We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If it weren't for the Tour of Mont Blanc, no one would stay here”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Trient
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel de la Forclaz
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Trient
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“If it weren't for the Tour of Mont Blanc, no one would stay here”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

To describe as a hotel is an exaggeration- it is more like a hostal.Room did not have own shower/toilet though did have a sink. Didn't look like had been painted in 30 years with paint peeling in some places.

I thought be cause it had restaurant the food might actually be ok but was disappointing. They make a big deal of saying that they will come back and offer you seconds - necessary because first time round the "chicken" my wife got was a tiny chicken drumstick. Unprofessional waitresses as well who were playing with the food in front of guests.

Place has nice views and is conveniently located on the Tour of Mont Blanc, but there really is no reason to stay here - very poor value for money.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CiKe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    36
    34
    19
    17
See reviews for
19
41
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, England
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

We ate here during a summer tour of the area. The restaurant was very busy as it was the 15 August bank holiday. The restaurant is beautifully located on the Col de Forclaz offering stunning views of the surrounding alps. The main thing that hits you about this restaurant is the severe over-charging that goes on. I know this is Switzerland but this place tops the lot. We opted for cold roast beef with frites and salad and traditional Swiss staple and together with one espresso the bill came in at just over 60CHF - and this was one of the cheapest main courses. The food however was plentiful and of high quality. The other little trick that this establishment does is to charge 3% on top of your bill if you pay by credit / debit card - very sneaky! Why? The very simple answer is that this place is out to rip off tourists! Take my advice and drive over the border into France!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Wolvescyclist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Trient hotels

Various, UK, Aus, NZ, HK
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Hotel is located on a major road so gets significant tourist traffic as well as TmB walkers. As such it is often full and very hard to secure an ensuite room without booking months in advance. Our room was a basic room with no facilities but at least towels soap and Shampoo were provided. The bathroom down the hill was shared with a couple of
dormitories meaning that it was very crowded. Two toilets and two showers for approx 25 people with all being mixed so no chance to use the basins for a wash either.
the toilets ran out of paper overnight. As the first user of the shower l got a nice clean one- later arrivals were not so lucky!
BreaKfast was allocated. No buffet. One couissant, 2 slices bread and
one packet of biscuits per person plus jam, butter, cream cheese. Also small glass of juice and tea or coffee or Chocolate.
Dinner was good. Soup followed by chicken and veggies. Seconds of both were Available. finished With ice cream. Staff and owners were busy and brusquely efficient. Free wifi' which worked well.
It's expensive for what it is, but hey, this is switzerland. Everywhere is expensive!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fairhsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

This was the second night of a 4 day walk on the TMB. We stayed in a dormitory. The beds were not good. The evening meal was fine though. The staff were very pleasant and did their best. You just can't hide the fact that the hotel is way past its best. Another time I would stop for a drink on the way through, but I would look for accommodation elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David6543
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leyland, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We stayed here on our TMB. Its really difficult to explain why I have rated this poor. It is situated at the top of a road pass so is very busy with customers stopping off for a drink which adds to a nice atmosphere seated outside. The staff are really professional, friendly and service is good. However, the room was the worst of all the TMB, the bed was tiny, lumpy, old, felt as though it would collapse at any moment and the sheets were nylon! It was ensuite, the bathroom was new, a small pod that has been inserted into the corner of the room. The drain in the bathroom smelled. It did have a hairdryer. No TV. The dining experience was weird. They separated those in private rooms to the people in dorms. The dining room for the private room users was like a throw back from 1950, it was stuffy and they were trying too hard - they needed to relax a bit and get rid of the net curtains at the fantastic window that obscured a great view. Having said that, the food was OK with second helpings too. There is s souvenir shop across the road that also sells basic groceries, enough for our lunch the next day. there is also a bar/shack that seemed popular. I would stop here for a drink if passing, but would never stay again. Fantastic location.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
israel
2 reviews
Reviewed July 22, 2013

After traveling more then 30 years, I had first time typical bugs in my room waking me up
In the middle of the night.
The management wasn't surprised and didn't response as expected.
The location is good I visit the hotel as part of the trek tour the Mont
Udi

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank udi18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waco, Texas, United States
1 review
Reviewed July 13, 2013

A little bit of a hole. Lots (and I mean lots) of flies apparently from the dairy operation across the road. But even more disappointing was the manager who was at the front desk at check in. What a rude woman After telling us 3 times we must remove our boots before entering, she ignored our response each time that we had already done so. When I finally said "look at our sock feet", she said if I was going to be rude that we needed to go somewhere else. When I pointed out we were prepaid thru you, she said that did not matter and she could just keep our money. We finally did manage to get in but then had to fight the flies. There has to be better alternatives in trient or other places nearby.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trient
21.0 mi away
Chalet Hotel Gai Soleil
Chalet Hotel Gai Soleil
#1 of 5 in Les Contamines-Montjoie
105 reviews
18.4 mi away
Hotel Bouton d'Or
Hotel Bouton d'Or
#1 of 42 in Courmayeur
467 reviews
14.3 mi away
RockyPop Hotel
RockyPop Hotel
#1 of 14 in Les Houches
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Hotel Les Campanules
Hotel Les Campanules
#2 of 14 in Les Houches
415 reviews
11.3 mi away
Grand Hotel des Alpes
Grand Hotel des Alpes
#1 of 73 in Chamonix
394 reviews
0.4 mi away
Auberge Mont-Blanc Trient
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de la Forclaz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Forclaz

Property: Hotel de la Forclaz
Address: Forclaz, la 2, Trient 1929, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Trient
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Trient
Number of rooms: 15

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing