We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Restaurant: hidden gem!”
Review of Bay View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bay View Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in San Carlos
Canada
Level Contributor
162 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Restaurant: hidden gem!”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We heard about this open air restaurant from friends, it truly is a hidden gem. It is located off the hwy & down a long dirt road inside the Bay View Resort. It is pleasantly located on the beach side, we had full view of the pacific ocean watching the tide come in. There are palapas over the tables at the shoreline making the settling lovely. Our waiter was very friendly and attentive, we had very good service. Meals were fresh, ample, and cooked just right. Calamari was excellent & don't forget to try the yucca fries. Bathrooms were very clean as was the resort. We would recommend this restaurant to our friends and would love to go back again soon.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BG&BMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    23
    22
    12
    16
See reviews for
30
36
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed March 1, 2013

After a horrific but very brief visit to Restaraunte y Cabanas Veraneras in Santa Clara, Panama (we actually found the first taxi out after 1 hour there due to the extremely unfriendly staff, very funky accommodations, dirty beach), we stumbled on the Bay View Hotel Resort in San Carlos, PN. Gracias a Dios!
For a 2-3 star, very mid-range hotel (apprx. $76/night for two people), the Bay View exceeded our expectations on almost every front.
We are seasoned & intrepid, typically mid-range budget, travelers and were just concluding our 3 month stay in Panama. We were looking for a decent, tranquil setting on the beach & not too far from PN City for our last 4 days in Panama to just relax, read, walk on the beach, etc. the Bay View was perfect. The rooms are simple, very clean, cold water only, satellite TV, air-con, free computer & wi-fi in restaurant only,with a nice pool, decent restaraunt, & a stunning beach front location. Another plus, the staff are uncommonly helpful & friendly. San Carlos itself is a cute, small Panamanian coastal pueblo about 1.5 hrs west of PN. City.

Room Tip: Our room #25 on the 2nd/top floor was fine. Quiet & convenient, possibly better than the first f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eva s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Very nice resort. Rooms are ok - in need of an upgrade. Food is good, service is good. They try their best to do what they can for you. Many local families having fun. Very little English but the Manager tries.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2307Susan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
263 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

We did not stay here, but we had drinks, dessert and breakfast here. The view is outstanding!
The owner, hector was very personable and helpful. The food was good, prices very reasonable! Lemon pie was soooooo good ! The hotel has a cute, funky vibe to it. I did not see the rooms.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sidney7474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Carlos, Panama
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Have visited many restaurants during the first visit to Panama. A new friend suggested dinner at Bay View restaurant. The table was shabby, view outstanding and food average. The lobster salad was $30.00 USD alone! Way too expensive, drinks were weak and tasted as though they did not use the quality brand requested. Expect big city US prices, not Panama prices. Waay disappointed.

Room Tip: avoid this place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Carlos hotels

Chesapeake, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

We were tired of staying at low budget places with nothing but a bed and walls, so we decided to check this place out and it was very nice. Certainly not a 5-star resort, but the beds were comfy, the food was great, and it had a very nice view on a point. Compared to many of the beaches on the central pacific coast, the beach was clean and the water was nice for swimming. There are some rocks in the water, but less than most of the beaches nearby. For the most part the restaurant service was very good, except there was one or two waitresses that acted as if you were keeping them from doing something else. Almost nobody spoke English, so keep that in mind if you don't hablas el espanol.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank billyskank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
Reviewed March 29, 2011

I went on trip to visit my extended family in Panama City and we found this place to stay for a few days on the beach. The hotel is right in front of the beach, the rooms affordable, food was diverse and the prices were reasonable. The rooms were clean and the staff service was good. This is not a very fancy hotel but it was comfortable for the price. Definitely will consider staying there on my next visit to Panama!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sury19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Carlos
9.4 mi away
Sheraton Bijao Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
Manglar Lodge
Manglar Lodge
#1 of 2 in San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
15.8 mi away
Hotel Riu Playa Blanca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.7 mi away
Hotel Playa Blanca Beach Resort
14.1 mi away
Royal Decameron Beach Resort, Golf & Casino
1.5 mi away
PSA RioMar
PSA RioMar
#2 of 10 in San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay View Hotel

Property: Bay View Hotel
Address: Calle 1A Norte | El Palmar Beach, San Carlos 1017, Panama (Formerly Bay View Resort)
Location: Panama > Panama Province > San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay View Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bay View Hotel; is a welcoming place, located in the bay of San Carlos, Panama. We are at the mouth of the River Matahogado and waterfront where the rising and setting of the sun and moon, it's a wonderful thing. * Trading for national and international tourism, since 2002. We have been the scene of major sporting events of scientific interest, located in the interior, the solar eclipse in 2005, visit astrologers, technicians Nikon and other companies from Japan,documented in our guestbook. * Living rooms, capacity 70 people. Air conditioning, wifi, podium and sound. Additional equipment projector, data / etc show. * Corporate events - Spend Days - Day use * Weddings and Fifteen-years * Adventures in beach - Volley Ball - Fishing day * Tours to tourist sites, located at 30 and 50 minutes away. Regards tourism... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Bay View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay View Hotel San Carlos
Bay View Hotel Panama/San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing