We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing experience”
Review of Schloss Mittersill

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Schloss Mittersill
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Mittersill
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 21, 2012

In short: the best hotel I've ever been!
Now in detail: the hotel is in a real, medieval castle. The castle has been renovated, so it has all modern facilities, but still retains the look and feel of an ancient building. The room's furniture was beautiful and stylish, yet the bathroom was extremely clean and had modern look. Great attention had been paid to each detail, for example you get personal greetings in a room, during the breakfast you get a menu with current weather etc. Service was great and breakfasts delicious. During the breakfast some dishes, like eggs, are prepared on request, specially for you, with everything you want.
Considering the location of the hotel in a castle, itself placed in an amazing Alp Valley, with mazing looks from the windows, I find the price for the rooms quite fair.

Room Tip: Get a room with a landscape view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank milet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (200)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 200 reviews

Reviewed May 19, 2012

After stops in Bellagio, Sirmione, Verona, and Saltzberg, we were not expecting these to be upstaged by a castle restaurant in the Austrian Alps. But they were. We found this restaurant searching castles near Kufstein. The back roads through the Alps were winding, narrow, and dramatic. The castle itself is set on a hill overlooking the picturesque town of Mittersill. We parked, walked up the steep hill to the castle, and we're rewarded with a courtyard of beauty. The restaurant afforded inside formal seating, and outside tables with view over the valley to the snow capped Alps. We chose outside. The service was impeccable. The venison was absolutely delicious, the sauces delightful. We give this 5 stars, the best restaurant of our trip!

Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
3  Thank J Philip H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2012

Wonderful hotel, great service I was just a bit dissapointed when I saw the inside of the castle had been gutted and renovated, it doesn't look much like a castle in the hotel rooms but there is still a little history left to look at here and there :) I just love history and was hoping for a legit old castle. Food in restaurant was excellent! New furnurature in rooms, free wifi, AMAZING views of mountains and city!!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 days ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank CBMI16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Roland G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2017, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Familie-Offermann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled with family
Thank docmiamiweiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mittersill
0.7 mi away
Sporthotel Kogler
Sporthotel Kogler
#6 of 8 in Mittersill
52 reviews
2.8 mi away
Landhotel Gut Sonnberghof
Landhotel Gut Sonnberghof
#3 of 8 in Mittersill
51 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Braurup
Hotel Braurup
#5 of 8 in Mittersill
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Kempinski Hotel Das Tirol
3.1 mi away
Erholungshotel Kaltenhauser
Erholungshotel Kaltenhauser
#1 of 1 in Hollersbach im Pinzgau
32 reviews
11.6 mi away
Best Western Premier Kaiserhof Kitzbuehel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Schloss Mittersill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schloss Mittersill

Address: Thalbach 1, Mittersill 5730, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Mittersill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Mittersill
Price Range: $161 - $581 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Schloss Mittersill 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Schloss Mittersill, you can feel how the noble walls whisper their history of "castle life" to us and how the modern landlady still applies the best traditions from her noble predecessors with great passion - warm hospitality and striving always to offer guests more than they would even expect from a castle. Welcome to Tradition andHideawaysince 1150. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, seekda GmbH, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Schloss Mittersill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing