We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“hassle free beautiful location !!”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of The Boathouse

The Boathouse is set in the woods, above the Vale of Ffestiniog
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Boathouse is set in the woods, above the Vale of Ffestiniog
The Boathouse from the garden, with bonfire area. The sitting area with wood burning stove
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
66 reviews
The Boathouse is set in the woods, above the Vale of Ffestiniog
The Boathouse from the garden, with bonfire area.
The sitting area with wood burning stove
The kitchen and dining area viewed from the sitting area
The dining area with Welsh Dresser
Sitting area with kitchen/dining area behind
Master bedroom, door to landing and stairs on left, door to ensuite is to the right, out of picture.
Master bedroom, door to landing and stairs on right, door to ensuite to left (out of picture)
One of the two twin bedrooms downstairs, with window to terrace, garden, woods and steam trains
The other twin bedroom downstairs, door with window leading to woods and garden via side of house
The shower room downstairs, with sink to left, shower and heated towel-rail
The side of the house
The ffestiniog historic steam railway passes about 100 metres away, down a wooded slope
Plas Halt request stop on the ffestiniog railway, 15 minutes enchanting walk through the woods
The lake near the house
The lake, with the house just visible in mid-picture
Flowers at the side of the house
The house is deep in the Snowdonia National Park, you can walk out directly onto this woodland path
One of the ancient oaks in the woods around the house
Map of local walks
One of many walks direct from the house 10mins uphill to this view: Portmeirion, Harlech, Porthmadog
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Maentwrog, Gwynedd, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 66 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Russian first
Any
English first
k8large
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“hassle free beautiful location !!”
Reviewed April 26, 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

this was an amazing place, booking and arrival was made so simple. Thank you for a wonderfull get a way. we travelled as a group of girls and it was perfect, plenty of walking and lovelly places to visit locally will definatly be back so again thank you for such an enjoyable break

Date of stay: April 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwen A
Pontypridd, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
Reviewed April 20, 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Booked this to bring some friends from South Wales back home with me to North Wales to show them where I was brought up (not far from the Boathouse!). Had an amazing time, the property is fantastic (very remote but something I was used to growing up!). I cannot fault anything about the property and Bethan who looks after the property is amazing, so helpful and accomodating. Please book this you won't be dissapointed. We had two 9 year old girls with us and they didn't want to leave!

Date of stay: March 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the peace and quiet!
Liked least: need to have manuals to hand to operate the microwave!!
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz H
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Picturesque cottage in the woods”
Reviewed March 15, 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The property is just as it looks in the photos; very well decorated , clean ,furnished to high standard and with all mod cons. It is warm and the beds are comfortable. There is plenty of room for eight people. The lady who looks after the house was very helpful. We enjoyed our stay there.

Date of stay: March 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The character and cleanliness and position of the property
Liked least: The weather!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
350steve
Hove, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A real gem, a great hideaway in beautiful scenery.”
Reviewed August 26, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The owner put a great deal of thought into the rebuild/conversion of this property, he has created a real home from home. The underfloor heating under the flag stone floor was a very clever idea and creates a warm pleasant atmosphere. The furnishings and household equipment are of very good quality. Travelling there by car is probably the best method, although for the most resourceful you could use the local train. The directions were easy to follow and we got there with no problems. The seclusion, scenery and peace and quiet really made this holiday wonderful. There is plenty to do in the local area, so we felt the Boathouse ideal for all aspects of a holiday. We will book again.

Date of stay: May 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anameofso...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“splendid isolation”
Reviewed April 28, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Its a great place to get away from things. The nearest house is 20 minutes walk through the woods. Though the station on the steam railway is a little closer about 15 minutes.
Plenty to do for a week in the locality. W ould be hard getting food without a car, so althought you can in theory get to the place by train (including the stream train), you'd want someone in your party to have brought a car I think.
Facilities in the house are very modern. We had no problems with the heating/electic/gas and water despite all being 'off-grid'. Fine selection of kitchen utensils.
Best thing about it is that it realy is out in the woods.

Date of stay: April 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: isolation
Liked least: the tv
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samwillpi...
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Lovely spot in the woods”
Reviewed April 1, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

What a wonderful place, but of paradise in the wilderness! I had a meet up with some old school friends and we couldn't have chosen a better place, ideal for an explore of snowdonia or a relaxing break away from civilisation!
Highly recommended

Date of stay: March 2015
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly D
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Beautiful, relaxing spot, well kitted out, warm and perfect for walkers!”
Reviewed March 20, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

What a wonderful place to stay, truly lovely. It's nice and quiet,next to a gorgeous lake surrounded by woodland, secluded, but not ridiculously far away from shops and tourist attractions, walks etc. The boathouse has been kitted out with good quality furniture, carpets, duvets, pots and pans etc I love that whoever kitted it out went for quality items as to me it makes a big difference makes it feel more luxurious, especially if you cant afford these items yourself! My only small issues if I'm being nit-picky was that the paperwork was a bit all over the shop we were expecting a welcome pack of some variety to introduce us to the area and explain how and what to recycle etc but the paperwork was all just bundled in a drawer and took us a while to organize it! Also I thought the linen charge was quite expensive (£21 to wash a duvet cover and a couple of towels) and would've been nice to have the bed made as I would do that for my guests just out of politeness but all of this we were made aware of from the beginning, so cant really complain. I wouldnt let any of this put you off though it is a gem, we will be stopping there again only next time we'll be staying much longer!

Date of stay: March 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location is stunning, the seclusion and surrounding walks were perfect
Liked least: We love to recycle and this information on what to recycle wasnt made all that clear when we got there and we ended up just putting stuff in the normal bin. Arriving after a 3.5 hour journey and then having to make the bed ontop wasnt much fun!
Traveling group: Other
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing