #1 of 2 Annandale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Buderim, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Really great B&B”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

I have just spent two nights at Bet's and it is the most comfortable B&B I have ever stayed in. It is very spacious, it is well appointed with everything that is needed for an enjoyable stay, and it is very clean. The location is very convenient - a few minutes walk from a range of shops and cafe/restaurants, and a city bus.

Room Tip: There is only a single room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith D, Owner at Bet's B&B, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
"The most comfortable B&B I have every stayed in". That is the sort of comment that makes running a B&B so rewarding. Thank you, Ron. We aim to please, and when we do, it makes everyone happy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
31
75
20
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

I echo what everyone else has said. Bet's B & B is a home from home and has everything you could possibly want for a comfortable stay.
A special big thanks to Keith who made me feel very welcome from the moment I arrived. He is like a one man tourist information office. Full of tips and advice and I've never seen so many leaflets which covered absolutely everything!
There is a regular bus service which takes you into central Sydney and the light rail station at Rozelle Bay. If you are walking from the light rail station with heavy luggage there is a steep hill to negotiate, so beware!
If you are travelling to Sydney and want somewhere very reasonably priced to stay then you must visit Bet's!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank QPRreedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith D, Owner at Bet's B&B, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Thank you Ian. I was pleased to see you took public transport to our studio. Rail from the airport to Central Station, then the light rail (tram) to Rozelle Bay and from there a 10-minutes walk to Bet's B&B. For single travellers it's a less expensive alternative to taxis. And as for those tourist brochures...we like the idea of you taking your time, in the comfort of the studio, to browse the "where-to-go" options.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okanagan, BC
Level Contributor
55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Bet's B&B for three nights near the end of November, 2013. We were extremely impressed with the accommodation, which is immaculate and beautifully appointed. Bet and Keith provide you with everything you need to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable, as has been mentioned in some of the other reviews. We truly found it a home away from home.

It is easy to get to town or to the harbour area to see all of the major sights. There is plenty of information in the suite and Keith provided us with excellent advice as well. We love it here and are looking forward to returning in January.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank mcbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith D, Owner at Bet's B&B, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thanks, Malcolm and Cindy, for such a positive Review. You not only packed in a lot of sightseeing in your brief stay, but you managed to leave the studio so tidy that it looked like you weren't even there in the first place. We look forward to seeing you again on your return visit in January.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 30, 2013

My husband and I stayed for 4 nights. It's one of the nicest B&Bs we have ever stayed in. The beautifully appointed bathroom was at street level. You then climb up steep wooden stairs to a large studio, gleaming wooden floors, large comfortable bed behind a screen, well equipped kitchen, all totally private and quiet. Keith and Bet seem to have thought of everything to make visitors feel at home. The neighbourhood consists of old style houses with balconies and fretwork. There are several restaurants in the area within a few minutes walk. If we ever needed B&B accommodation in Sydney again, this would be our first choice.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith D, Owner at Bet's B&B, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thanks for the kind words, Christine. It's good to know you found some good eating places in Annandale. In the past few years there has been a upsurge of new or refurbished restaurants and cafes, so much so that there are now at least 25 to choose from. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

I have just returned from a weekend stay at Bet's B&B, and I loved it! As others have mentioned, it is absolutely spotlessly clean, fresh and welcoming. Everything is beautifully organized and laid out for your convenience, and the décor and ambience is lovely. Top-quality facilities, including thoughtful touches like bathrobes, books and a huge flat-screen tv. I would go back in a flash (and probably will)! It really is a hidden gem.

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith D, Owner at Bet's B&B, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay, Jessica. Now that you have discovered how near we are to your Sydney friends, we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koblenz, Germany
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Sydney was the last part of our journey - and we've been to several B&Bs before during our trip through Australia. THIS place was by far the best !! Like the other reviewers said- it is extremly spacious, wonderfully designed, close to the city, SPOTLESS-SPOTLESS-SPOTLESS clean (believe me, your private home can't beat that place), you have all the privacy you could wish for - and still the most caring, friendly and thoughtful hosts one can imagine. The first morning, stepping out of the house we almost run into Bet's and Keith's car and they invited us for a private sightseing trip ... We were driven around the neighborhood, other parts of Sydney and even downtown for more than an hour - no more need to hop on the sightseeing bus after !!

The B&B provides EVERY single brochure, map, folder, schedule of the busses (and ferries) one can imagine - and not only of Sydney but the areas around as well.
By arrival, Keith and Bet greet you at the door, show you the accomodation (did I mention how SPOTLESS CLEAN and beautiful is is ?? :-), give you a first survey of Sydney, tipps of what to do and where to go, how to get the bustickets and so on. If ever you have a question or need an advise - they are always happy to support you. It truly feels like visiting friends - THANK YOU AGAIN, Bet and Keith, for being so great hosts !

P.S : The webpage states the fully equipped kitchenette - well, true. Or did you ever even find a hand-held vacuum cleaner in a B&B ?! There is even detergent for your laundry. You can't beat Bet's !!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank g w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith D, Owner at Bet's B&B, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
This is the sort of Review that makes running a B&B such a rewarding experience. We're so glad that you enjoyed your stay and we particularly appreciate the four (yes, four) 'SPOTLESS' references. We really do make a special effort to keep the studio as clean as possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 13, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Bet's for 2 nights last month and thought that it was one of the best B&Bs we've stayed in. Spotless, spacious, and with 2 gracious hosts: Bet and Keith. We loved being a short bus or train ride away from downtown in a quiet, residential neighborhood to give us a real feeling for living in Sydney. We loved meeting Bet and Keith, who were full of information and suggestions on places to see. They were only a minute away across the garden if we had any questions. The room was large, airy, and beautifully decorated; we were comfortable and "at home" in minutes. I've already recommended Bet's B&B to a friend who lives in Sydney and is always looking for places for out of town guests to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rcreisner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith D, Owner at Bet's B&B, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for our very kind comments, Rosalind and Gerald. Your Sydney stop-over, though short, was full of activity and we have fond memories of your stay. Thanks for recommending our studio to your Sydney friend. Of course, we would love to have you back again if you do revisit Australia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Annandale
Central Business District
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
QT Sydney
QT Sydney
#13 of 175 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,880 reviews
Hotel Challis
#6 of 62 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bet's B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bet's B&B

Property: Bet's B&B
Address: 176 Johnston Street, Annandale, Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Annandale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Annandale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bet's B&B is a clean, spacious, fully self-contained studio in Annandale, just 3.5 km from Sydney's CBD. It's a large two-storey studio (54 square metres or 580 square feet). Guests have their own private entrance. All the facilities - the lounge and dining areas, writing desk, kitchenette, bathroom, toilet, washing machine and clothes dryer - are for your exclusive use. There is a Queen-size bed and free WiFi. Generous breakfast provisions are provided daily and guests estimate it saves them $30 per person, per day. Bet's B&B is the perfect base to explore Sydney. It's close to the city by public transport - bus and light rail - and just minutes from Annandale's shopping strip, including more than 20 cafés and restaurants and three supermarkets. On Annandale's foreshore are 17 hectares of parkland. It's a 20-minute bus ride to the city's main tourist attractions, including the Opera House and Harbour Bridge, and the light rail takes you to China Town, the Fish Market and Darling Harbour. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing