We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Near perfect hotel for those who like day-dreaming to the sounds of the ocean” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Neemrana's Bungalow on the Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Neemrana's Bungalow on the Beach
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tharangambadi
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Near perfect hotel for those who like day-dreaming to the sounds of the ocean”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2011

A beautiful spot by an untouched beach. The hotel is exquisitely maintained, with large airy room and period decor. Friendly, courteous and very helpful staff. Food uncharacteristically uninspired for India, but the staff were responsive to suggestions! We understood the area was to be 'developed' and our hearts sank. All this hotel needs is a few new recipes!

Room Tip: Ask for rooms facing the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank myself2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    106
    16
    7
    7
See reviews for
77
78
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
chennai
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2011

Hey….
I can never forget the stay in Tranquebar on March 12th and 13th 2011.We were a group of 6. We have taken the whole of Nayak house as suggested by the regional coordinator who helped in booking the place. We really had a great stay there. Here I should definitely mention about the food which we had in “The bungalow on beach”. They had wide verities of food stuffs in the menu and each one was it was significant with its own taste. The breakfast was delicious and served with immense care from the chef of the restaurant. We ordered for european breakfast and it was really yummy. From the manager, chef till the house keepers they took intensive care on each of us. I really felt as I was in my grandmom’s home but the difference was Nayak House was big and well maintained. Looking forward for another trip..
Cheers…………….

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank deepasekar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
1,417 reviews
277 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,113 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2011

If the bed in the room was any closer to the ocean, I would have needed my swimming costume! The waves are big, the ocean is strong and the sound is soothing. No wonder, this is one of the place swhere the tsunami had struck a few days back. Now, one can lie in bed or sit on the verandah and enjoy the ocean. But bring your own cushion and your own tablecloth. The ones provided there were filthy, and had not been cleaned perhaps from when the hotel opened! The food is a problem too. There is a daily change ala carte menu, and while there are a couple of non Indian items each day, these are totally Indianized with spices and masalas. And of course so are the Indian items. And there is no choice outside the hotel. It is best not to step into the adjoining Tamilnadu hotel even though it is also managed by Neemrana.

Go for the sea, but bring your own cushions and tablecloth and food.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ZenHealer7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiruchirappalli, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2011

we booked a weekend getaway at the Bungalow on the beach with some trepidation after reading the mixed reviews of previous guests.Some reviews even suggested racial bias in the hospitality. however our experience was an unforgettable weekend of fun in the sun, sand and surf. With evening on the sea facing verandah of the bungalow letting the sea breeze gently calm your soul.
the check in and check out was extremely smooth, the staff very cordial and polite. The food though limited in choice, very tasty (and healthy).
The pictures of the bungalow, before and after the renovation, show the magnitude of the project that had to be undertaken to restore this 300 years old heritage structure back to its pristine glory and also make it an economically viable hotel worthy of the 21st century.
If you are looking for the salty smell of the sea with the pounding and thrashing of the waves,to see specks of lights in the vast expanse on emptiness, then this is place to let the fury of nature quieten the fury within you

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DrShibuVarkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2011

On our four week tour of India this was a highlight. We stayed in gate House and were given a lift to dinner at the Bungalow by management each evening as it rained. The food was excellent and the coffee was the only Indian coffee we were offered all holiday. Rooms at Gate House were spacious, squeaky clean, furnished with highly polished antiques, and we were looked after by genial staff. We would recommend this place.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank franklyspeakingWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2010

The hotel is in a great location. The rooms are spacious. Amazing view of the sea from the rooms on the 1st floor. The staff are very helpful and courteous.
The food menu is very limited just 6 items. But all the items are good and tasty.
We had gone there for our 15th anniversary and had a great time.
The swimming pool is also great we used it a lot as there was nothing much to do around the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank uvama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2010

Bungalow on the beach is an amazing little place, tastefully restored by the neemrana hotels (with the help of INTACH). Flanked by a Danish fort on one side and an ancient Shiva temple on the other side, this heritage sea facing bungalow is a beautiful retreat to relax. We had our hearts fill of the beautiful sea and airy rooms. Since we had to also visit the Our Lady's church at Velankanni, this trip rejuvenated our mind, soul and body.

The only down side of this place would be that, if you are looking for any Indian Breakfast - It is highly unlikely that you will get it. The hotel seems to have a huge clientele of western travelers, so their breakfast menu is also made to suits the western palate.

But if you are looking for a place on the beach to relax, this is just the place.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chitra75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tharangambadi
22.6 mi away
GS Resorts
GS Resorts
#1 of 3 in Nagapattinam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
23.7 mi away
Clinton Park Inn
Clinton Park Inn
#5 of 8 in Velankanni
3.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
23.8 mi away
Chandra Royal Inn
Chandra Royal Inn
#6 of 8 in Velankanni
4.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Neemrana's Gate House
Neemrana's Gate House
#1 of 1 in Tharangambadi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
23.6 mi away
MGM Vailankanni Residency
MGM Vailankanni Residency
#1 of 8 in Velankanni
4.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
21.3 mi away
Velankanni Lake Resort
Velankanni Lake Resort
#1 of 15 in Velankanni
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Neemrana's Bungalow on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Neemrana's Bungalow on the Beach

Property: Neemrana's Bungalow on the Beach
Address: 24 King Street, Tharangambadi 609313, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Tharangambadi
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tharangambadi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The restored Bungalow stands as a reminder of a Danish Admiral, Ove Gjedde, sent by the king of Denmark with two ships. They were well received by the Nayak ruler of Tanjore, and given this territory. Then Dansborg, the Fort of Tharangambadi – a solid example of Scandinavian military architecture was established to export pepper to Denmark. The oldest Lutheran church in India was built here in 1706.Today you can drive in through a beautiful gate of the majestic King Street, past Lutheran churches and grand bungalows of the Danish Governors’ and the British Collector’s residence. Re-live marine history; visit the temples of Kumbakonam and Tanjore. The town remains a glorious tribute to architecture from across the world.Tranquebar is reputed to have the thickest ozone layer in India which is ideal for relaxation as it rejuvenates and helps all those who visit prolong their life. Facing full east, The Bungalow on the Beach gives guests their own encounter with the sun and sea breeze. Time becomes irrelevant when you stand facing the sunrise: a 14th century Pandya temple on your left and a 17th century Danish fort to the right.Come taste ‘eternity’ in a stopover! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Neemrana's Bungalow on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bungalow On The Beach Hotel Tharangambadi
Hotel On The Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing