We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wow.... surprisingly good!!!”
Review of Seven Lanterns

Seven Lanterns
Ranked #3 of 33 Restaurants in Sylvania
Cuisines: Japanese, Korean
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“wow.... surprisingly good!!!”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We really enjoyed our dinner with our selection of the tasting menu..... every dish was fantastic. Staff were friendly and the whole place had a really nice atmosphere. Our host and the owner, David, gave us personal service and made the evening great. This is a local restaurant for us, but I would highly recommend anyone to travel from out of the area for the food..... !!!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jenny255060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    16
    1
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“An Experience Never to be Forgotten”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We dined at Seven Lanterns in April and what an experience it was from the time of making our booking until we left the Restaurant! David is just an awesome host, so accommodating, friendly, easy going and more than happy to mingle with his guests. We were a party of 8 and enjoyed every bit of the 7 course degustation meal we chose. Having four hungry men at the table, when the first course arrived I thought, oh no, they will starve! Fortunately they didn't! Course after course we all devoured every morsel on the plate and not one of us could fault anything! The wait staff were fantastic - not in your face, not hovering around to make you feel uncomfortable, but there to assist whenever we needed their assistance. I thought the degustation was a tad pricey, but in having said that, it was the most spectacular way to taste almost every one of the Restaurant's signature dishes. Fantastic atmosphere too! We will return. Thank you for an awesome evening.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HappyHolidaysFor4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Good Korean style with a modern twist, friendly service”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Friendly owner happy to mingle with the patrons. Good choice of korean inspired food with a modern twist. Serving sizes were a bit small for the amount of money you pay, but I would still recommend this place.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank locosfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food, excellent service”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

I love it when a restaurant delivers the goods without having to beat their chests.
Our party had both the $60 and $70 set menus.
The food was fabulous, and beautifully presented.
The waitstaff couldnt do enough to make you happy, and were there whenever you need them, without having to hover over you..
The only thing that held me back from 5 stars was the size of some of the portions.
Would of loved another couple of slices of pork belly, and could of done with a little less of the last main course, being the beef tepanyaki (but was still happy to devour it).
Book yourself in and be pleasently surprised-you will really enjoy it.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jimbobbler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Amazing food”
Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

Was in the vincinity for another restaurant but decided last minute to try seven lanterns instead. Ordered 2 $70 degustation set, 1 $60 degustation set, teriyaki chicken, salmon roll and cuttlefish. The food was amazing especially the cuttlefish (super tender and tasty, definitely one of the best I have had), the salmon roll (very tasty), the steak (very tender n nicely cook, a lot better than steaks in the famous rockpool bar n grill we visited last Monday), and the beef rib (full of flavours). As for desserts, the sticky date pudding is to die for. Really happy with the meal n the service even though the portion could be a little bigger. Can someone pls give them a hat? This food is as good if not better than some of the 1 hat n 2 hat restaurants I have been to.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ddayhhr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seven Lanterns also viewed

Kirrawee, Sutherland Shire
Cronulla, Sutherland Shire
 
Cronulla, Sutherland Shire
Cronulla, Sutherland Shire
 
Cronulla, Sutherland Shire
Sutherland Shire, Greater Sydney
 

Been to Seven Lanterns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing