We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wrongly Named and Spelt”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gerik
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tasik Temenggor Discovery Island
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wrongly Named and Spelt”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014

Having been working and staying in Gerik for more than 15 years, I would like to correct 2 things:
1. Temengor is spelt with 1 G ie TEMENGOR
2. There is no such lake named Tasik (Reservoir) Banding, there is a Pulau (Island) Banding and the lake around it is Tasik Temengor
Note: Tasik Temengor is a man-made reservoir as a result of the construction of Temengor Hydroelectric Dam in the 70's at the confluence of the main Perak River and its tributary Temengor River.

Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
11 Thank MKT538
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
1
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wiltshire UK
Level Contributor
92 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2010

A bit awkward making the reservation as they insisted on full payment before arrival but do not accept credit card or paypal! Ended up using the private paypal account of one of their friends! It was not cheap either.

The experience on arrival however was very nice. Basic but clean huts - as we were split into 2 it was a pity we could not see each other from our balconies (but were very close to the neighbours on the other sides!).

Good food (though breakfast often not hot) - we had an excellent steamboat the first night and a very nice bbq the second night - good quality and plenty of it. The evenings were taken up with seminars on the local wildlife and we felt like naughty school-kids when we left early to get the kids to bed!

The activities were nicely organised - the trek up to the viewpoint was particularly good. Unfortunately we did not see a rafflesia in bloom and the trip to the waterfall was deemed too dangerous due to heavy rain - but these were the fault of mother nature, not TTDI!

There was also about the right amount of time to ourselves - we swam, played water basketball and paddled a kayak around the island.

But at night, the bugs came out! Those in the toilet block were HUGE. To the extent that our kids were afraid to go! But in the morning everything had been cleaned up very well and all the paths swept.

The owners are passionate about their resort and its environment and understandably in horror of the logging that is now taking place out of sight to the south.

All in all, a great experience of the rainforest.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank PinkNosedPenguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royy on Wye
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2010

This place is as close to the rainforest as you can get. We went here on recommendation from a family we met in the Perhentian Islands - we had planned to go to Taman Negara but went here instead and were so glad we changed. You will not feel like a tourist here - Tom (runs the place with his Dad, Steve) is a wonderful host and has a great staff running the place. Food is excellent with the hosts eating with us most meals. We did several trips from the island to the jungle and found Tom's local knowledge was extensive and brilliant. These folks really care about the environment in which they live. After one night in the chalet Tom offered us the houseboat on the lake - amazing. Waterfalls, swimming in the lake and a few trips through the jungle ( also with leeches and big big spiders!) made this an unforgettable experience.
This is not 5* luxury ... its something quite different but just as good. We felt privileged to have stayed here and seen what we saw. I would recommend Discovery Island to anyone wanting an alternative to 'package' venues wanting to see the real rainforest.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nbarker30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2010

I spent 8 days in early August at this resort, and it was a truly enchanting experience. Combination of the breezy lake and steamy atmosphere of the surrounding rainforest is unique. Food was delicious and like everything else, absulutely safe. Staff has done excellent and very cordial service, also making people aware of the dangers that threaten the rainforest and its many species. It was a perfect "switched off" experience from our daily routines. We would certainly go back again for more rainforest experience, wide range of which is available, would one make contact with those peolpe well in advance of their trip. Really recommendable place!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank argosz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2010

such a wonderful place we never know. we have a great holidays over here.
we will go again and this time i will stay more days because 3 days not enough.
air was fresh, and service provided was excellent. and they should be rewarded
because they educate people to love nature and to take care of the environment.
everythig is good and this is the most enjoyable holidays for me.

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TTDI3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gerik
0.7 mi away
Belum Rainforest Resort
24.1 mi away
Mandarin Betong
Mandarin Betong
#2 of 4 in Betong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
24.3 mi away
Betong Merlin Hotel
Betong Merlin Hotel
#3 of 4 in Betong
3.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
71.1 mi away
Belum Eco-Resort Sdn.Bhd.
Show Prices

Been to Tasik Temenggor Discovery Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tasik Temenggor Discovery Island

Property: Tasik Temenggor Discovery Island
Address: Gerik, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Perak > Hulu Perak District > Gerik
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Gerik
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Tasik Temenggor Discovery Island Hotel Gerik
Tasik Temenggor Discovery Island Malaysia/Gerik, Perak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing