We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Calm, homely and welcoming”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bed and Breakfast Villa Riviera
Ranked #1 of 20 Esteli B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Situated a little bit out of town (you will need a car or a taxi to access) in a nice area. Esther welcome you with warthm, cooks a really delicious breakfast and will give you all the infos you need for going around town.

Try the cigar tour, even if you don't smoke, that was really a high point for us in Nicaragua. Very authentic, not rushed around, and private tour for only 5$ per person, awesome !

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Francois M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (193)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 193 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

This is a fantastic place to stay. A little out of town but very easy & cheap with taxis or Esther's offer of lifts
Room was clean, comfortable bed, hot shower, storage
Kitchen & facilities in kitchen excellent. We felt the need to take advantage & cook both nights we stayed.
Nothing is too much trouble.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank missykap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Bob and I spent three very relaxing and congenial days with Esther at her lovely Villa Riviera. She is a terrific host who made us feel very much at home. We slept well in the comfortable bed and spent the hot days relaxing in the shade of the terrace. It was great to be able to use the well equipped kitchen after being on the road for months. Great, healthy breakfast too with lots of fresh fruit and homemade yoghurt.
The best part though was Esther herself. She is so friendly and welcoming, it was like visiting an old friend.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KathleenG876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

My fiance and I stayed at Ester's at the end of March before driving to Guatemala. She greeted us in the driveway and we proceded to have a lovely conversation on her newly renovated side porch. The rooms were comfortable and cool with the best mattress we had slept on in weeks. Ester also helped recommend restaurants and seemed to know a lot about the local culture. Her breakfast was also FANTASTIC (yogurt, te, coffee, granola, toast, home made pineapple jam... YUM YUM YUM!) I could not recommend staying with her more! (Sorry, for my review below there is no swimming pool)

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kimmie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

It´s been said before, but I´ll repeat that arriving at Esther´s B and B feels just like arriving home. Our first arrival was after a 13 hour bus ride, and we were so delighted to be welcomed like long lost friends. We stayed two more times during our trip to Nicaragua, and now feel that Esther is a friend. The beds are comfortable, the breakfasts excellent, the outside space so nice for relaxing. Esther twice gave us a lift to the bus station and recommended places to eat. All in all I can´t imagine a better place to stay in Esteli.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debhorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

The location is great. Ester's home is in a very quite residential area that is not too far from the city center. Ester's service was great. We have stayed in several homes and a hotel in Esteli. The stay at Ester's was the best one. The value far exceeds the price.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

My son summed it all up when after 3 months of travelling he walked in and pointed to the home sign on the wall. It really is home from home. Esther is so friendly and welcoming. She made our stay so comfortable. My children were made to feel welcome too. Comfortable, great breakfast on the patio, would thoroughly recommend. Thanks Esther.

Room Tip: No fitness room obviously but couldn't remove green blobs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bluedaisyglass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Esteli
1.8 mi away
Hotel Don Vito
Hotel Don Vito
#4 of 6 in Esteli
53 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Hex Esteli
Hotel Hex Esteli
#2 of 6 in Esteli
99 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Los Arcos
Hotel Los Arcos
#1 of 6 in Esteli
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.7 mi away
Hotel Cafe Jinotega
Hotel Cafe Jinotega
#1 of 2 in Jinotega
87 reviews
11.2 mi away
Finca Lindos Ojos
Finca Lindos Ojos
#4 of 20 in Esteli
70 reviews
1.9 mi away
Casa Hotel Santa Elena
Casa Hotel Santa Elena
#3 of 20 in Esteli
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bed and Breakfast Villa Riviera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed and Breakfast Villa Riviera

Address: Pan American Hwy | Residencial Villa de la Riviera, de la rotonda 2 cuadras al Norte y 20 vrs al Este, Esteli, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Esteli Department > Esteli
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Esteli
Price Range: $39 - $40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
I'm a Dutch expat who always wanted to start a B&B in another country. In 2009 I sold my house in the Netherlands, quit my job as a bank manager and bought a ticket to Ecuador. I lived there for a while,but it wasn't the place for me. I then decided to go for my second choice; Nicaragua. I arrived here in Esteli in 2011 and fell in love with the place and the people and bought a house. I'm an outgoing person who speaks English, Dutch, German and Spanish fluently. I used to speak French as well, but somehow when I learned Spanish, the French got a bit lost along the way :) It has always been my pleasure to welcome people to my house and pamper them with great atmosphere, food and drinks. Here I would like to do the same. I would like to make you feel very welcome in my B&B. Hope to see you very soon :)E ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Bed and Breakfast Villa Riviera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing