We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ancient Japanese Houses in a village”

Shirakawago Gassho Zukuri Minkaen
Book In Advance
More Info
$280.44*
and up
2-Day Tateyama Kurobe Alpine Route, Shirakawago and Hida-Takayama Bus Tour from...
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Malaysia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Ancient Japanese Houses in a village”
Reviewed June 23, 2014

The Gassho houses, landscape with hills and trees around the village make an awesome scenery. Good for photos and walks.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Fred O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    110
    25
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
144 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Return Visit Did Not Disappoint”
Reviewed June 16, 2014

We first visited Ogimachi in November 2010 and stayed in the minshuku 'Hisamatsu'. The greatest advantage of staying at least one night is that you can see life in the village minus the tourists, and get to the Open Air Museum before the crowds. It was magical and a completely unforgettable experience. While staying in Takayama for a week this May/June we took the opportunity of doing a day trip by Nohi Bus, even though we knew we could not replicate our first impressions. It was a hot day, and there were no lovely autumn colours or snow, but otherwise, the village had NOT CHANGED one iota in 4 and a half years. It is a living museum! Go to the small but interesting Doburoku Matsuri exhibition hall, beside the Hachiman Shrine, and if you can find it, have a tea or coffee at the sweet little gift shop called Shin Ge Do, on the main street just down from the shrine. There is a cheap and cheerful noodle place beside the shuttle bus stop for the Observation point up the hill. These buses run every 20 minutes, although we can recommend the walk there. We have only stayed in two minshuku in Japan, here and in Tsumago on the Nakasendo in the Kiso Valley. They both rate as top highlights of our visits to Japan.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Judy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, UK
Level Contributor
244 reviews
113 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Make time to visit if in Shirakawa-go”
Reviewed June 14, 2014

Walked around the village for a couple of hours then discovered this museum about 40 mins before our bus left, shame we didnt go here first. All the houses are restored perfectlyin a lovely setting. hardly anyone around compared to the main village which was very busy, and free to wander in and out of the buildings (in the village you have to pay for each one). definitely visit if you are in Shirakawa-go

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jo_Aberdeen_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
875 reviews
668 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 835 helpful votes
“Better example of Gassho style houses”
Reviewed June 5, 2014

This a smaller but more perfect example of the Gassho style houses that still exist in this lovely Japanese Alp area. You cannot drive through - you have to pay to park and then walk through - but it is worth it to experience this very unique way of life.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank elsiek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
762 reviews
283 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 289 helpful votes
“An amazing experience to see this village with Gassho thatched houses”
Reviewed April 30, 2014

We really loved this historic village surrounded by forested mountains, with beautiful Gassho style houses. It really was a revelation and although we spent nearly two hours there the time went so quickly. I can't really add too much more as previous reviews seem to have it covered and I agree it would be magical in winter but every season would be magnificent in this beautiful part of Japan.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Pechfoodlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shirakawago Gassho Zukuri Minkaen also viewed

 

Been to Shirakawago Gassho Zukuri Minkaen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing