We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional Onsen place”
Review of Hotel Taisetsu

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Taisetsu
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Traditional Onsen place”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

It was a great experience staying at the traditional onsen place especially after a day at Sounkyo during the mid Sep. There are 3 different baths whereby one can enjoy a quiet time there. However on the day we went it was raining so we didnt get to experience the outdoor bath. The buffet food was average with a large selection from the cold dishes crab to the cooked wagyu beef. Not fantastic but interesting.

The room was interesting as we get to try the futon bed. it was thicker then most so we had a much comfortable night here than in Noboribetsu. It's worth a try if you're in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cassakating
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    108
    41
    16
    6
See reviews for
87
51
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 22, 2013

The hotel islocated at the very top of Asahiikawa, you can enjoy the great veiw from outdoor hot springs, and there are three different baths which are all impressive, you will never forget such wonderful hot spring experience. In addition, we had a great Japanese dinner at a Japanese-style-bar, delicious food, freindly service with very reasonable price. I definitely will visit there again for such great food. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simple92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jurong, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We checked into Hotel Taisetsu Sounkyo on the 7th August for 1 night. Our tatami room faced the Daisetsuzan Ranges. The room furniture were a bit worn out and the cushion seats definitely required replacement. The toilet bowl, wash basin and bath tub were all squeezed side by side in 1 small little room.
Standard face and hair wash, together with tooth brushes were provided.
The Hotel had 3 blocks, a games arcade and 3 onsens. We used the one at the topmost floor with indoor and outdoor pool with jacuzzi. Then we went to take a look at another outdoor one and it was quite big. We were told that they had a third onsen in another block.
Dinner was kaiseki, but it was a jumbled up one (not fusion), with Japanese and Western or Italian foodstuffs. Taste were not right at all. But the small buffet of desserts were quite good though the spread was minimum.
Buffet breakfast was a disappointment, there were little choices. The croissants were not of Hotel standard and the corn soup was very watery thin. On the whole, the food in this hotel should be considered just touching average.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank centrisleng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

During my trip, I stayed at more than 10 hotel with onzen/bath house.
Taisetsu hotel is the worst. The food buffet did not reach the standard.
We barely eat dinner and breakfast because we could not believe the food is this bad (cold and nowhere near 'good taste').
The room was typical, nothing special but located far away from the dining hall.
The onzen wasn't all that, there are onzen with far better views.
I felt that it is very disappointing...
Don't waste your money and time here, choose other hotel, sincerely

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank julievong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kamikawa-cho hotels

Hilo, Hawaii
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

After an extremely cold day of traveling by bus in -17C degree weather, what a pleasure it was to get to Hotel Taisetsu. A very large but comfortable hotel with a very nice onsen bath. I especially liked the rotemburo(open air hot spring) at night where you look out into the snow. The cold air was nice against my face in the hot bath. The food in the buffet was very good and I was able to purchase a comfortable pair of shoes in the souvenir shop as my snow boots were a little uncomfortable and hurting my feet a bit. The hotel staff were nice and accommodating. I would gladly stay at Hotel Taisetsu again.

Room Tip: Non-smokers: Ask front desk staff for non-smoking rooms when you check in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kekoa303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Came across this lovely onsen hotel while driving through Sōunkyō, and decided to check if a room was available. While ordinary looking outside, it was a pleasant find indeed. We stayed in a newly-renovated room on the fifth floor - it was spacious, clean, and comfortable. There were some tidbits provided too. For 26,000 yen for 2 person, it comprised a night's accommodation with buffet dinner and breakfast.

There was a cultural performance where guests were invited to reenact the comic scene saw earlier. The guest was sporty and invited lots of laughter from the audience.

Overall, I would recommend this hotel for travellers passing by Sōunkyō.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

If you find yourself visiting Daisetsuzan National Park (大雪山国立公園) look up this large hotel. It is located in Sōunkyō (層雲峡) Gorge, site of the Kurodake Ropeway and the Sōunkyō Hyōbaku Festival. The festival is a celebration of ice sculptures and castles, lit up with colorful lights. Hotel Taisetsu is big - and can seem pretty impersonal especially when the big tour buses from all parts of Asia hit the hotel, flooding the onsen and dining halls with people. If you can afford the splurge, I definitely recommend the Yukihana suites on the 6th floor. You not only get a large set of Japanese style rooms with a private, beautiful onsen, you also get a private bathroom and shower, friendly, personal service, such as matcha tea and treats in your room, and wonderful multi-course dinners and breakfasts in a private room. There is a bunch of outdoor stuff available in the area, from snow-shoeing and skiing in the winter, to challenging hikes and biking in the summer. The staff is kind and friendly - the don't speak much english, but I got on just fine with the little bit of Japanese that I speak.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jonbsan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kamikawa-cho
Sounkyo Onsen
Sounkaku Grand Hotel
Sounkaku Grand Hotel
#6 of 8 in Kamikawa-cho
128 reviews
Sounkyo Onsen
Choyo Resort Hotel
Choyo Resort Hotel
#1 of 8 in Kamikawa-cho
276 reviews
Sounkyo Onsen
Sounkyo Choyotei
Sounkyo Choyotei
#3 of 8 in Kamikawa-cho
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sounkyo Onsen
Sounkyo Kanko Hotel
Sounkyo Kanko Hotel
#5 of 8 in Kamikawa-cho
151 reviews
Asahidake Onsen
La Vista Daisetsuzan
La Vista Daisetsuzan
#1 of 9 in Higashikawa-cho
276 reviews
Sounkyo Onsen
Mt. View Hotel
Mt. View Hotel
#4 of 8 in Kamikawa-cho
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Taisetsu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Taisetsu

Property: Hotel Taisetsu
Address: Sounkyo, Kamikawa-gun, Kamikawa-cho 078-1701 , Hokkaido
Location: Japan > Hokkaido > Kamikawa-gun > Kamikawa-cho > Sounkyo Onsen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels / Ryokan in Kamikawa-cho
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Taisetsu 3*
Number of rooms: 215
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, JAPANiCAN, Rakuten, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Taisetsu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taisetsu Hotel Kamikawa Cho
Hotel Taisetsu Hokkaido, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing