We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Belum Rainforest Resort
Nearby Hotels
Cinta Sayang Resort(Sungai Petani)
$52
$24
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
K Garden Hotel(Sungai Petani)(Great Value!)
$20
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Urban Inn(Kulim)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (555)
Filter reviews
555 results
Traveler rating
100
225
144
55
31
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
100
225
144
55
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshornbill restaurantlake viewdeluxe suitebamboo raftinginfinity poolboat ridebreakfast and dinnernight walksalt lickoutdoor activitiesrafflesia flowerday tourkuala lumpurala cartenearest town isno alcoholtheir website
Filter
Updating list...
265 - 270 of 555 reviews
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We were here for just 2 days, expect a location in the rainforest and found a resort on a little island near a kind of motorway, a huge bridge with military bunkers from former times and the lake is
a manmade blocked waterreservoir (very large) with a lot of dead trees sticking out.
Guess in 10-20 years the lake will have a natual habitat, right now it looks a bit dead, not even fish hunting birds to see. The resort is a nice setup, the rooms are made in kind of style, a little pool is
there, a bar with some drinks direct at the lake, the restaurant has everything what should be at place.... But the crew is not very interested to serve, a coffe might need some 15 min to get, a bill as well. And the meals do sound good, but they aren't, somehow made without touch. Summary: it's all there, but the details which makes a stay nice and pleasant are not in place at all.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HMann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rkbashah, Manager at Belum Rainforest Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Dear Mr HMann,

We are extremely concerned to note your dissatisfaction during your stay with us.

We would to take this opportunity to apologize for the inconvenience caused that has happened to you and we are striving to improve our service quality and hope you are satisfied with the corrective action taken by us..

Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention .We continue to be committed to provide all our guests with the highest standard of service in the industry.

Once again please accept our sincere apology and we look forward to hear from you.

Regards

Ruslan Zainal Abidin, Resort Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

The room is spacious .. clean .. but the decoration the bed sheet, pillow case are basics .. lighting in the room is okay but the lighting in the bathroom needs to be added .. especially for people like me who need to shave, i need better lighting - also, normally in other hotels they provide small retractable mirror to assist those who need to shave to have a better and closer view .. so perhaps Belum Resort can think of this too..

TV - there's a TV in my room but only 1 channel available - although only 1 channel available but the quality of the picture is so poor - i guess the signal's strength is so weak that has resulted in poor quality - i ended up didn't watch anything

Wi-fi - no wi-fi in the room - only provided wi-fi in restaurant and reception - but the connection is not stable too .. quite frustrating ..

Although people come here to explore the resort .. to enjoy the nature but when we come back to the hotel room after we have explored the natural beauty in the surroundings .. we need to rest and relax and some of us relax by watching tv, surfing the internet, chit-chatting with friends over social media .. so i hope these facilities can be improved ..

Food - I like it .. they provide good local delicacies - cooked in kampung style .. not sure about western food .. i didnt try .. the staff in the restaurant are very friendly and very helpful .. especially one girl named Ila .. thumbs up to her

Some works going on around the hotel to add more blocks of buildings i suppose .. swimming pool is quite small but okay ..

The view from the hotel is good .. but to go beyond that is even better .. took the package to explore the forest - got to see the Rafflesia, orang asli settlement and concluded with a visit to waterfall - good package, worth it

One more thing - driving there from KL will take around 4 hours (non-stop driving) but after Gerik appreciate if the resort could put up more signboards leading to the resort .. since this is my first visit to Hutan Belum and I reached there after dark .. so it was quite scary driving along the zig-zag hilly road and along the way when i couldn't see anymore signboards of Belum Resort i was not sure whether i was on the right track or not .. to make things worst my 3G didnt work in that area .. no connection means no GPS too ..

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JOERIZAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rkbashah, Resort Manager at Belum Rainforest Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for giving us a review of your recent stay at our resort.
Your feedback is valuable to us, as it gives us an opportunity to improve our service and product.

We strive to ensure our patrons experience the best visits possible during their stay and we fell short of our goal this time. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconveniences experienced.

Rest assured, we take our guest comfort and satisfaction very seriously, my team is taking necessary steps to address the poor Wi-fi signal and television signal.

In the meantime, please do not hesitate to contact us if we can assist with anything else.
We do look forward to be able to serve you again in future.

Ruslan Zainal Abidin, Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The trip from KL was good up to Gerik town, but once you hit the Gerik highway, best be alert and avoid late evening trips. It took us 5 hours from KL to Pulau Bandung. The place indeed was unique. In the jungle wrapped up with a lake view , with the comfort of a fine resort facilities. Spacious room. Hospitality was ok, but it could be improved as a whole.

The place design was beautiful and one of a kind. Modern natural designs coinciding with nature at its heart.
Food in the hotel was fairly good. Priced affordable and reasonable.
Chicken chop not so good. Chicken curry was the best, enough for 2 ppl with 3 pcs of chicken.
Breakfast buffet was 50-50.Variety could be improved.
Nature walk was refreshing .Although a short distance but you will sweat.

Situation experienced that can/needs to be improved:
WIFI- the Wifi can't reach the rooms near the restaurant. Stating it as complementary wifi is not relevant in the room. It works fine at the restaurant . Even after changing to a room near the restaurant it was barely detectable.
TV - No tv in the room. It would good to have that .
BAR - probably the management is trying minimize alcoholic beverages availability ,hence the limited choices. That's fine. But the bar setup and design was so unique. Unfortunately , it seem under utilized. I think it can be a main attraction instead of it being left like an forsaken shake.
POOL - I understand that it is new, but the there was morse and frog eggs in it. Maybe no or insufficient chlorine usage.
SERVICE - The service was exceptional by some, while others could improve on volunteering responsiveness in greeting guess.

Overall, the place design was one of a kind. Peaceful ambience . Scenic views. Can't wait for the new phase to open tentatively in Sept. Rooms look extra interesting. Will definitely return there..

*Kindly note this view my personal views pertaining to my visit there from 26 to 28th August 2013.

Room Tip: Room 122 is at the back. No bed to read. Room 102 has a daybed to read near the window. 102 is better.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Edwin_Irene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

This resort is located in Pulau Banding - a man made island. Heading pretty much towards north of Malaysia , located close to the town call Gerik. From KL , it takes about appox 4hrs drive. We were on our motorbike this time so it took us about 7-8hrs plus we had few breaks during the journey.
We had stayed in this resort back in 2005 whilst travelling on a road bike tour. At that time it was pretty quiet , tatty and full of giant insects!
Today it seems like the resort underwent a total makeover!
It looks very picturesque, clean and brand new. Resorts consists different types of rooms, function rooms including chalets as well. There are 2 bars and 3 restaurants. Breakfast and dinner are served at the main restaurant called THE HORNBILL. Buffet style is served at the SIDAI RESTAURANT. TOR TAMBRA bar is just next to the restaurant which opens at 6pm. The bar looks pretty new so they had very less stock on wines and no cocktails except beers and soft drinks. The location of the bar quite close to the pool, but I don't think drinks are allowed near the pool area. No alcohol served at the Hornbill but you can have a drink at the lobby restaurant. Breakfast includes asian and western cuisine.
The resort provides organised tours and other outdoor activities. You can also hire mountain bikes and boathouse as well. Check out their website: www.belumresort.com.There are still work in progress but all major work had been accomplished and most of the rooms are completed. Awesome view surrounding the resort. There is an infinity pool which was ok ,the water wasn't very clear and there is a jacuzzi as well. I don't think there is any gym , not that you will need one though as there are plenty of other exploring activities. We were here only for a day so unfortunately I can't comment on the exploring bits but their website says it all!
The only thing the resort needs to consider is the improvement on the food but the chicken curry is recommendable! Room service was considerably slow but besides that all staff can speak English , friendly, polite and helpful. Room service menu consists both asian and western choices. We didn't try any western dishes so can't really comment on that but in my experience you are better of having local food unless you are a risk taker!
The room that we stayed in costs about RM330(DOUBLE BED) per/night -2 adults. approximately costs around 76 Euros, GBP 65.00,USD100.41.
I hope the management will preserve the beauty , cleanliness of the resort and also the professionalism of the staffs. Don't let the saying come true- " new broom sweeps well"!

Room Tip: Some rooms face the road, but no worries the road is almost quite most of the time as very less traffic. You will not be able to view the road directly from your room so it is not too bad.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jazz J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

It is truth that there are not that many other options in the area but still the Hotel is nice despite the complex is still under construction.
The rooms are big enough and the bathrooms with a bit of day light. They are a bit noisy since the corridors are not very sound proof and you hear other guests walking around.
The staff is nice and efficient at both Front Desk and Restaurant.
It is also very helpful thay they organize the excursions right from the Hotel, the guides are very enthusiastic and the lake and rainforest impressive.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edu S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews