We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff and very informative”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hostel Sonati Esteli
Ranked #2 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Esteli
West Palm Beach, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great staff and very informative”
Reviewed April 28, 2014

I stayed at the hostel Sonati for 2 months in a private room. The manager George and I have become very good friends as well as Ana and Josoline. There were 3 professional chefs during my stay there so we cooked up some amazing gourmet dishes. There are all kinds of tours to enjoy. There is always something to do at Sonati, the other guests I met there were all friendly and a combination of young and middle aged. When I go back in October I will stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonati, Manager at Hostel Sonati Esteli, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Hi Robin,

Thanks very much for your kind words. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at Sonati and hope that you come back and visit soon.

Gracias!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    17
    17
    6
    2
See reviews for
2
21
31
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Apart from the great atmosphere created by the sorts of people who go hear and sonati's culture (with earth saving slogans etched on the wall), I was immensely helped by the manager and the staff. They really went out of their way to help me when I had a issue (unrelated to the hostal) that needed resolving, and without that help, I'd be in a much worse situation now.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrazianoAlessandro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonati, Manager at Hostel Sonati Esteli, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Thank you very much for your lovely review. We think of Sonati as a family with shared-values and we are glad that you were able to be a part of that. Best wishes for the rest of your trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Uva, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
119 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014

This is the hostel I would chose in Esteli for those deciding.

Pros: great common areas, large kitchen, nice crowd. Location is three blocks from the hub near the park, so it’s quieter than some other locations. Nice staff, cheap water refills, huge bathrooms.

Cons: really squeaky bedframes and doors (oil, please!) can inhibit sleep and the bathrooms weren’t clean (overflowing tp bins, ick).

A good experience, just one or two little nuisances which were minor amidst the overall experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SocklessJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonati, Manager at Hostel Sonati Esteli, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Thank you very much for your kind review! We are glad that you enjoyed the large, open hostel and peaceful atmosphere. We're very sorry that a couple of areas were not up to standard. We've oiled all the doors and they are now much quieter, and have ensured that all bins are emptied regularly.

Thank you for your constructive comments - it was a pleasure to have you stay and we wish you all the best on the rest of your journey!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
139 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Average hostel. We were in a 4-bed dorm (2 bunks) and shared bathroom (in between ours and a private room). 'hot' water is more off-cold, depends on your time off showering.
nice garden to hang out and big kitchen to use. wifi everywhere
laundry service is possible, for a good price
there're no lockers in the room

they offer tours to Miraflor and is definitely worth it!
ask them how to go to the rodeo. i liked it

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flipflopfiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonati, Manager at Hostel Sonati Esteli, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Thank you very much for your review! We've been tinkering with our hot water heaters and they are more consistent now (though sometimes can take a minute or so to warm up)! All the best for the rest of your vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2014 via mobile

Our room had little natural light. The bathroom really stank and because we had no window to open the smell of drains permeated the room and was really unpleasant. There were no shelves or places to put our packs. The room and bathroom were dirty and the concrete floors were dirty and sticky.

The place has the atmosphere of a school or hospital the concrete corridor outside our room echoed with footsteps day and night. The walls were paper thin and we could hear everyone else's alarms as well as people chatting in all of the public rooms, from our bed.

There were cockroaches on the kitchen work tops and the cats got all the food and packages out of the bins and spread it all over the kitchen floor as soon as you put it in the bin.

The staff seemed to sleep on the sofas in the reception.

We didn't like the atmosphere of this place. We wouldn't recommend it.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank PjBark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonati, Manager at Hostel Sonati Esteli, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Hi, thank you for your review.

We're very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at Sonati. As a backpacker hostel, there are a lot of common areas and people chatting, though we have taken more steps to ensure that noise is kept to a minimum at night and in the mornings.

We clean the floors daily and have added more storage space in the private rooms. As an eco-hostel, we do have compost, garden beds, cats etc. and sometimes this can result in bugs coming in to the hostel. We have since engaged a pest control company that specialises in environmentally friendly methods (as opposed to blanket fumigation) and this has proved to be a great success with bugs in the kitchen. We also provide boxes for food and ask that guests do not leave food in the open, as this can attract animals.

We have staff at reception 24 hours a day to assist guests with early check out, late night taxis and any other issues. Sometimes those working the night shift will nap on the sofa if it is quiet.

Again, we're sorry you didn't enjoy your stay. We have taken steps to remedy some of the issues you discussed and invite you to return next time you are in Esteli to see the improvements. Enjoy the rest of your journey.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Las cucarachas appear to be under control! I am staying here now (mid-January 2014) and am very happy with this place. I think it's great value for the money, especially because I am here for an extended time and so the kitchen is a great feature. The cleanliness of the shared kitchen depends on whether guests clean up after themselves or not. The lovely young ladies who work here seem to always be cleaning, but when people leave food around, they can't always keep up. At the moment, there doesn't seem to be an insect problem, but I can see how it could easily happen. The staff are friendly, there's a nice courtyard area with plants, hammocks and tables and the wifi usually works.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms with private bathroom actually share the bathroom with a dorm, so be sure to ask i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarriefromSudbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonati, Manager at Hostel Sonati Esteli, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Thanks so much for your kind review, we're really glad that you enjoyed your stay! Hope to see you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cagliari
Level Contributor
365 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2013

This place has an infestation of cockroaches,not just one or two, but hundreds of them, all over - bathroom, kitchen, rooms. In fact, there are so many that altough we had planned to stay for a while, we left after two nights: seeing a cockroach walking on my backpack was too much. Other guests and volunteers at the hostels did not seem to mind too much, in fact they cooked at dinner time and left dirty plates and pots in the kitchen for the cockroaches to feast on it I suppose. Cooking was a challenge, although the website says the kitchen is available. In fact, cockroaches come out of every corner, and pots are left dirty. I had to wash my pot before cooking, and it is nice having to clean after other people's mess. The overall vibe was weird. Rooms are spacious and bathroom bigs, but the hygienic conditions are enough to make me run away.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taffani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonati, Manager at Hostel Sonati Esteli, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Hi,

Thank you for your review. We're very sorry that you did not have a good experience at Sonati. We did have a problem with cockroaches over the holiday and did our best to rectify it as quickly as possible.

We have since engaged a pest control company that uses eco-friendly methods and are happy to report that we are cockroach free (as mentioned in the reviews above).

We are very sorry that this happened while you were staying in the hostel. We hope you enjoy the rest of your trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Esteli hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Hex Esteli
Hotel Hex Esteli
#2 of 6 in Esteli
88 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Los Arcos
Hotel Los Arcos
#1 of 6 in Esteli
155 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Don Vito
Hotel Don Vito
#4 of 6 in Esteli
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Namaste Yoga Hostal
Namaste Yoga Hostal
#1 of 20 in Esteli
17 reviews
0.4 mi away
Friends and Family Hostel
0.8 mi away
Casa Hotel Santa Elena
Casa Hotel Santa Elena
#3 of 17 in Esteli
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Sonati Esteli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Sonati Esteli

Property: Hostel Sonati Esteli
Address: Costado norte Catedral, 3 cuadras al este, Esteli, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Esteli Department > Esteli
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Esteli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our beautiful non-profit environmental hostel! We offer a central hostel with excellent facilities, spacious common areas - a great place to meet like-minded travelers. SONATI is a non-profit environmental education organization; ALL hostel profits finance our FREE environmental programs for thousands of local school children! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Hostel Sonati Esteli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing