We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge room”
Review of Sounkyo Choyotei

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sounkyo Choyotei
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
140 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Huge room”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

This is the big room by any country's standard. We had the Western and Japanese room. Which means that you get the western bed and a traditional Japanese seating area. Looks like the seating area can be laid out for 2 more guests. The onsen is obviously the draw here. They are rotated for male and female on different days and time. I went to the one on the 7th floor with the view. There is also one that is outdoor (for men during that time slot). The onsen was large as well. We ate at the Japanese Buffet downstairs, the most forgettable meal that I had so far. I would point out that the bathroom did not have very good water pressure or even hot enough water for those that did not go for the onsen. Luckily I only needed a rinse after the hot onsen, or it would not have been a comfortable shower.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    103
    80
    20
    15
See reviews for
135
57
17
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
61 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We have stayed in numerous ryokans across Japan and this is by far the biggest one we have actually booked ourselves into. The room itself had a toilet/bath, a small living area, a western style sleeping area with 2 beds and a Japanese style area where you could basically dine and sleep (tatami-style). Very clean and well-maintained. Food-wise, our package included buffet breakfast and dinner. Although not superb (by ryokan standards), it provided enough selection to fill our tummies.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sgpoonch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pathum Thani, Thailand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Spend one night on a driving trip. Staff English is so so but good enough to checkin. We've got Japanese-Western room which have both standard bed and tatami area to sleep.

The Kaiseki dinner was great, fresh and good quality.

For onsen, there are out door and indoor on 7th floor which switch between male and female on 10pm so check hotel schedule if you plan to try the outdoor one.

The hotel may a bit touristy but the room and the environment around hotel is very scenic.

Room Tip: Try Western-Japanese room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KanokC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Sounkyo is very pretty, but the choice of hotel is very limited. This is the only one with acceptable price I could find. The hotel looks rundown, the room is small. Meals were fine, not great. Staff was okay. The person who checked us in spoke English reasonably well, others varied.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Muitou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyoto, Japan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

After missing our flight to Sapporo and arriving at Sounkyo by bus at about 8:30pm on a freezing cold, snowy evening, we were graciously given a free taxi ride by what I can only assume is the only cab in Sounkyo to the Choyotei. Checking in, the concierge knew exactly who I was without me even providing my name, had everything ready and took our bags for us while we were allowed to go have our provided dinner despite the ridiculous time we had arrived.

On the topic of food, the buffet service was excellent, and every night on arrival the staff would all shout warm welcomes in unison which was highly entertaining. There is a large selection of food, and it is all fairly good quality. At some point, the staff appeared to take a shine to us hapless and confused Westerners speaking pigeon-Japanese, and started providing us with a special "bonus" meal, which was different each night and, as far as we could tell, not provided to any other guests (I should note we never paid for this). I should also note however that some Westerners might find the breakfast buffet a bit daunting as there is little in the way of a "normal" breakfast. On our last day we were even provided with a bento box for our travel back to Honshu.

We had a Western style twin room (the twins are pushed together so it's effectively a hazardous double) which was utterly enormous compared to the rooms we were used to from our stays in various metropolitan centres. The bathroom wasn't even prefabricated (although the large shower was), although my only complaint would be that some days the water took a very long time to heat up.

Some areas of the hotel are in better condition than others, we found that the hallways were becoming almost derelict (stained carpets, cracked walls, lime green patchy paint). We couldn't actually work out if our room had been refurbished since the 70's, as it could have come a full circle of coolness. The elevator certainly hasn't been refurbished, and it's coolness factor is off the charts, with a bizarre patterned mirror wall effect and infinity ceiling.

The average age of guests at this hotel seems to be about 60, which made us feel a little out of place, and absolutely paranoid we were going to somehow do something offensive. The hotel itself seems to acknowledge this, and has nightly bingo for 500 yen.

I find it really hard to write anything negative about this hotel, but despite being excellent in almost every way, the hotel suffers from a major noise issue, and we had very poor quality of sleep as a result of noise emanating from the corridor. In some ways this hotel is a gateway to a parallel universe, as we found we were becoming resentful of the elderly guests going to bed late and making too much noise. The noise is such a problem that I am unsure if I could actually stay here again. On top of this, the smoking and non-smoking rooms are on the same floor and seem to share the same ventilation system between the toilets and bathroom, making both these rooms become thick with cigarette smoke over time.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the end of a corridor, this may reduce the potential noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Staff very friendly polite and have some English We are on our honeymoon and had lovely honeymoon congratulations card in our bedroom. We booked a Japanese bedroom-plenty of room-beautiful. Hot spa facilities incredible. Food amazing- so much food wonderful variety hot and cold Cannot believe we are here Lovely ambiance and wonderful culture So different to Ireland. We are the only westerners as Sounkyo very remote Beautiful scenery and very peaveful.

Helpful?
2 Thank meathbutterfly
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

This hotel is located in one of the most beautiful parts of Hokkaido and there are not a lot of other options in the nearby area. It is one of the starting points for hiking in the Daisetsu-zan National Park and is okay for a one night stay. The rooms we had was large. It was a twin room with a raised 6 mat tatami area and also futons in the cupboard if you prefer them to the beds. Although both the breakfast and dinner buffets included in the basic rate included a wide range of food, they were both average in quality with some of the 'hot' breakfast items bordering on stone cold. The staff in the massage salon were lovely but the front desk staff appeared only to be going through the motions. Only one room key was provided and when we asked for another one not only were we told it was not possible we were treated as if this was the strangest request they had come across. The onsen area was very large and clean and the baths hot. Take the rope way in the village to the mountain top for some stunning views and a nice walk.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gisabel69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kamikawa-cho hotels
Sounkyo Onsen
Sounkaku Grand Hotel
Sounkaku Grand Hotel
#6 of 8 in Kamikawa-cho
127 reviews
Sounkyo Onsen
Choyo Resort Hotel
Choyo Resort Hotel
#2 of 8 in Kamikawa-cho
270 reviews
Sounkyo Onsen
Hotel Taisetsu
Hotel Taisetsu
#1 of 8 in Kamikawa-cho
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sounkyo Onsen
Sounkyo Kanko Hotel
Sounkyo Kanko Hotel
#3 of 8 in Kamikawa-cho
151 reviews
Sounkyo Onsen
Mt. View Hotel
Mt. View Hotel
#5 of 8 in Kamikawa-cho
70 reviews
Sounkyo Onsen
Ginsenkaku
Ginsenkaku
#7 of 8 in Kamikawa-cho
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sounkyo Choyotei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sounkyo Choyotei

Property: Sounkyo Choyotei
Address: Sounkyo-onsen, Kamikawa-gun, Kamikawa-cho 078-1701, Hokkaido
Location: Japan > Hokkaido > Kamikawa-gun > Kamikawa-cho > Sounkyo Onsen
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels / Ryokan in Kamikawa-cho
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sounkyo Choyotei 3.5*
Number of rooms: 252
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), JAPANiCAN, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sounkyo Choyotei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sounkyo Choyotei Kamikawa Cho
Sounkyo Choyotei Hokkaido, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing