We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome summer day” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Yuzawa Kogen

Yuzawa Kogen
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level Contributor
121 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Awesome summer day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Escaped the heat by taking the gondola to the top of yuzawa kogen. Took the kids on the zip line adventure course. Everyone loved it. Small group, safety briefing in Japanese but easily understood instruction, sneakers you can borrow. Spent a good couple of hours zipping down the mountain side. Walking through the beautiful forest our guide showed us a tree full of woodpecker holes and another completely bent and buckled due to the annual 3m snow fall. Avoided the long lines for the toboggan, slow go karts and icecreams - get them from vending machine at bottom of gondola.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Mamapickels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    30
    18
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“snowboarding day”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

spent a day in Yuzawa Kogen and it was perfect... good powder, weather and food. The resort is small, so if you have several days I recommend you to go to other resorts in the following days. It is close and easy to go to different places/resorts in the Yuzawa region.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Oscar M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magelang, Indonesia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Our first skiing experience, awesome..!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

We came from a tropical coutry, so visiting Tokyo in winter without seeing the snow would be very disappointing for my kids. Yuzawa was a place near Tokyo where you can see and play in the snow. It was only 90 minutes ride with the shinkansen train. From the station, you could already see the snow around you. There was a free shuttle to the ski resort. They had everything, the ski set, the sleigh for the kids, and also many places to eat. We were having a wonderful time, my kids learnt their first skiing experience, playing in the snow, tried to make their first snow man ( that turned out to be not as easy as it looked), and having sleigh ride. Would love to come back there and spend one night in the neighborhood.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Travellermom0571
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
105 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Nice day out but..”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

We took the lift after a short walk from Futaba hotel. The botannical garden was suffering in the summer heat and did not offer us much interest. However, we did enjoy the sleigh ride down the mountain (Yen 300/adult) and there is slide that kept the kids interested for about 15min. There are also go karts but that seems bit expensive (Yen 500/lap of about a minute) although it also got a try. We ate at the Edelweis restaurant which has more Japanese menu than the Pizzeria next to the cable car. The food was surprisingly nice for what the place looks likes. Overall we spent about 4h on the mountain so its a good half a day expedition.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Xymyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawaii
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Shinkansen to see the snow”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2012

We were visiting from a warm country and the kids wanted to see snow. We used our JR pass to visit on the shinkansen. From the station, we walked about ten minutes through the snowy street and got on the ropeway to the top, where the kids played in the snow for about an hour. The view from the top was spectacular. The only flaw was the very loud Japanese pop music blasting over the white slopes. We ate miso ramen at a small restaurant next to the ropeway at the bottom of the hill, then walked a short distance to Komako-no-yu for a hot spring bath to warm up before taking the train home (there is also a hot spring bath inside the ropeway building but we wanted to walk). Being a weekday at the end of snow season, we had the ropeway, restaurant and bath almost to ourselves. It was a perfect day trip from Tokyo.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank OnsenFans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yuzawa Kogen also viewed

Yuzawa-machi, Minamiuonuma-gun
Yuzawa-machi, Minamiuonuma-gun
 
Yuzawa-machi, Minamiuonuma-gun
Yuzawa-machi, Minamiuonuma-gun
 

Been to Yuzawa Kogen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing