We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hostel Sonati Esteli
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (84)
Filter reviews
84 results
Traveler rating
41
17
17
7
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
41
17
17
7
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdorm roomfree coffeeamazing kitchencommunal spacegood vibescommon areastables and chairsfew blocksa great place to staycigar factorycentral parkenvironmentalhammockshosteltourswifiguitar
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
48 - 53 of 84 reviews
Reviewed December 18, 2013

This place has an infestation of cockroaches,not just one or two, but hundreds of them, all over - bathroom, kitchen, rooms. In fact, there are so many that altough we had planned to stay for a while, we left after two nights: seeing a cockroach walking on my backpack was too much. Other guests and volunteers at the hostels did not seem to mind too much, in fact they cooked at dinner time and left dirty plates and pots in the kitchen for the cockroaches to feast on it I suppose. Cooking was a challenge, although the website says the kitchen is available. In fact, cockroaches come out of every corner, and pots are left dirty. I had to wash my pot before cooking, and it is nice having to clean after other people's mess. The overall vibe was weird. Rooms are spacious and bathroom bigs, but the hygienic conditions are enough to make me run away.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank taffani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonati, Manager at Hostel Sonati Esteli, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Hi,

Thank you for your review. We're very sorry that you did not have a good experience at Sonati. We did have a problem with cockroaches over the holiday and did our best to rectify it as quickly as possible.

We have since engaged a pest control company that uses eco-friendly methods and are happy to report that we are cockroach free (as mentioned in the reviews above).

We are very sorry that this happened while you were staying in the hostel. We hope you enjoy the rest of your trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2013 via mobile

We only stayed here one night as we went on the somoto canyon tour the next day. As soon as we turned up we were greeted with smiles by the very polite staff. Our room wasn't cleaned from the previous occupants so we went and got groceries and within 15mins it was spotless. Kitchen is very spacious and has all cutlery and cooking equipment to make life easy for those making your own meals to save a buck.
There were no rats like a previous post talked about.. Can't imagine there ever would be with two gorgeous cats parading around the property. :) the property was very clean. the staff were beyond friendly and accommodating for our needs organising our tour guide for the next day and storing our bags while we were away after we checked out. Super place to stay and well worth the drive north!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonati, Manager at Hostel Sonati Esteli, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Thank you very much for your lovely review, we glad you enjoyed your time here and hope you come back to visit us in Esteli soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

Dorm beds were good, with private bath. Good kitchen, hammocks, lounges, computers and plenty of tables and chairs. Staff were helpful and kind. They offer a cigar tour for $10 but if you get to the factory yourself ($2) its free. Close enough to everything and good wifi.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank toohotty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

For the most part, this is a good hostel with a great cause (environmental education for the community).

HOWEVER - it is not a clean hostel. There are cockroaches all over the place, especially the kitchen, and there are a good number of rats, too.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonati, Manager at Hostel Sonati Esteli, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Hi Rachel,

Thanks for your review. Just to clear up, when we introduced the compost and recycling systems there was an increase in the number of bugs around the hostel. We have since engaged a pest control company to manage this (they use environmentally friendly methods) and the issue is all cleared up.

We're very sorry it wasn't up to standard when you stayed and hope you can visit again some day to see all the improvements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

Had a great stay here at Sonati. The staff were friendly from the moment I arrived and always had time to talk with guests and help with information. The common room and garden and spacious with a guest computer and a large kitchen for guests to use. There are 2 cute cats running around the place. The only negative I can think of is the beds were very squeaky - whenever someone rolled over there was a squeak, and the door to our room squeaked when someone closed it. Nothing a bit of oil won't fix!
All in all a great hostal, good location and great staff.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Ianmcgillivray88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews