We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, busy scene”
Review of Cafe Luz Y Luna

Cafe Luz Y Luna
Ranked #2 of 44 Restaurants in Esteli
Price range: $2 - $9
Cuisines: Latin, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: A cultural melting pot for travellers and Nicas alike in central Esteli! Organic coffee, free wifi, chill tunes, cervezas and ron, and a varied menu which uses locally grown organic produce from our Kitchen Garden Project in Miraflor and El Limon. Profits are reinvested into the projects over at Luz Verde.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good food, busy scene”
Reviewed January 8, 2012

It was packed for dinner. I had the lasagna which was a nice change from Nica food (gallo pinto). Good service.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Shirley K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    49
    29
    9
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Hit & miss”
Reviewed November 29, 2011

Overall the breakfast needs improvement as we were not happy with fruit salad (very limited range) and the pancakes. We had dinner a couple of times, chicken salad, lentils and chicken burger all great. Nachos need a complete re-think as they were not good at all. Cold beer and quick service rounded out the package

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank junkscience89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice backpacker atmosphere”
Reviewed September 25, 2011

Not that much of a restaurant, rather a nice cafe and a good place to drink a couple of beers.
They serve some international cuisine though, and some tamanicales which are quite true to the taste of Nicaragua - but you've got to be in the mood for it.

The people here are very helpful and will do their best to help you with your trip and visits in the surroundings.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sinaloa237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
270 reviews
171 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 242 helpful votes
“Excellent source of information about Esteli and Miraflor”
Reviewed May 28, 2011

We did not stay at Hostel Luna but went there for information about a trip to the Miraflor Natrual reserve.
Jane (the British expat owner) has a wealth of information about Esteli and especially the Miraflor communities. She has a comprehensive booklet with information about Miraflor, the families, the climate etc.

We booked 3 nights home-stay at two different families in El Sontole to El Cebollal, plus a horseback transfer in-between. Everything was organized perfectly, the families in El Sontole to El Cebollal were expecting us and our horseback guide even visited us the night before the trip to arrange the pickup time in the morning.

If you plan to take a trip to Miraflor we definitely recommend using Luna to book your trip. UCA is the other booking option but we heard that they have very limited information available.

By the way the Nacatamales at Café Luna are pretty good too. We don't know about the Hostel Luna, as we stayed in another Hostal in Esteli

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank poboxearth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
“Good food great service!”
Reviewed September 21, 2010

The food is good and the menu offers a good variety of vegetarian food. Compared to most restaurants in Estelí, Luz Y Luna has a healthy menu with lots of non-fried, non starchy options. The staff is amazing. I stayed at the hostel across the street and they would bring food over to us.

Due to it's proximity to Hostel La Luz, it attracts a lot of tourists, but this doesn't seem to scare off the locals.

Helpful?
Thank KnockoutPress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Luz Y Luna also viewed

Esteli, Esteli Department
 
Esteli, Esteli Department
 
Esteli, Esteli Department
Esteli, Esteli Department
 

Been to Cafe Luz Y Luna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing