We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable hotel with excellent buffet”
Review of Hotel Taisetsu

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Taisetsu
Reviewed February 11, 2014

This hotel is really large and the tatami room we stayed in was huge. It was nice and warm with a view of white snow covering the mountains. We enjoyed our buffet lunch and dinner where the spread was Japanese food which was extremely delicious.
Wifi was available only at the lobby and there were comfortable lounge chairs for us to plonk ourselves.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank LL721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (211)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Taisetsu
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

24 - 30 of 211 reviews

Reviewed December 6, 2013

Rare are hotels that truly bans smoking but this one is for real and commendations to Hotel Taisetsu for imposing smoking ban throughout the hotel (smokers use a smoking cabin like in modern airports). Consequently, there was no lingering sickly tobacco smell in our hotel room and air conditioning system. For travellers in Japan who do not wish to endure second hand smoking or tobacco smell in your room or on your pillow, this hotel has attained a rare accomplishment.

Now for the food in the buffer, it was absolutely out of the world. Even though it is by no means an especially expensive or distinguished establishment (so far), it is highly recommended. A most pleasant surprise.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank morotateakira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

It was a great experience staying at the traditional onsen place especially after a day at Sounkyo during the mid Sep. There are 3 different baths whereby one can enjoy a quiet time there. However on the day we went it was raining so we didnt get to experience the outdoor bath. The buffet food was average with a large selection from the cold dishes crab to the cooked wagyu beef. Not fantastic but interesting.

The room was interesting as we get to try the futon bed. it was thicker then most so we had a much comfortable night here than in Noboribetsu. It's worth a try if you're in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cassakating
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

The hotel islocated at the very top of Asahiikawa, you can enjoy the great veiw from outdoor hot springs, and there are three different baths which are all impressive, you will never forget such wonderful hot spring experience. In addition, we had a great Japanese dinner at a Japanese-style-bar, delicious food, freindly service with very reasonable price. I definitely will visit there again for such great food. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simple92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We checked into Hotel Taisetsu Sounkyo on the 7th August for 1 night. Our tatami room faced the Daisetsuzan Ranges. The room furniture were a bit worn out and the cushion seats definitely required replacement. The toilet bowl, wash basin and bath tub were all squeezed side by side in 1 small little room.
Standard face and hair wash, together with tooth brushes were provided.
The Hotel had 3 blocks, a games arcade and 3 onsens. We used the one at the topmost floor with indoor and outdoor pool with jacuzzi. Then we went to take a look at another outdoor one and it was quite big. We were told that they had a third onsen in another block.
Dinner was kaiseki, but it was a jumbled up one (not fusion), with Japanese and Western or Italian foodstuffs. Taste were not right at all. But the small buffet of desserts were quite good though the spread was minimum.
Buffet breakfast was a disappointment, there were little choices. The croissants were not of Hotel standard and the corn soup was very watery thin. On the whole, the food in this hotel should be considered just touching average.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank centrisleng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

During my trip, I stayed at more than 10 hotel with onzen/bath house.
Taisetsu hotel is the worst. The food buffet did not reach the standard.
We barely eat dinner and breakfast because we could not believe the food is this bad (cold and nowhere near 'good taste').
The room was typical, nothing special but located far away from the dining hall.
The onzen wasn't all that, there are onzen with far better views.
I felt that it is very disappointing...
Don't waste your money and time here, choose other hotel, sincerely

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank julievong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

After an extremely cold day of traveling by bus in -17C degree weather, what a pleasure it was to get to Hotel Taisetsu. A very large but comfortable hotel with a very nice onsen bath. I especially liked the rotemburo(open air hot spring) at night where you look out into the snow. The cold air was nice against my face in the hot bath. The food in the buffet was very good and I was able to purchase a comfortable pair of shoes in the souvenir shop as my snow boots were a little uncomfortable and hurting my feet a bit. The hotel staff were nice and accommodating. I would gladly stay at Hotel Taisetsu again.

Room Tip: Non-smokers: Ask front desk staff for non-smoking rooms when you check in.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kekoa303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kamikawa-cho
Sounkyo Onsen
Sounkaku Grand Hotel
Sounkaku Grand Hotel
#7 of 8 in Kamikawa-cho
132 reviews
Sounkyo Onsen
Choyo Resort Hotel
Choyo Resort Hotel
#1 of 8 in Kamikawa-cho
288 reviews
Sounkyo Onsen
Sounkyo Choyotei
Sounkyo Choyotei
#4 of 8 in Kamikawa-cho
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sounkyo Onsen
Sounkyo Kanko Hotel
Sounkyo Kanko Hotel
#5 of 8 in Kamikawa-cho
158 reviews
Asahidake Onsen
La Vista Daisetsuzan
La Vista Daisetsuzan
#1 of 9 in Higashikawa-cho
286 reviews
Sounkyo Onsen
Mt. View Hotel
Mt. View Hotel
#3 of 8 in Kamikawa-cho
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Taisetsu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Taisetsu

Address: Sounkyo, Kamikawa-cho, Kamikawa-gun 078-1701 , Hokkaido
Location: Japan > Hokkaido > Kamikawa-gun > Kamikawa-cho > Sounkyo Onsen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels / Ryokan in Kamikawa-cho
Price Range: $146 - $406 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Taisetsu 3*
Number of rooms: 215
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), Rakuten, Priceline, JAPANiCAN, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Taisetsu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taisetsu Hotel Kamikawa Cho
Hotel Taisetsu Hokkaido, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing