We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable and clean!”
Review of Abcot Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Abcot Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Sylvania B&B and Inns
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Affordable and clean!”
Reviewed April 29, 2012 via mobile

I organised two rooms for a birthday party we attended in the area. The rooms were modest but clean. No digital tv, but who's there for that? Breakfast was included, basic, but it beat McDonalds! Service station, fruit shop within walking distance and a well priced game at the golf course just down the road. We would stay again if needed in that area.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rlkelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Abcot_Inn, Manager at Abcot Inn, responded to this review, May 1, 2012
Thank you for the great feedback. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Abcot Inn. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    29
    31
    8
    15
See reviews for
26
26
11
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shellharbour, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2012

Yuck.... right on the highway so its pretty noisy. I even needed a shower after my shower. It took 15min to get the hot water to work. I'm not even sure they use cleaners. Milk stains in the bottom of the glasses. dirt on the floor and on the doonas, stains on the doonas too. Bin was full of rubbish. Naaaaasty! Formula 1 would have been better and $11 cheaper. Ha

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ChelseaBennett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Abcot_Inn, Manager at Abcot Inn, responded to this review, April 4, 2012
I was very disappointed to read about your experience at the Abcot Inn. I have spoken to our housekeepers about the issues you highlighted and I would like to assure you that this is definitely not the normal standard of service we provide. I really wish, though that you had let us know about those issues while you were still here so that we could rectify them for you and make sure you leave as a happy customer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sylvania hotels

Wollongong, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2012

We needed accommodation near the hospital. It was perfect. We had a refurbished room, queen bed plus a single. Room 33. Cost $125.00 for one night, purchased there. Despite the motel being located on the Princes H'way, it was surprisingly quiet. Beds were comfortable. Room was clean. Felt safe. What else do you need? Nice pool and bbq area.

Next door was a petrol station with a Mini Mart (Woolworths). They had an ANZ ATM also. Across the road from that was a substantial fruit shop.

3km north of the motel were restaurants, fast food, Coles. Miranda Fair was less than 5km away. Very close. Don't forget you are in Sydney and the traffic extends travel time significantly unless you head out at 2am!

Reception provided an excellent local map. Also a newspaper.

There was a restaurant which we did not make use of. Breakfast started at 7am.

If you are travelling from the south, Abcot Inn will be on your right. You cannot turn in directly but not a problem, continue along the highway for another 100 metres or so and turn right and make your way back.

I would been happy to stay here for the week which fortunately I didn't need to do!

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiwi1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Abcot_Inn, Manager at Abcot Inn, responded to this review, April 2, 2012
Thank you for the kind review. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We would love to welcome you back at the Abcot Inn during your next visit to Sydney.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2012

We had a family room which was newly renovated
It was a very large room with a large bathroom with a spa bath
Although not 5 star it was excellent for the price. Clean, tidy and well appointed
Great pool and no traffic noise
Would definitely stay there again

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2011

Great value. Modern clean rooms. Quiet even though we were near hwy end. Lovely helpful staff. Would stay again if in area.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Photomiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maitland, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Basic room for the money. It was clean and tidy. The bath room was HUGE with a shower/bath combo with the old stick to you shower curtain which was a shame as it appeared to have been recently renovated with plenty or room for both.

Watch where you park in the car park ..... stay away from the large tree towards the back unless you like bird cr#p all over your car!!!!

For the $$ it was quite reasonable. Ask for a room away from the HWY as I would imagine it could get very noisy.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smiggle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2009

A good clean room but furnishings/gardens are in need of an update. No advice that the restaurant wasn't open despite the motel being fully booked. Needs curtains that can block exterior light if you want to sleep in. Grounds could do with a good clean up. House keeping staff were not impressive at all. Not too many motels in this vicinity though.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sherpas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sylvania
1.1 mi away
Metro Hotel Miranda
Metro Hotel Miranda
#1 of 1 in Miranda
301 reviews
4.2 mi away
Eventhouse Cronulla
Eventhouse Cronulla
#1 of 2 in Cronulla
51 reviews
5.8 mi away
Novotel Sydney Brighton Beach
Novotel Sydney Brighton Beach
#1 of 1 in Brighton le Sands
1,842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Quality Hotel CKS Sydney Airport
8.8 mi away
Sutherland Motel
Sutherland Motel
#4 of 6 in Sutherland Shire
56 reviews
2.4 mi away
Caringbah Hotel
Caringbah Hotel
#1 of 1 in Caringbah
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abcot Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abcot Inn

Property: Abcot Inn
Address: 410 Princes Hwy | Sylvania Heights, Sylvania, New South Wales 2224, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Sutherland Shire > Sylvania
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Sylvania
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Abcot Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Abcot Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing