We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquility at its best”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Neemrana's Bungalow on the Beach
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tharangambadi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Did not stay there but had a meal and spent a couple of hours. Saw all the rooms and took a tour of the place. An old refurbished bungalow opposite the old Danish fort (reminds one of the old tea estate bungalows) with a swimming pool and 8 rooms. Right on the beach which is clean and not visited by many people. No television sets on the property which adds to it charm. will surely stay there on our next visit.

Room Tip: First Floor sea facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rohit M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's Bungalow on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words about The Bungalow on the Beach heritage hotel in Tranquebar.

Ideally, The Bungalow on the Beach is best enjoyed in an overnight stay, since the refreshing sea-breeze, the sunset, and the moon-star nights on your verandah, can't be enjoyed in a quick day tour.

We thank you for your visit and look forward to welcoming you back for an overnight stay.

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (252)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

152 - 158 of 252 reviews

Reviewed September 22, 2013

This is one of the best places one can be, near Karaikal. This place is mysteriously awesome. It is very close to the Dutch Fort Tranquebar. There is a walk in jetty into the sea. The place offers an ambiance for self realization. If someone is working on a story or script, this is the place. This place is peaceful. The sound is only the music of the waves.
I would always love to go back there again :)

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sophizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's Bungalow on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable review about The Bungalow on the Beach heritage hotel in Tranquebar.

We are delighted to learn that you thoroughly enjoyed the ambience of the property and were able to enjoy the music of the waves.

The 29 Neemrana 'non- hotel' Hotels across India are instrumental in and custodians of much of India's restored and revitalised architectural heritage. Seven hundred years of history, await humbly for you to extract all the joys of travelling and living out the essence of India in all its nobility and simplicity.

We thank you for your patronage to The Bungalow on the Beach and the Neemrana brand in India.

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We had been to The Bungalow on the Beach a couple of years back with friends and loved the property. So, when a trip with parents and the extended family was organised to the temple town of Thirukkadiyur, we decided to stay at the resort for the night. This time however, we decided to stay at the Gate House an adjacent property belonging to the same group. We loved the small intimate setup of the Gate House and it was perfect for the group of 7 of us as we had booked 3 of the rooms. However, we were quite disappointed as the AC did not work in a couple of the rooms and we had shift rooms a couple of times. Be warned that in May, the place can be very hot and humid and it may be impossible to survive without the AC. We also had to go to the main property (The Bungalow) for all our meals and as before, there was a very limited choice of items available. I must say however, that my parents and uncle and aunt absolutely loved the old world charm and were very happy with the stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AswinPalanivel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's Bungalow on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable review about The Bungalow on the Beach and the Gate House heritage hotels in Tranquebar.

We are pleased to learn that your family thoroughly enjoyed the ambience and old-world charm of the Gate House.

Please be assured that the maintenance team has been given the necessary support to ensure that the problem with the air conditioning does not recur in the future. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused.

We thank you for your continued patronage and look forward to welcoming you at our 28 properties across India !

Warm regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Over the years the name of this place may be changed from Tranquebar to Tharangambadi but Tranquillity remains at its best! Expect nothing other than Relaxation and peace of mind. Stayed for 2 days and it was an amazing experience. Heritage building,Friendly staffs and fine food specially sea food! Must visit for people wants to escape the city life for a fantastic peaceful weekend! All tourist attractions are in walk-able distance.

Room Tip: Get the Sea Facing rooms on the first floors and you will surely enjoy the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank amitrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's Bungalow on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words about The Bungalow on the Beach heritage hotel in Tranquebar.

We are delighted to learn that you were able to relax and rejuvenate at the property.

Your appreciation about the warm hospitality and the seafood have been conveyed to the service team and the Chef.

We thank you for your visit and look forward to welcoming you back for many more relaxing getaways !

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We had a relaxed time at Tharangambadi, where time seems to stand still. The village does not have any modern amenities. However, the Bungalow is an ideal place to relax and spend a holiday. An old collectors bungalow, now converted to a heritage hotel, the setting is perfect for a quite stay. The staff are courteous. Be prepared to be amused just by the waves and giggles of villagers. There is nothing else nearby. On second thoughts, you do not need anything else!

Room Tip: Pick rooms on the top floor, facing the sea. Princess Louise suite has a partial view. These rooms a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank V_Madhurima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's Bungalow on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words about The Bungalow on the Beach heritage hotel in Tranquebar.

We are pleased to learn that you had a relaxing stay at the property. Your compliments about the service and the hospitality have been conveyed to the team.

We hope that as you continue to discover real India with Neemrana, you’ll find more to tell us about !

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

If your idea of a holiday is to do nothing at all and relax this is the perfect place for you.

The bungalow on the beach is a converted governor's bungalow, one can almost relive the days of the Danish governor with the wooden floors, high ceiling and chandelier in the hall. Hats off to the Neemrana group for the great work done.

The ambience of the hotel is out of the world. The food is great, though predominantly continental, is well prepared and enjoyable. The sea food spread, is specially fresh and very well made.

If you are looking at a Taj or Oberoi like food and luxury, you will be disappointed. This is more of the home stay kind of a place - but a luxurious homestay at that. Every room has different kinds of furniture, but all of them made of authentic teak or rosewood and rock solid. The bathrooms are kind of narrow, but then from the looks, probably the bungalow rooms dint have attached baths, so this is an addition the Neemrana group has done. Narrow or not, the high ceiling makes up for it, and one doesn't feel claustrophobic. The verandah around the rooms are the high point, from the first floor ones you can get a great view of the Bay of Bengal and can actually imagine the old Danish Mariners landing on these beaches.

The staff is very helpful and cooperative. We travelled with a 9 month old infant, and all her dietary and sterilising needs were taken care of.

In and around there is nothing much to see, except the fort, the churches and the 13th century temple.

Overall a very enjoyable trip.

Room Tip: The rooms on the first floor are better as they have the verandah to sit out
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mansij2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's Bungalow on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words about The Bungalow on the Beach heritage hotel in Tranquebar.

It is heartening to learn that you had a relaxing stay at the property. Your compliments about the restoration have been conveyed to the Co-Chairmen and the team.

We have also conveyed your appreciation about the seafood and the warm hospitality to the Chef and the service team. This is exactly what we strive to achieve and it is always rewarding when someone at the receiving end can sense the effort and the love.

We hope that as you discover more of real India with Neemrana, you’ll find more to tell us about. On behalf of the entire Neemrana team we thank you for your patronage and look forward to welcoming you at our 28 properties across India !

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

This was my second visit to Neemrana Group of hotels after my amazing experience in Fort Cochin last year.

I decided to go here after the article of the city and hotel in Simply Chennai Aug 2013 edition of INDIA TODAY magazine. There was a number provided for booking this hotel - 09750816034 - which was never picked up.

The GATE HOUSE another property of the Neemrana Hotels is at the entrance of the town gate. The rooms there would cost Rs.3000/- ( buts a small walk from the main hotel THE BUNGALOW IN THE BEACH) . FOOD IS NOT PROVIDED here, so u have to walk back to the main hotel for your morning breakfast and for any other meal you want in the day.

THE BUNGALOW IN THE BEACH has lots of rooms. We got the ground floor - ELEPHANT( right opposite the reception) which costed Rs.4000/-. One side when we opened the door we could see the Fort Dansborg and the other door when opened faced the Sea. The toilets were VERY SMALL. Through out the night you could hear the waves on the beach. Morning you wake up to the church bell/ alarm and listen to a Bible verse every hour.

We checked in late in the night , around 9:30 pm. The hotel staff were kind to provide us dinner in our room , as the kitchen is closed and most staffs leave by 10 :00 pm. We ordered Sea food and the quantity, quality and taste was delicious.

They DONOT serve liquor ( not even beer!!!). But don't mind chilling and serving the liquor you have bought outside.

NO TV in any room - nice to live that way.

Breakfast was the usual continental style with eggs to order. Masala omelette was very good.

We had to leave cos they have a check out time of 12 noon.

Only sad part was the swimming pool was dirty green in color and INFESTED with insects. We wanted to swim in the pool ( which is always an integral part of Neemrana Hotels).

We had a short stay but cherished the ambiance and feel of 16th century atmosphere. I recommend you come for atleast two days , enjoy the swim , beach- just RELAX and UNWIND

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shajeev J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's Bungalow on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review about The Bungalow on the Beach.

Your compliments about the seafood and the breakfast experience have been conveyed to the Chef. We have also conveyed your appreciation about the hospitality to the team.

With reference to your feedback, the mobile number mentioned in the article is incorrect. Please visit the Contact Us page of the website to view the correct number for hotel reservations.

Unfortunately the pool was not in use temporarily due to the extreme monsoon weather. This has now been rectified. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused.

We thank you for your continued patronage to the Neemrana Hotels and look forward to welcoming you at our 28 properties across India !

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tharangambadi
22.6 mi away
GS Resorts
GS Resorts
#1 of 3 in Nagapattinam
28 reviews
23.7 mi away
Clinton Park Inn
Clinton Park Inn
#3 of 10 in Velankanni
217 reviews
14.7 mi away
Hotel Pams Residency
Hotel Pams Residency
#1 of 1 in Mayiladuthurai
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.7 mi away
Chandra Royal Inn
Chandra Royal Inn
#7 of 10 in Velankanni
86 reviews
23.6 mi away
MGM Vailankanni Residency
MGM Vailankanni Residency
#5 of 10 in Velankanni
229 reviews
0.3 mi away
Neemrana's Gate House
Neemrana's Gate House
#1 of 1 in Tharangambadi
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Neemrana's Bungalow on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Neemrana's Bungalow on the Beach

Address: 24 King Street, Tharangambadi 609313, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Nagapattinam District > Tharangambadi
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tharangambadi
Price Range: $90 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Neemrana's Bungalow on the Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing full east, The Bungalow on the Beach gives you your personal encounter with the sun, sea breeze and spray. Time becomes irrelevant here when you stand facing a glorious sunrise with : a 14th century Pandya temple on your left and a 17th century Danish fort to the right. Come taste ‘eternity’ in a stopover ! The restored Bungalow stands as a reminder of Ove Gjedde, a Danish Admiral sent by the king of Denmark with two ships. They were well received by the Nayak ruler of Tanjore, and given this territory for trading. Then Dansborg, the Fort of Tharangambadi – a solid example of Scandinavian military architecture, was established nearby to store and export pepper to Denmark. The oldest Lutheran church in India was built here in 1706. Today you can drive in through a beautiful gate of the majestic King Street, past Lutheran churches and grand bungalows of the Danish Governors’ and the British Collector’s residence. Re-live marine history; visit the temples of Kumbakonam and Tanjore. The town remains a glorious tribute to architecture from across the world. Tranquebar is reputed to have the thickest ozone layer in India which is ideal for relaxation as it rejuvenates and helps all those who want to prolong their life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Neemrana's Bungalow on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bungalow On The Beach Hotel Tharangambadi
Hotel On The Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing