We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay. Echoes everything the others have said.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Sierra Resort Yuzawa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 10, 2014

We had one of our best vacations here. Charming hotel, amazing view, we've never used hotel lounges so much in other places, but the view and the deco was so amazing, we have our free apres ski hot chocolate and relaxed on the sofa everyday.
Dinner was included, 3 course French, was way beyond what I had expected, we cleaned every plate, and the portion was just right too. They put in the effort to provide smaller portions, with pizza, crispy potato balls
Another reviewer also mentioned the charming Michiyo Izumi san at the reception, took care of all our queries on email, spoke excellent English and made very sure we were taken care of in every way during our stay there.
We also booked an awesome ski instructor via the hotel. It is a small ski resort, our kids were first time skiers, the wide slopes, a massive powder when we were there made it super easy to learn. The kids even led the way and chose routes the remaining days since all slopes were essentially green runs and we do not have to worry about mistakenly going down a black. Sooo looking forward to going back, it was a really lovely resort, quite tiny and without the hustle and bustle of neighboring Gala.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kellyst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (114)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 114 reviews

Reviewed March 6, 2013

We (me,my husband and our 1 year old son) stayed in Sierra resort for three nights in February 2013. We loved this charming hotel! It is right on the slopes, so we could see lifts and people skiing and snowboarding right from our window. Included in the price is breakfast and french style dinner, which was very delicious every night. There is all-day free coffee and tea at the lobby and the view from the lobby is just magnificent!
We rented skis and boots from the hotel, they have quite good selection, although my husband with bigger foot size was limited in choice.
If you going with small kids like us, there is a nice kids ski park near the hotel with sledges, lift, etc and a warm little house with toys and even a bed!
Getting into account how easy it is to get to Iwappara from Tokyo, this hotel will definitely be our choice next time we are in Japan in winter!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irina01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Charming small hotel set on the slopes. Beautiful views from the dining room windows, small orchestra plays before each dinner sitting (5.30pm and 7pm). East/West breakfast buffet. Dinner is 5 course – Appetiser selection (e.g. Tea-smoked duck, fish/meat terrines, smoked salmon), soup, fish, meat, dessert selection. Also kid’s menu for U12. Exquisitely presented and really good quality – decent portions (unless you have a huge appetite). Skiing is relatively tame here but good enough for beginners or small children – or just a couple of days. All ski gear (including clothes) can be rented. Special mention to Michiyo Izumi (on the front desk) who was charming and very helpful, both in person and by email before our arrival. She speaks excellent English. Room was good space for 4 people. Note that the bathroom is ryokan-style i.e. like one of those moulded cubicles you get on an airplane – but with a bath/shower. Regular pickup/drop off by hotel shuttle bus to Shinkansen (Echigo Yuzawa station) – in order to get to the bus you need to negotiate a snowy slope and go through a tunnel under a ski slope so don’t arrive in stilettos (ha ha – as if you would be that stupid!) Free Wi-Fi access in the lounges. There is also an onsen (hot tub) if you like that sort of thing. I don’t so cannot review. Oh I nearly forgot … when you submit your voucher (obtained at the hotel) for a ski pass (from the kiosk at the foot of the slopes) – they give you a bar of chocolate too! What’s not to like about this place?!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

This was my first experience in Japan and I am very happy with it. While hotel is not new,it is very well maintained. The rooms are a bit smelly but other than that everything is perfect. We chose the package that comes with the dinner and it was great. The food is exceptional,quality is good and service is great.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank swdee_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We stayed for three nights just before Christmas. The hotel is very well positioned on the slope and so it is a very genuine ski-in and ski-out place. The hotel look after everything for you, from a pick-up at Echigo Yuzawa station, a porter to take all you luggage from the bus, lift tickets, ski rental, boot rental if necessary and even ski jacket and ski pants rental if you or your kids don't have your own stuff.

We had a four bed room to share with the kids. The room was amply spacious and warm most of the time but the bathroom is one of those rather cramped affairs you often encounter in Japan. Also, the room in general was not quite as smart as I had expected having seen the website photos. This is offset by a smart Japanese communal bath in the basement with a great view of the slopes via a large one-way window. There is also an outdoor bath but I did not brave the subzero temperatures to try it. Evening meals are French style and in two sittings each evening. There is a breakfast buffet with a very broad selection of Western style and Japanese food.

I found the staff extremely helpful (especially Michiyo with her fluent English) in everything from ski rental and related stuff to helping out with takkyubin service.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank genkhis_khan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

It is a great skiing place. Great for all ages. It has wonderful staff, dinners, breakfast and it has all the ski clothing you need. It has a great view of the ski runs as it is on one of the slopes. If you have any children then at dinner time, it is the best time for them as they can pick a present at the end according to their letter on the card. Sierra Resort is great because in the winter you can go skiing, and in the summer when all the snow has melted, it is great for pictures, scenery and hiking.

Room Tip: Room 342 is excellent because it has a very good view of the ski slopes and is very quiet even thoug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kitkat7574
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

They just painted and renovated some of the rooms.. the room smells of paint and glue...they even had three air filters in the room cos' the smell was that bad...so the question was WHY!! Would they put us up there? Very toxic rooms and we had to change rooms to a very average standard one as we could not stand the smell, and we were not compensated for our troubles...the manager of the hotel was not very accomodating or friendly...he needs to be better trained in the hospitality industry....their hospitality service was very poor. The other staff were friendly and trying to be helpful with our situation as they brought in two more filters for our room... but in the end we just had to move out of our room.This is a very Japanese hotel. Expect to get no service except for free shuttle bus but everything else you are basically on your own...outdoor onsen on the other hand was the only nice thing about this place. I also did not like that we had to walk 100 meters to get to our hotel from drop off shuttle bus point.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yuzawa-machi hotels
Echigoyuzawa Onsen
NASPA New Otani
NASPA New Otani
#2 of 93 in Yuzawa-machi
240 reviews
Echigoyuzawa Onsen
Hotel Angel Grandia Echigo Nakazato
Naeba Prince Hotel
#9 of 93 in Yuzawa-machi
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Echigoyuzawa Onsen
Yuzawa Grand Hotel
Yuzawa Grand Hotel
#5 of 93 in Yuzawa-machi
133 reviews
Echigoyuzawa Onsen
Shosenkaku Kagetsu
Shosenkaku Kagetsu
#6 of 93 in Yuzawa-machi
80 reviews
Echigoyuzawa Onsen
Yuzawa New Otani
Yuzawa New Otani
#7 of 93 in Yuzawa-machi
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sierra Resort Yuzawa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sierra Resort Yuzawa

Address: 731-1 Tsuchidaru | Iwappara Ski Area, Yuzawa-machi, Minamiuonuma-gun 949-6103, Niigata Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Chubu > Niigata Prefecture > Minamiuonuma-gun > Yuzawa-machi > Echigoyuzawa Onsen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 93 Hotels / Ryokan in Yuzawa-machi
Price Range: $171 - $713 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sierra Resort Yuzawa 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
How would you like to relax in our hotel with fresh air and a fantastic view of the mountains surrounding. Our 100% pure onsen (hot spring) is officially approved by research institution, that the water has effects for neuralgic, muscle pain, joint pain, pain shoulder and 10 more symptoms. We are sure that soaking in our onsen should take your tiredness away in no time. Our French full course dinner is made by our own chef, using local materials. Every room in our hotel has there own private bath (excluding cottage building since it is very close to the hot spring) and shower toilet. Especially for premium deluxe type there is a private bathtub in your balcony as well. And also for your convenience we have free WI-FI, free drink service at our lounge and shuttle bus from Echigo-Yuzawa station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Priceline and Rakuten so you can book your Hotel Sierra Resort Yuzawa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing