We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely apartment in a great location”
Review of Bet's B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bet's B&B
Ranked #1 of 2 Annandale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 28, 2013

I was having a working week in Sydney and wanted to stay somewhere out of the city where I could cook for myself and practise my bassoon in the evening without disturbing anyone. Bet's B and B was perfect. The apartment is in the rebuilt stables at the back of the block, providing privacy and space. The amenities were great and Keith and Bet were charming hosts. One unexpected pleasure was the discovery of the 'witches' houses' on the way to catching the tram. There are also lots of green spaces close by where it was possible to walk. It was just what I needed.

One word of warning, the stairs from street level to the living area come from an old terrace house and are quite steep. I can imagine that if you had problems with your knees they could be a challenge.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ariesgirlinoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith D, Owner at Bet's B&B, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

Thanks, Susan. Your stay will be remembered for your your bassoon playing, which even the neighbours didn't seem to mind. It's also great to hear that you discovered the nearby parks. Yes, there are 17 hectares of parks around the foreshore at the bottom of Johnston Street. As for those stairs, they're about 110 years old and typical of terrace houses of that era.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (151)
There are newer reviews for Bet's B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

141 - 147 of 151 reviews

Reviewed March 21, 2013

In 6 weeks of touring Australia, we found ourselves comparing our accommodations to Bet's B&B, and Bet's came out on top every time. The high-ceilinged studio was immaculate and roomy and the furnishings were comfortable and attractive, with wonderful attention to detail. It's more like a furnished apartment than a traditional B&B bedroom. You do your own breakfast cooking, but Bet & Keith ask for your preferences, then fill the frig with eggs, bacon/sausage, jam, milk, juice, yogurt, etc. and provide bread, cereal, coffee, tea and condiments, as well, restocking every day. The air conditioning was top-notch and Wi-Fi service excellent and dependable. It's a short bus ride into Sydney's CBD and easy to connect to light-rail or the train system. The Annandale neighborhood is well-kept and felt safe.

Bet and Keith were wonderful hosts, generous with their time and quick to offer suggestions for touring Sydney. Bet helped us buy the Multi-Pass for travel by bus, train, and light rail and accompanied us on a morning's introduction to the city...thanks, Bet! Keith helped us contact our family back in Massachusetts when a blizzard there shut down the electricity...and then drove us into town to purchase cell phones. Many thanks! It's hard to be far from home when emergencies arise, and we are so grateful to Bet and Keith for their help. We highly recommend Bet's B&B and would be delighted to stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ed and Becky D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith D, Owner at Bet's B&B, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2013

What a wonderful review! Thank you Ed and Becky for such kind words. We remember your visit with great fondness because it came at a time when you were experiencing terrible weather back home in Massachusetts and you had just arrived in sunny Sydney. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay in the studio and to read that you rate our B&B as the best during your six-week Australia holiday is the finest compliment of all.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Right from the personal greeting by Bet and Keith, tour of the apartment and the facilities this place has everything you need plus some. It is also well located close to the Sydney CBD, Darling Harbour, Norton St and with easy access to public transport (Buses and Light rail). I kinda don't really want to tell too many people how good it is because it will be harder for me to book next time!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dexterbradley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith D, Owner at Bet's B&B, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Thanks Derek. It was a pleasure having you stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

I found the accommodation really comfortable, exceptionally clean and well-appointed. Everything I could possibly need was there and of a high standard. It was homely and close to cafes and shops. I liked the private entrance from the quiet lane and as a woman on her own this trip, felt quite safe and thoroughly enjoyed exploring in the vicinity. It was also exactly as portrayed on the website. I would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith D, Owner at Bet's B&B, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Thank you, Kerry. It's nice to know that we met your needs. The private entrance that allows you to come and go as you please is always a winner. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

We have seen many B&B's in the world, but this one beats it all. It was the cleanest place we have been so far. Important for us is, that it was a very honest advertising on their web page. Every detail is as described there. Beside all the details "lucas t" mentioned in his review, the landlords Bet & Keith were so friendly and helpful from the start. Not only they walked us around the nearby streets and showed us the best places for shoping, eating, and transport opportunities, but Keith took his own car out and drove us around the nearby villages such as Annabdale, Leichhardt, Lilyfield, Rozelle, Balmain, Newtown, Glebe, etc.
Thank you Bet & Keith for the experience. No question were stay on our next trip down under.
Lis & Franz B, Germany

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FranzB_Germany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith D, Owner at Bet's B&B, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2013

Thank you Liz and Franz for such a glowing review. We pride ourselves on the cleanliness of the studio and try to make sure that every detail that guests expect, and even a few extras, are there for them to enjoy. An introductory tour of Annandale was our way to welcome you to Sydney.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

If you're visiting Sydney or any of its peripheral neighborhoods, you should do yourselves a huge favor by staying at Bet's B&B. In addition to the beautiful interior design, the prime and central location near Sydney and public transportation stations, Bet's B&B offers many other things that other B&B's cannot offer.

Firstly, Bet's B&B provides its visitors with literally everything that they might need while traveling: a full kitchen fully-stocked with breakfast provisions, a laundry machine and dryer, sofas, spacious cabinets, free WiFi, etc. While staying there, I never had to go shopping for anything, which allowed me to relax and better enjoy my trip.

Next, unlike most B&Bs, Bet's B&B is located in a building unit separate from the owners' house. As privacy was of great importance to me, I was immediately drawn to Bet's B&B because I could come and go into the studio as I wanted, without worrying about any lack of privacy or about disturbing anyone else in the house. Staying in Bet's B&B Studio was almost as if I was staying at my own private house.

Lastly, I have never experienced as warm of hospitality as I did while staying at Bet's B&B. The owners of the B&B, Bet and Keith, were quite possibly the sweetest couple that I have met, and they were incredible hosts. They really did whatever they could to make sure that my stay in Australia was completely perfect. I definitely would not have known where to go or what to see or how to get from place to place if it were not for their advice.

You will not regret staying at Bet's B&B!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lucas t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith D, Owner at Bet's B&B, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Wow! Thank you so much for such a glowing review. We aim to please and obviously, in your case, we've succeeded. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Staying at Bet's B&B beats staying at a hotel. It's in a quiet, very nice residential neighbourhood, but the CBD is easily accessible. A super-short walk to the corner is all it takes to catch the bus. Restaurants are also either a walk or a quick drive away. The B&B itself is so lovely and homey, we actually made time to just stay in, watch television, and enjoy the place.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marilyn V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith D, Owner at Bet's B&B, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Thanks. It's great to know you felt so at home in the studio. You're not the first guest to 'stay-in' and enjoy the rather extensive 'classic' DVD collection.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Annandale
Hotel Challis
#48 of 178 in Sydney
702 reviews
Central Business District
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ovolo Woolloomooloo
#1 of 178 in Sydney
1,316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bet's B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bet's B&B

Address: 176 Johnston Street, Annandale, Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Annandale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Annandale
Price Range: $153 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bet's B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bet's B&B is a clean, spacious, fully self-contained studio in Annandale, just 3.5 km from Sydney's CBD. It's a large two-storey studio (54 square metres or 580 square feet). Guests have their own private entrance. All the facilities - the lounge and dining areas, writing desk, kitchenette, bathroom, toilet, washing machine and clothes dryer - are for your exclusive use. There is a Queen-size bed and free WiFi. Generous breakfast provisions are provided daily and guests estimate it saves them $30 per person, per day. Bet's B&B is the perfect base to explore Sydney. It's close to the city by public transport - bus and light rail - and just minutes from Annandale's shopping strip, including more than 20 cafés and restaurants and three supermarkets. On Annandale's foreshore are 17 hectares of parkland. It's a 20-minute bus ride to the city's main tourist attractions, including the Opera House and Harbour Bridge, and the light rail takes you to China Town, the Fish Market and Darling Harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Bet's B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing