We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotels.com
Booking.com
eDreams
Vio.com
Destinia.com
StayForLong
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (358)
Filter reviews
358 results
Traveler rating
57
144
103
28
26
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
57
144
103
28
26
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
65 - 70 of 358 reviews
Reviewed September 6, 2012

This hotel is located in one of the most beautiful parts of Hokkaido and there are not a lot of other options in the nearby area. It is one of the starting points for hiking in the Daisetsu-zan National Park and is okay for a one night stay. The rooms we had was large. It was a twin room with a raised 6 mat tatami area and also futons in the cupboard if you prefer them to the beds. Although both the breakfast and dinner buffets included in the basic rate included a wide range of food, they were both average in quality with some of the 'hot' breakfast items bordering on stone cold. The staff in the massage salon were lovely but the front desk staff appeared only to be going through the motions. Only one room key was provided and when we asked for another one not only were we told it was not possible we were treated as if this was the strangest request they had come across. The onsen area was very large and clean and the baths hot. Take the rope way in the village to the mountain top for some stunning views and a nice walk.

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gisabel69
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Get the Japanese style rooms... They are larger apparently. We asked for a double room after seeing the Japanese room which came with 2 twin beds, and were given a smaller room, which also had 2 twin beds but put side-by-side. There was a lounge but because they used it for Bingo, my husband ended up sitting next to the vending machines having his beer from a can. Wifi only in the lobby, but that was facing a very nice zen garden. Nice enough onsen, the outdoor part had 4 tubs to it, 2 smaller ones and 2 decent-sized ones. I thought the waters in the outdoor tubs were not hot enough.

Date of stay: June 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank joyce l
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed June 19, 2012

The onsens are really nice - all 3 onsens are well designed and very enjoyable. The included meals are good standard. The staff service is just standard gold star Japanese style. My room - a Japanese style room pretty big and is equipped with all standard materials - green tea, kimono etc - really nice. With the meal and onsens in the price of the hotel, I find it very good value.

Date of stay: May 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank citizen_1903
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

My first trip to Hokkaido, Japan, and a great first introduction to the onsen culture.

The rooms were typical Japanese style, but had a combination of beds and a Japanese tatami style partition.

Good:
- Onsen, although no open air onsen available
- Picturesque. My kids saw a deer grazing in the garden during breakfast, and being city kids, they were naturally thrilled. Both our rooms had fantastic views of the mountains.
- Beds were nice and firm.
- The banquet we were served (we travelled on a group tour) was fantastic.

Poor:
- Smallish toilet, but this is to be expected since this is an Onsen hotel, so you are expected to do most of your washing up in the Onsen and use the bathroom for only.... you know :)

Date of stay: June 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kenneth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

I chose to stay Choyotei for one night at Sounkyo. It was a rather pleasant experience (though not my best ryokan/resort experience).

Location: This ryokan hotel was located near all the other ryokan hotels in sounkyo. It is very near to the Sounkyo ropeway station. Free parking was available.

Service: very good with staff that can speak some English. With some hand gestures, we managed to communicate. There are staff at the car park waiting to help with heavy luggage.

Room: I booked a modern Japanese-western room. The decoration is very nice and the room facilities are new. There are two comfortable western style beds with a small tatami area near the windows for you to enjoy your tea while viewing the scenery outside (not very impressive scenery actually). There is no internet access in the room. The air conditioner was in heater mode (despite being in June) and we could not change it. Fortunately, the windows could be open and there was netting preventing insects from flying into the room.

Hot spring: There are one in-door hot spring bath on the first floor and two hot spring bath areas on the 7th floor. I had used the bath on 7th floor which had big glass windows allowing you to view the scenery outside (really nice... Able to see the snow-capped mountains). There are many shower stalls available (more than 15), but the shampoo and shower foam available were not of good quality. Though the changing room was big, I could not find any hair dryer available unlike other onsen I have been to.

Others: there is a souvenir shop at level 1. Every night at 8.30 pm, there will be a bingo game which you can join in by purchasing a game card at 500 yen. The buffet dinner and breakfast were good with a wide spread. However, for breakfast, the place can be rather crowded.

Overall, it was a good experience. However, if I am to stay in Sounkyo again, I would probably try other hotels.

Room tip: Better to choose the modern rooms as they are newer. Also, it seems cheaper to book from the Japanese website than from their English website.
Date of stay: June 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveler66299724156
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews