We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Greek food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Zak's Restaurant

Zak's Restaurant
Ranked #26 of 32 Restaurants in West Lakes
Price range: $16 - $35
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: "Absolute Waterfront" dining experience with our kitchen specialising in Classic Greek Cuisine, the freshest South Australian fish and seafood and tasty, tender char grilled steaks.Our all weather balcony is so close to the lakes edge that some are tempted to catch their own dinner.Open 7 nights for dinner with lunch available Friday and Sunday.Extensive local and imported wine list at reasonable prices.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great Greek food”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Really impressed, great food at good prices. Service was excellent, some of us went for the banquet which provided plenty of quality food. Octopus, calamari and lamb dishes were all good. Would certainly return there when back in South Australia.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kev T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yianni1, Owner at Zak's Restaurant, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed your visit. We thank you for your favourable review and hope you do indeed visit again when next in Adelaide.

Happy Travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    26
    11
    11
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
“Not what it use to be!!”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

I have dined at Zak's previously and enjoyed the meal overlooking the lake.
Last visit (Friday 26th July) to celebrate an event, I was grossly disappointed in the quality of food and service.
To start, the heater on the terrace was out of gas - a cold evening.
The entree was forgotten by the kitchen. The main course, a meat platter for 2 @ $80, fell short of any standard expected of the cheapest greasy cafe mixed grill.(1 x sliced chirizo, 2 x 4mm thin greasy pork chops, 2 x chicken??? skewers, cold-overdone chips and a Greek salad minus any greens) Our dismay was politely conveyed to the waitress who said she would speak with "the boss" but then found herself busy with other guests (complaining??).
After paying the account, we again attempted to communicate with "the boss" for the sake of his own benefit in getting reasonable feedback. However, being fobbed off, we perceived that he could not be bothered to spend the time listening.
THERE'S NO RETURN BUSINESS FROM US FOR WHAT WAS ONCE A REGULAR ON OUR LIST

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chris9449
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yianni1, Manager at Zak's Restaurant, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
We regret you had this type of experience, however we have also spoken to another member of your party and have offered a resolution for you both, but to date you have declined.
I believe we have been very reasonable in trying to resolve your issue as we do not like having disgruntled customers, as you can see from previous reviews.

We understand you "can't please them all". Not much more we can do with this customer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Almond and garlic dip:-) :-) :-)”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Whether you decide to lunch or have dinner, the views and the meals are very good. A nice spring day, sitting next to the lake, eating Greek salad and dips with a cold wine, can't get any better than this setting. Have been there many times over the years, and will be back many more.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yianni1, Owner at Zak's Restaurant, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank You very much for your encouraging review. We are glad you enjoy our cuisine and setting and hope to see you back soon.

Best Regards

The Zak's Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Food & Great Views”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

if you want to enjoy a nice feeling meal with the family or take the wife on a nice romantic night, then you must visit this restaurant as the service is excellent. If it's a nice night to sit outside then book the tables outside over looking the west lakes water.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JC2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yianni1, Owner at Zak's Restaurant, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thank you kindly for your favourable comments. We are glad you enjoyed our cuisine and outlook and hope to see you and your family again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Average”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

I went to Zaks on the basis of the fine reviews on this site.

We ordered the seafood platter for 2. The meal was adequate without being anything to write home about. For the price I would of expected to see some crayfish or crab on there somewhere but it was essentially just a few pieces of whiting floating on some calamari....ie....pub food.

The toilets were the worse out of anywhere I have ever eaten. Urinal was blocked and overflowing like a cow trough with paper all over the floor.....as bad as anything I saw in India.

I can't give the place anymore then a 4/10. Not somewhere I would return to unless I absolutely had to.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lad069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yianni1, Owner at Zak's Restaurant, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and firstly I do appologise for the state of our conveniences on this particular day.Our conveniences are cleaned twice daily on busy days as we pride ourselves on their cleanliness. We did have an inconsiderate and inebriated patron cause the blockage in the urinal on this day and this was recified the next morning when plumbers could attend. Once we had been made aware of the issue on the day, this toilet was signed "out of order' and an alternative was available.

With regards to our seafood platter, we pride ourselves on selling only the freshest South Australian seafood and this obviously comes at a price. Our platter for 2 price would be substantially dearer than $85 if SA crab or crayfish was included. Most of our nearby competiors sell a similar platter to ours for more than $100.

We thank you for dining with us and hope that this experience has not detered you from visiting us again.
Many Thanks Jon Carapetis - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zak's Restaurant also viewed

West Lakes, Charles Sturt
West Lakes, Charles Sturt
 
West Lakes, Charles Sturt
West Lakes, Charles Sturt
 

Been to Zak's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing