We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean and friendly and noisy”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Esteli
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Luna International Hostel
Ranked #13 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Esteli
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“clean and friendly and noisy”
Reviewed October 28, 2010

very clean hostel, great price, nice people but very noisy due to it';s location across for La Luz cafe - which is a fabulous eating place but caters to a late night crowd with live music - no problem for young travelers but not great for small children needing sleep!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kris10dee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    43
    27
    10
    5
See reviews for
7
23
29
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
US
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2010

While the hostel was full and we weren't able to stay there, we were absolutely surprised by the kindness of the owner. She spent at least an hour with us, answering our questions, and showing us other possibilities for private lodging in town.

She is a busy woman, and we are not recommend you bother her with such things, but we were so impressed, we had to recommend Hotel Luna and Cafe Luz.

Also note: she has a house in which she rents out rooms to mature renters; very affordable. Inquire about it when on site.

Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TravelingLights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, OH
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2009

We had one of the private rooms at Hostal Luna. It was clean, the bed was nice an we had a private bathroom (The only hiccup was that the toilet never worked so we had to use the common toilet).

Juanita, the Brit expat who owns the place, is a walking, talking encyclopedia of the region who gives free information sessions and tells you everything you need to know to explore Esteli and Miraflor. The cigar tour her folks offer at the Cafe was really cool and inexpensive. Her adorable little girl, Zaira, was a bonus.

Juanita and the rest of the staff were very friendly. I don't know that anyone else spoke English other than her (we didn't try). It was low key but nice and we'd definitely stay there again.

Cafe Luz has GREAT food, definitely a surprise for such a small town. I especially enjoyed this great poached egg on field greens dish for breakfast. Great coffee, too. She had both Nica and more "Western" menu choices.

We didn't go to Esteli the first time we came to Nicaragua but we'll definitely go back there. It's still very authentically Nica and everyone was extremely friendly.

As a bonus we went to a local disco called Rincon Legal which was one of the most authentic things we've experienced in the country. A total not-to-miss.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cincinnatalie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esteli
1 review
Reviewed September 22, 2008

Thank you Cafe Luz Y Luna for such a wonderful introduction to the north of Nicaragua!

If you find yourself coming to Esteli check out the great new international hostel where you can get tons of advice and ideas on Miraflor mountain reserve and surrounding areas. Juanita runs the not for profit hostel and connecting cafe: CAFE LUZ Y LUNA.

+ Free organic coffee & cable TV
+ Dorms and private rooms ~ hot showers
+ Movie nights in the MOON ROOM
+ INFORMATION CENTRE - local networks & volunteer opportunities
+ Bicycle hire and local tours
+ I think THE best real info on Miraflor and around

Directions in Esteli:
From Hotel Meson, 1 block east towards the
Pan Am (‘Pizza Hot’ in 2005/6 guide books)
T: (505) 441 8466 www.cafeluzyluna.com

Plus caféLuz: Breakfasts, all day menu, café bar. 7am–10pm.

Importantly for me, Café Luz y Luna is an organisation donating its profits to local projects in Miraflor.

Thanks to Juanita's up to date information I've had such an exciting time in this cowboy town, including hiking in the cloud forests of Miraflor, real eco-tourist homestays in the mountains, horse riding through the coffee mountains, swimming in the pools and waterfalls, tubing down somoto canyon, dancing to Batchata Salsa Cumbia Meringue Ranchero rythyms, live music events, visiting cuban cigar factories, discovering the revolutionary history of the north.

I have had the time of my life in Esteli, particularly as its a great base for visiting the Miraflor Reserve. I stayed with an incredible family up in one of the small rustic farming communities. The eco-tourism in this area is fantastic, and families are welcoming and accomodating. You get a real sense of what Nica life is like and can get hands on with helping make the tortillas or even milk the cows! Families can help you organise a local guide to go hiking and swimming at the local waterfalls, or even horse trekking up to the cloud forests. INCREDIBLE! This place is what MonteVerde (Costa Rica) used to be like 40 years ago.

I would advise anyone travelling Nicaragua to make a stop up North!

  • Liked — Light and airy, always very clean .... top advice and local info
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Bethanita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Esteli hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Los Arcos
Hotel Los Arcos
#1 of 6 in Esteli
155 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Don Vito
Hotel Don Vito
#4 of 6 in Esteli
50 reviews
0.4 mi away
Friends and Family Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hostel Sonati Esteli
Hostel Sonati Esteli
#2 of 20 in Esteli
82 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotstal Azul d'La Selva
Hotstal Azul d'La Selva
#12 of 20 in Esteli
5 reviews
0.8 mi away
Namaste Yoga Hostal
Namaste Yoga Hostal
#1 of 20 in Esteli
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luna International Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luna International Hostel

Property: Luna International Hostel
Address: Del Hotel Meson, 1 Cuadra al Este, Esteli, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Esteli Department > Esteli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Esteli
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A central, hassle-free stay in the heart of Esteli with access to everything the region has to offer - and just a step away from our community-tourism office and the popular Cafe Luz restaurant and bar. We donate all our profits and resources to facilitate community-driven projects in rural and urban areas in northern Nicaragua: non-profit social enterprise creating social change. Reception Open 7am to 10pm | Access 24 hours |Wi-Fi | Laundry Service | Cable TV | Night guard on duty 10pm to 8am | English and Spanish spoken | Free organic coffee and tea | Purified water available | Fluffy towels available | Safe for valuables | Seating and hammock area | Attractive patio garden ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing