We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean, good value and friendly”
Review of Hostal El Meson

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Esteli
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hostal El Meson
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Esteli
Reviewed January 27, 2012

We went here as the trendy hostel down the road was full, it has a nice little paved garden in the middle and the rooms are clean and simple at a reasonable price. It has a nice vibe and WI-FI in the reception area.

Room Tip: away from the road is less noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wafflester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (27)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 27 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2011

I stayed here with friends (3 people per room) and we paid about $10 per person, per night in a room with 3 single beds and a fan (didn't need AC in March). The rooms were very clean and comfortable. Towels were free of charge (hotel versus a hostel). The owners were nice and there was 24 hour security. We came back late one night and knocked and the security guy let us in. There's a nice little courtyard in the middle of all the rooms which is a good place to sip coffee, journal, or chat with friends.

Downside: The showers did heat up much (which would have been nice in March when it's a little cooler) and ours overflowed. Some rooms only have a shower curtain as the door to the bathroom which is not weighted at the bottom so it swings open easily...not much privacy there. Also, the internet was pretty spotty in the rooms.

I called for updated prices since their official website has old prices (http://www.hotelelmesonesteli.com/elmeson.html) and was told:
$28.00 for a triple
$33.00 for a double
(I think $16.00 for a single and $23.00 for a double)

Pretty decent prices for what you get and how clean it is.

Phone: (505) 2713 2655 / 2713 3099

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seetheworld032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2011

It was ok. The inner courtyard was nice. The room was very basic, the window to the street had a curtain that bearly covered it. I don't remember if it had hot water, but honestly it was so hot I wouldn't have used any. We went with just a fan, but it was hot. The sheets didn't really fit the bed so they didn't stay on. Some of the recepetions people were nice, others ignored you until you spoke a few times. Needs a little updating, if nothing else sheets that fit.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank konacar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2011

We stayed in a room with four beds - cable TV and a hot shower. Good value. Nice patio area for lounging. Good location (right around the corner from Cafe Luz) and a couple blocks from the central park. Nicaraguan family-owned.
Tourist info. right next door.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pennykg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ølga Leto B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank didy_gwatinik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2015
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Olgaentropia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Esteli
0.0 mi away
Hotel Alameda
Hotel Alameda
#5 of 6 in Esteli
10 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Don Vito
Hotel Don Vito
#4 of 6 in Esteli
50 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Los Arcos
Hotel Los Arcos
#1 of 6 in Esteli
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Hex Esteli
Hotel Hex Esteli
#2 of 6 in Esteli
93 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Buena Onda
La Buena Onda
#1 of 6 in Matagalpa
228 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Cuallitlan
Hotel Cuallitlan
#3 of 6 in Esteli
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal El Meson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal El Meson

Address: 1st Avenue NE And 3rd St. Ne. From Cathedral 1 Block North, Esteli 00000, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Esteli Department > Esteli
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Esteli
Number of rooms: 11

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing