We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Bliss!”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Puerto de la Duquesa, Manilva, Costa del Sol, Province of Malaga, Andalucia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Passenger...
1 review
“Bliss!”
Reviewed October 12, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Just back having spent a very enjoyable eight days here. Could not fault the apartment at all. It had a clean and spacious living room, well equipped kitchen and utility room, the bedrooms were bright with one having en-suite - one even has a balcony overlooking the pool. The main balcony off the living room, overlooking the pool, was the highlight for me - spacious and clean with the sun in the afternoon and early evening, table with six chairs, a fully equipped barbeque - a brilliant place to end the day with a glass of cider - bliss! Would quite happily "move in"!

The pool is a generous size and there were no problems in getting a sunbed.

Although the apartment is in a quiet location it is only a five minute walk to the port where you have a number of various types of restaurants and bars to suit everyone's taste.

The owners, Gareth and Elisabeth, were extremely helpful and provided a wealth of information on trips to the surrounding areas and provided updated information on the availability of public transport.

The highlight for the holiday for me was experiencing Gibraltar's National Day and the dolphin spotting tour.

Will definitely be going back and would not hesitate to recommend.

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irish_Jen
Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A lovely stay in La Duquesa.”
Reviewed August 3, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We have just returned from a lovely fortnight in this duplex apartment.

The location is perfect - 5 min walk to the beach and marina with it's busy bars and restaurants, 10 min walk to a large supermarket that contained all that we needed.

The property was spotlessly clean and the kitchen was well stocked with all the utensils we needed for cooking in or barbecuing. The air conditioning worked well to keep us cool and the BBQ on the large balcony was a great and welcome addition.

We used La Duquesa as a base to explore Andalucia and were able to visit Gibralter, Marbella, Puerto Banus, Ronda and Seville by car. There is a great little water park (Bahia Park) just a half hour drive away which wasn't over crowded.

The apartment is perfect for a family of 5 and our 3 kids loved being able to share a room with the help of the bunk bed.

The Lynn, the site manager, was extremely helpful and was always available if we needed her. The complex also has 24hr security and your hire car is parked in a locked underground carpark which gave added peace of mind.

The pool is a good size for the complex - though my only negative experience was that there was a daily 9am rush to get towels to secure the public beds. It would be helpful if the apartment offered a couple of its own privately owned beds to avoid this hassle (some other apts did this).

The port has a great atmosphere at night and there's every type of cuisine on offer. There's a small night market at the port and also a large Sunday market just outside La Duquesa.

I would highly recommend this apartment. Gareth, the owner, provided us with a wealth of helpful information prior to and during our trip and was a warm and welcoming host.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 4, 2016
Hi Jen
Really pleased to hear you had such a lovely time at Duquesa and sounds like you were able to travel around a bit as well. There is a lot to see and do in the area and that is the beauty of having a car.
Its sad about the issue with people reserving the sun beds at the pool. It is against the pool rules ad probably needs tightening up by the community. I agree with your suggestion about supplying beds from the apartment though, and we will do that for next year.
regards
Gareth
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katinka H
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very nice holiday!”
Reviewed July 5, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

I stayed at this apartment from 28th of June until the 5th of July together with a friend, and we both had a great time. The apartment was plenty big for us, and all the rooms were very clean. We used the bbq, which was quite easy to figure out, and the other nights we went down to the marina to eat. At the marina there as so many different restaurants, cafés and bars, there is something for everyone's taste.
The only thing I would "complain" about, is the wifi-connection. It's not the best. You get it sometimes, but it is quite slow. But the good this is that most of the restaurants and bars have wifi, and will give you the password, so if there are any wifi-holics like my self, you'll survive.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swhitewal...
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Lovely apartment in beautiful complex”
Reviewed June 26, 2016 for a stay in October 2015

I stayed at this apartment with two friends for a week in October and have booked another week in September this year. It is close to the marina but being just far enough away to have a secluded country feel to it.
The apartment is set in beautiful gardens overlooking the golf course with afternoon and evening sun, something which we particularly liked. Sitting on the terrace with a glass of wine watching the sun set is so relaxing.
The apartments has everything you need unless you go on holiday to watch tv, There is a tv but no satellite channels. There is wifi and that was enough for us to catch up on the news from home.
There are two bedrooms upstairs, one double with ensuite and one twin with separate bathroom. I see that one of the single beds has been replaced with bunk beds now so that will be very handy for families.
Downstairs is the lounge with plenty of seating and a fully fitted kitchen. We did eat in a couple of times and found that there were plenty of kitchen utensils. There is also a dishwasher and washing machine..
One thing to bear in mind is that with the bedrooms being upstairs, it would not be suitable for anybody with walking difficulties.
The marina and beach is only a 5 minute walk away. We didnt swim in the sea but the beach area looked very inviting with a lovely promenade. There is plenty of eating choice for all tastes in the marina and the prices are very reasonable.
We hired a car for the week and traveled around a bit along the coast in both directions. There is quite a lot to see and do if you really want to with some great walking areas around the mountains by Casares and of course Gibraltar.
I am looking forward to my next visit to Duquesa and La Almadraba and hope that everything is just as good as the first stay. Everything is highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, west facing terrace, BBQ
Liked least: street sellers in the restaurants
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 29, 2016
Hi
Thanks for the feedback. Glad you enjoyed your stay and looking forward to your next visit.
The tv has no satellite channels now as the UK satelites no longer cover Spain but there are plenty of places in the marina for watching sporting events.
For your information, we now have two bikes available for guests so you are welcome to use those on your next visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing