We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful solitude with so much to do”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of The Boathouse

The Boathouse is set in the woods, above the Vale of Ffestiniog
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Boathouse is set in the woods, above the Vale of Ffestiniog
The Boathouse from the garden, with bonfire area. The sitting area with wood burning stove
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
59 reviews
The Boathouse is set in the woods, above the Vale of Ffestiniog
The Boathouse from the garden, with bonfire area.
The sitting area with wood burning stove
The kitchen and dining area viewed from the sitting area
The dining area with Welsh Dresser
Sitting area with kitchen/dining area behind
Master bedroom, door to landing and stairs on left, door to ensuite is to the right, out of picture.
Master bedroom, door to landing and stairs on right, door to ensuite to left (out of picture)
One of the two twin bedrooms downstairs, with window to terrace, garden, woods and steam trains
The other twin bedroom downstairs, door with window leading to woods and garden via side of house
The shower room downstairs, with sink to left, shower and heated towel-rail
The side of the house
The ffestiniog historic steam railway passes about 100 metres away, down a wooded slope
Plas Halt request stop on the ffestiniog railway, 15 minutes enchanting walk through the woods
The lake near the house
The lake, with the house just visible in mid-picture
Flowers at the side of the house
The house is deep in the Snowdonia National Park, you can walk out directly onto this woodland path
One of the ancient oaks in the woods around the house
Map of local walks
One of many walks direct from the house 10mins uphill to this view: Portmeirion, Harlech, Porthmadog
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Maentwrog, Gwynedd, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 59 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Russian first
Any
English first
258ledbur...
Hereford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“House is totally unsuitable for wheelchair access”
Reviewed July 30, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I agree with other reviews about the location and tranquility of the Boathouse but rented it on the basis that it had wheel chair access and it does not. I travelled with and elderly terminally ill gentleman who want some peace and quite and to make a final visit to friends in north Wales. The path from the parking area to the house is slate chipings and rough rock and was virtually impossible to push a chair over. Luckily I had brought an electric chair that worked on rough ground.The main door has a high step so I had to use the portable ramps I brought to get the chair in and once inside I had to move heavy furniture around to allow access from the kitchen to the rest of the house. While you can push a wheelchair into the bathroom this is all you can do so the gentleman I look after had to use his zimmer frame to get to the toilet and basin. He had a minor fall in the bathroom on our 2nd night and a more serious fall the next night so we left on the Wednesday as it was not safe to stay. The lack of bedside tables in the downstairs bedrooms meant I had to use dinning chairs to let him have his glasses and a glass of water in reach. There were no instructions for the microwave or cooker and the local contacts did not know how these worked so cooking was problematic. The television had no remote for the digibox so the only way to change channels was to get down on my hands and knees and do it manually on the box itself, inconvenient for me but impossible for my companion. There is also an area of damp in one of the downstairs bedrooms which means there is a musty smell. On the plus side the owner did not quibble over my request for a refund.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 17, 2014
We were very sorry to hear of the problems encountered and immediately issued a refund in line with the guest's request. We would always encourage guests with special needs to contact us in advance to discuss, we will do our best to explain what is available and what is not, and to accommodate requests if we can. Instruction books for appliances have all been left in the drawers of the dresser; bedside tables are available in two of the three bedrooms, though not in the third; the TV digibox is fully working but is of a type that is not supplied with a remote. The small damp spot mentioned was not visible previously, it will be investigated at the end of the season, the house although having an ancient core, was completely rebuilt to modern building standards just 4 years ago and is fundamentally dry, solid and a pleasure to be in.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colpjon
Newport, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful solitude with so much to do”
Reviewed July 30, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Boathouse is beautifully located in a forest on the edge of a small lake, overlooking the Ffestiniog steam railway. Many scenic walks from the doorstep, yet within easy reach of the coast and the mountains of Snowdonia. House is spacious and very well equipped with quality fittings and utensils. Beds and sofas very comfortable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: generator noise - soon to be mains powered
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare F
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Beautiful”
Reviewed May 24, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Just had a week at The Boathouse. Setting is stunning. Remote, peaceful, beautiful. Magical ancient woodland walks. Superb lakes. Fantastic base for wild swimming, walks, mountain biking, running, seaside fun etc etc... the house was very warm, clean and well stocked with everything you need..except for a garlic press ;).. ( but I left one for future use ). Could do with a few cleaning products.. brush dustpan etc.. so you can do a good job of the tidying up. The midges were a bit of a nuisance but to be expected in that environment ... Will be booking again :)..

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: setting was perfect for us
Liked least: midges
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewed April 18, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location.
Liked least: Noisy generator ... but that was a temporary measure which will apparently be replaced soon
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 28, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The isolation. It really felt like staying in the middle of nowhere!
Liked least: The deposit being returned by cheque
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
femalegan...
west mids
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“clean, classy in a beautiful area with tawny owl at night”
Reviewed June 28, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

we returned last week after a lovely secuded break. The Boathouse is a lovely place to stay and as a previous reviewer noted it is bigger than the pictures make it appear. Arranging the holiday was a piece of cake, emails were responded to promptly.
It was easier to find than we anticipated and it is very secluded, I enjoyed not hearing rowdy revellers but tawny owls instead.
We had 2 days out on the steam trains we loved it so much, and it was within walking distance.We covered many of the trails and the viewpoint was lovely. we took my 73 yr old in-law and we even found the geocache up there !
It would be hard without a car if you were not fit or packed very lightly. I would love to go again but I'd choose a time when the midges are not around.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The seclusion
Liked least: the midges (june)
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sazeda B
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Idyllic settings for the perfect Cottage break :)”
Reviewed November 12, 2012 for a stay in November 2012

Set in an Idyllic location closeby a lake amidst lush autumn woodlands, this made the perfect weekend getaway!

The Cottage itself has a warm, cosy feel to it and is well equipped with fully functional contemporary kitchen, living space with tv, bathroom with walk-in shower, as well as an en suite shower/bath in the master bedroom on the upper level which was ideal.

There is a lake directly opposite the cottage and also a steam train line at a viewing distance making the whole area so picturesque. The walks around the surrounding area is pretty good too if your not travelling down to Snowdon as it boasts some pretty amazing views of the lakes looking down :D

I would recommend this place for couples, groups and families alike! From what I gather it is highly likely to be amazing all year round!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: No Hairdryer :(
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing