We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
San Carlos

“Terrible Service”
Review of Terrazas del Mar

Terrazas del Mar
Ranked #1 of 14 Restaurants in San Carlos
Price range: $15 - $95
Cuisines: French, International
Restaurant details
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had heard good things about this restaurant and decided to give it a try. We made a reservation for 6:30 and arrived at 6:25. The maitre d' told us to follow him to our table. He stopped before the courtyard and had a minute or so conversation with one of he servers while we stood waiting. After seated, we served quite quickly our drinks. Bread was delivered without butter. It didn't seem like we had an assigned server. The busboy was really the only one who came near us. My husband finished his wine and wanted to order another. We couldn't get anyone's attention to order another one so he just drank water. Both our waters were empty for most of the meal. When it came to dessert we waited 20 minutes before we could get the bus boys attention. He said "are you ready for your dessert?". My husband, who is typically a very patient man, was getting very annoyed.
At the end of the meal, I asked to speak to Chef Pasqual and the maitre d' and told them how unhappy we were feeling like a ghost for most of the dinner. They apologized but said they were very busy tonight. Despite being in San Carlos for the next 5 weeks we are likely NOT to go back to this restaurant.

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Liz T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (57)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 57 reviews

Reviewed December 3, 2019

Last night I had the pleasure to eat at this wonderful restaurant at the Vista Mar resort.On Monday they have a fixed price 3 course dinner. I had the lobster croquette for appetizer(absolutely delicious), Sea Bass served with fresh veggies and profiteroles for the finishing touch. Every thing I ate was beyond delicious. Chef Pascal has worked several continents, many countries and tons of cities. He brings a level of cuisine to our sleepy community that cannot be rivaled. BTW - i also includes a basket of bread, a glass of wine or a beer and finally delicious coffee. Total - 22USD.

Date of visit: December 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 70toma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2019

We have an apartment in the area of San Carlos, and have been to Las Terrazas a number of times, usually on weekends. Last night we went for dinner, and had very good pasta with seafood, and my husband had langostinos in salt, both were delicious. This is by far the best option in the area. The Chef Pascal always comes to the table to greet and advise, which is a plus.

Date of visit: April 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BB1938
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2019 via mobile

Nestled in the Vista Mar resort, Terrazas del Mar, managed by French Chef Pascal is a must, especially on Monday. The chef proposes a culinary discovery dinner from starters to desserts with 2 option in each category. At a cost of only 22$ including a glass of wine and coffee, it is a bargain to discover the restaurant. Also they propose once a month a special dinner with music and dance. To start the week , it is definitely a place to go on Monday night.

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank asungaia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2019

We went with several friends to celebrate my husband's birthday. There were several large parties and we were a party of 23. Service was excellent, even Pascal, the Chef, helped to serve. We went for the Monday night price fixed dinner. It is 22.00 p/p includes an appetizer, main meal, dessert and glass of wine or local beer. Under normal circumstances the dinner is served in the restaurant. Yesterday they set up tables and chairs outside, with a guitar player and just to make things more perfect, a full moon. We had been there as a group for Thanksgiving once and were worried that it may not be as good. It was! I highly recommend Terrazas del Mar.

Date of visit: February 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TravelingChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Terrazas del Mar also viewed

San Carlos, Panama Province
 
San Carlos, Panama Province
San Carlos, Panama Province
 
Playa Coronado, Cocle Province
Nueva Gorgona, Panama Province
 

Been to Terrazas del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing