We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Upscale B&B near El Palmar Beach”
Review of Manglar Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Manglar Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in San Carlos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Spacious & Clean - well priced hotel - Good Wi-Fi and pleasant staff.
A little difficult to find as a tourist - even more so at night- no signage off the main highway - you need to know of landmarks such as Carlito's Pizza - worth the effort. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HalBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (166)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 166 reviews

Reviewed November 20, 2013

We stayed in the Manglar Lodge two nights. The room was great and so was the food. Ivan was very helpful, answering many questions we had about the area, shopping and how to get around. We were using public transportation to get a feel for the country, Ivan was very helpful in this area.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tjo50511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights. The room is lovely and the AC very much appreciated. Being so close from the beach is great asset for a quick swim since there is no swimming pool (not really necessary). The food is really good but we think some meals could be les expensive.

We had a bathroom issue with the water dropping from the tap, but they fixed it right after we mentioned it.

We definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PascalOnTheBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

Great lodge at the end of the road. We spent time on the beach playing in the waves and watching the surfers. Current is pretty strong so beware. Beach has varying sizes of volcanic rock so it can be tricky getting to the ocean as you must walk through rocks. Breakfast was cooked to order and very good. Rooms have own balcony which was pleasant. Great accommodations. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Very beautiful setting. It is along a creek that empties into the ocean.
I thought we would hear the ocean waves from our room but could not.
Others go for surfing. We were checking real estate options out and relaxing.
Food is very good. Nothing disappointed. Always fresh.
Across the road is a beach front hotel with a pool. I went there daily.
The black sand is very hot. I did not like that.
Very impressive difference between high and low tide.
Owner friendly and concerned that your needs are met. Not one bit pushy.
There were two families with kids there when we stayed. All seemed happy.
Furnishings were nice but sparse. Custom pieces were not yet completed/delivered.
Wi-Fi worked well.
Owner is a fine photographer. Do check out his website.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BridgetRiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

The hotel is very nice. The food at the restaurant was good. The room is clean and cozy. The bathrooms are a good size. The bed is comfortable. The beach near by is great for looking for shells and has beautiful black sand. We don't surf but enjoyed just jumping in the waves and finding the best shells I have seen in years.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AR-BRAY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manglarlodge01, Owner at Manglar Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Thanks for staying in our place I am glad you enjoy your stay with us and the beach if Palmar which is a fun place

Thanks
Ivan M.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

If you like being on/near a great beach for finding bazillions of shells, THIS is the only beach in Panama we've seen so far that is off the hook amazing for this. We've now been to several other beaches and have yet to find anything remotely near as great as El Palmar/San Carlos beaches for picking up shells.

Manglar Lodge...awesome. GREAT breakfasts in the morning (we LOVE the giant fruit & yogurt parfaits in the morning for $5), everything we tried on the menu we liked, and the pricing was reasonable..portions are on the BIG side :)

Very friendly staff, nice clean rooms, good amount of space for the 4 of us...outdoor showers were used often while we were there. Super convenient location for the surf school next door also.

We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: The bigger room doesn't have a balcony like the others, but it was great for the 4 of us!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank newdad28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manglarlodge01, Owner at Manglar Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Thanks for your comments I glad you had a good time at manglar lodge and enjoy the beach of Palmar looking for shells which is just perfect here. There are a couple of times a year were you will find millions and millions of them

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Carlos
9.4 mi away
Sheraton Bijao Beach Resort - An All Inclusive Resort
15.3 mi away
Hotel Residencial El Valle
Hotel Residencial El Valle
#3 of 5 in El Valle de Anton
126 reviews
15.1 mi away
Los Mandarinos Boutique Spa & Hotel Restaurant
Los Mandarinos Boutique Spa & Ho...
#1 of 5 in El Valle de Anton
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 mi away
Hotel Riu Playa Blanca
15.6 mi away
Anton Valley Hotel
Anton Valley Hotel
#4 of 5 in El Valle de Anton
278 reviews
15.6 mi away
Hotel Playa Blanca Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manglar Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manglar Lodge

Address: Calle 1 Norte | El Palmar, San Carlos 1017, Panama
Location: Panama > Panama Province > San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in San Carlos
Price Range: $82 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Manglar Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you like nature and comfort, you'll enjoy your stay at Manglar Lodge. Located at El Palmar beach on the Pacific coast of the Republic of Panama, Manglar Lodge offers the visitor four cozy and clean rooms, WiFi, a lounge terrace and gardens where you can relax on the sun, read and watch birds and butterflies. Sometimes you can also see iguanas, squirrels and opossums. The high tides will bring you nice sunsets next to the mangrove and, depending on the river and swell conditions, you can also try surfing or bodyboarding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Manglar Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manglar Lodge Panama/San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing