We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place, nice People”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Manglar Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Manglar Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in San Carlos
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne Beach, Florida
1 review
“Nice place, nice People”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2011

Comfortable,close to the surf,owner very knowledgable about local surf conditions,wiil come back.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ridethatwave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    46
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
40
73
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Allegan, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2011

Our rating says it all. We could nott find one thing wrong with Manglar Lodge!
Our stay was very relaxing. The owner, Evan was very helpful and interesting
as was the manager/cook/ bartender. Although not located directly on the beach,
it is just a short walk away. Thanks to everyone at Manglar and Bay View for making
our visit special!
Snowbirds from Michigan!

Room Tip: Only 4 rooms,only one single bed, king room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeckerDrifters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2011

I love the Manglar Lodge! We were staying at the over-rated and over-priced Coronado Beach Resort (which is not at the beach) but came to San Carlos every day for the beach and surf. After 2 days of enjoying the area and the Bay View restaurant, we looked into their accommodations. The Manglar Lodge is a brand new 4 room hotel with thoughtful construction and all the modern comforts. The rooms are beautifully decorated and super clean. I have allergies and I normally sleep on a tempurpedic mattress. It's hard to find places to stay that don't aggravate my allergies (due to mold) or hurt to sleep on. I had no problems sleeping like a baby at the Manglar lodge. Imagine a posh high end hotel for the price of a local lodge. Ivan brings fantastic hospitality and went above and beyond to ensure we were comfortable and that all our needs were met. There is no better place to stay in San Carlos! We will definitely stay there again when we return!

P.S. The restaurant was not yet open when we were there but I know it will be fantastic. The food at the Bay View restaurant was the best around. We stopped eating anywhere else. Enjoy their house margaritas, ceviche and seafood specials. The greek salad was refreshing!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Love4surf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2011

Stayed for three nights and found this hotel to be fantastic! All four newely constructed rooms are spacious and modern. Difficult to find that in beach towns in Panama. Great value and courteous staff...Ivan, the owner, could not have been more helpful or accomodating. Restaurant was nearby and the water and mountain views were splendid! Balconies, pool and quiet sitting areas on the property all made this visit wonderful. Try it soon!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank skubie87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Carlos
9.4 mi away
Sheraton Bijao Beach Resort
15.8 mi away
Hotel Riu Playa Blanca
15.1 mi away
Los Mandarinos Boutique Spa & Hotel Restaurant
Los Mandarinos Boutique Spa & Ho...
#1 of 5 in El Valle de Anton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bay View Hotel
Bay View Hotel
#2 of 2 in San Carlos
3.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
1.5 mi away
PSA RioMar
PSA RioMar
#2 of 10 in San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
14.1 mi away
Royal Decameron Beach Resort, Golf & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manglar Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manglar Lodge

Property: Manglar Lodge
Address: Calle 1 Norte | El Palmar, San Carlos 1017, Panama
Location: Panama > Panama Province > San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Manglar Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you like nature and comfort, you'll enjoy your stay at Manglar Lodge. Located at El Palmar beach on the Pacific coast of the Republic of Panama, Manglar Lodge offers the visitor four cozy and clean rooms, WiFi, a lounge terrace and gardens where you can relax on the sun, read and watch birds and butterflies. Sometimes you can also see iguanas, squirrels and opossums. The high tides will bring you nice sunsets next to the mangrove and, depending on the river and swell conditions, you can also try surfing or bodyboarding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Manglar Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manglar Lodge Panama/San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing