We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place, friendly and relaxed atmosphere”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ninh Phuoc
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Jungle Beach VietNam
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ninh Phuoc
Vienna
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fantastic place, friendly and relaxed atmosphere”
Reviewed April 14, 2010

My wife and I stayed in the 1000 stars hut, which was quite basic but spacious and clean. Also there is wireless internet everywhere, which is great. Don't expect any other luxuries apart from quiet garden and beautiful beach. As we ate lunch and dinner at fixed times with the other guests we quickly befriended a lot of nice and interesting people, which is one of the best things about travelling for us, also the Vietnames food was very tasty. However, don't expect any gourmandises. The owner Sylvio and his family are very laid back and friendly although on first appearance Syllvio might seem a bit excentric, or perhaps he is, so what, deal with it...

I can of course understand the negative reviews, for above reason and also because if you come to a place like this with wrong expectations of room service, individual treatment, TV in room, or expecting the surroundings to be some secret jungle, you are bound to be disappointed. There is a regular Vietnames fishing village just down the beach, with fish smell, fishermen, little concrete houses, shrimp breeding huts etc. Also it was clear not all people appreciated the common meals and the not so business client oriented approach of the owner one would expect at a regular hotel.

Anyways, we loved it, and if you are open to leave your comfort zone and experience a great few days at the beach (some people stayed longer, like Tobi, who was staying his 45th night or so when we left) then this is the place to be.

Thanks Sylvio and family, we wish you the best of success also in the future!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justin_Chillinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    69
    27
    17
    29
See reviews for
26
86
21
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Dorset
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 5, 2010

A great escape from hectic Vietnam ....off the beaten track but well worth the effort to locate this small piece of peaceful and secluded beach life. Services are basic but very acceptable, with the staff being most helplful and friendly. Our hut was open-plan and suited us fine. Food excellent and everyone eats together in 'long house' which gives travellers opportunity to chat about their experiences in Vietnam. The beach is breathtakingly lovely - fine grain sand and gradually sloping into the sea. Most visitors stay for a couple of nights to 'chill out' but we extended our stay as we enjoyed the place so much. We travelled northwards, telling everyone we met about Jungle Beach, lauding its praises!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DuffBuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2010

This is no ordinary resort. The place is very basic but nice. It's located 60 km north of Nha Trang. The best thing about the place is the beach. You must like to be social because you share all the meals with the other residents at the resort. In the evenings there is not much to do except be social with the others. The food is good and the staff is nice. We rented a big de luxe bungalow. And it was very big. The first 24 hours we had to listen to some kind of machine close to our bungalow but that was the only minus. We recommend this place. Stay at least 3 nights.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rumtog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 20, 2010

We read a lot about this place before going and it sounded idyllic however we found it to be very overpriced. Rooms are less than basic with communal showers and toilets which would be great for 10USD per night but 50USD for the two of us was extortionate.

Granted meals are included (very nice food) but this is at a specific time and communal i.e one table for all people and this may not be to everyones taste. This also, in our opinion, should lower the costs even more for the establishment but this was not reflected in the price. You also have to eat what you are given and then pay for coffee afterwards. This would all be fine apart from the 50USD price tag which would lead one to belive that it was more than a backpackers communal lodgings.

We felt rather trapped and controlled even though we were paying a lot for it.

It was a good experience, the beach is beautiful and there is lots of nature around but it is certainly not worth 50USD for a couple per night plus 50USD total taxi trips which are essential as it is in the middle of nowhere.

Great if you want to meet other people, are with kids or are in a large group and of course have plenty of spare money and dont mind paying 50USD to literally sleep in a shack on the beach but we would not reccomend it due to the price.

Lastly, we were confused by the rough guides description of the 'enthusiastic owner' we found him to be rather reclusive. Perhaps he was just having a few bad days.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tonto222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
junglebeachvietnam, owner/manager at Jungle Beach VietNam, responded to this review, February 21, 2010
price is not 50 usd, it is 450 000 vnd, which is just iver 23 usd / person
this includes 3 hearty meals per day, as well as bottomless lemon juice and drinking water, and afternoon fruit plate

so break it down it works to about 10 usd for the room, and 13 usd for the meals and all others

there are also some boogie boards and surf boards, ping pong table , all free of charge

meals are communal, 4 dishes each meals, makes for a family atmosphere, what most folks say they like about JB, you meet the other folks this way ... upon arrival we ask everyone of there are food allergies or stuff they do not eat, so we can accommodate all tastes
and yes coffe is extra, this way we get to serve high quality coffee

taxi to Jb from nha trang is tops 20 usd ( 4 seater car), but we do try and arrange for folks to share (of course if there are many folks, a van will be used then the price goes up a bt
25 usd, sounds like the guests arranged the transport on their own and paid too much

trapped, you are on the edge of the jungle, on a secluded beach, what do you want ??

as for me, well, let's see, with guests count in the high 40's to mid 50's , and no one wanting to leave, as everyone is escaping the big busy cities during tet, i am a bit busy to say the least, maybe i do not have time to sit with everyone

on our website, it does say that coming for 1 night is NOT recommended

8 out of 10 guests coming to JB stay longer than they expect
everyone tells of gaining weight ...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ninh Phuoc hotels

london
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2010

I can see there were a couple of bad reviews here and just wnated to add that we had a fantastic time here. It might be a bit difficult to find, yes, but you can arrange transport through Sylvio. We stayed in the 1000 star accomodation a few days, whcih was huge for three of us , we could sleep unstairs or downstairs, there were three huge beds! There was no problems with the matresses, so not sure what one of the comments here was about. I am normally very picky and I can say there were fine. Maybe not 100count egyptioan cotton shettes but you woidl not expect that at thsi price! You come here because it is "wild", isolated, you meet lots of peole, have the beach to yourseves (no snorkelling as not much to see, although try swimming at nigth and you will see what a beautiful surprise you find in the water!) and the food is AMAZING!!!!
So, go if you can!
The last nigth we spent in one of the basice hust as we wanted the experience. You are in front of the beach. Simple but great. Our son who is 8 loved it too.
I have only given 3 stars to location as the nearets town is not that nice and there is lots of rubbish on the beach in that part, but not where JB is. Also 3 stars to sleep qualoty as it can get quite hot in July and you have to sleep with the fan on, but then you would have known this before you went.
Hope all is weel Sylvio! (spain via norway, do you remember us?)

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mimosita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
160 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2010

This 'resort' obviously paid off Lonely Planet for a good review, the rooms are three sided sheds with mosquito (holes throughout) and the beds are old stinky mattresses... make sure you dont go during the rainy season as it gets up to 40c with 100% humidity... unbearable. The Canadian owner only runs this place to gouge unexpecting tourists, its a 90min drive out of Nha Trang to get here and once you get dropped here there is no way out until your departure date. Eating is commune style which some might like. This place is way over priced for very basic hostel style accommodation. Beware if you swim at this beach, whilst it may look nice at high tide, there are sea-lice in the water, where do you think the sewerage from the local town goes... hint go to the beach at low tide and smell.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wilrc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2009

Jungle Beach was definitely a highlight. It was a bit of a drama for us to get there due to heavy rain (make sure you have a mobile, otherwise we would have been stranded), try and arrive earlier in the day! Loved the spot - beautiful vegetated hills in the back (you even get to see rare monkeys through telescopes) and the beach was lovely, although yes some rubbish (especially due to storms, it is a developing nation though). Very secure, with security guards monitoring the resort. Definitely not luxury accommodation, but that is not what you pay for, found it very adequate. Good food and great bunch of travellers. Loved having meals together, really got a chance to meet people. The host, Silvio, is a bit arogant but does run a tight ship. My friend and I loved it and really appreciated relaxing for a few days with swimming, eating, trekking, drinking and socialising. A truly great place to meet interesting travellers.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kbm79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ninh Phuoc
0.2 mi away
Wild Beach Resort and Spa
Wild Beach Resort and Spa
#1 of 1 in Ninh Phuoc
123 reviews
4.2 mi away
L’Alyana Ninh Van Bay
L’Alyana Ninh Van Bay
#5 of 204 in Nha Trang
683 reviews
10.0 mi away
Some Days of Silence Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.2 mi away
Mia Resort Nha Trang
Mia Resort Nha Trang
#1 of 204 in Nha Trang
1,230 reviews
5.1 mi away
Six Senses Ninh Van Bay
Six Senses Ninh Van Bay
#4 of 204 in Nha Trang
1,085 reviews
17.0 mi away
Whale Island Resort
Whale Island Resort
#38 of 204 in Nha Trang
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jungle Beach VietNam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jungle Beach VietNam

Property: Jungle Beach VietNam
Address: Beach Rd, Ninh Phuoc, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Binh Thuan Province > Ninh Phuoc
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ninh Phuoc
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prices at Jungle Beach are inclusive of breakfast, lunch and dinner, as well as bottomless lemon juice and drinking water. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Jungle Beach Vietnam Hotel Ninh Phuoc
Jungle Beach VietNam Ninh Phuoc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing