We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tasteless fish and chips”
Review of The Beach Hut

The Beach Hut
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Scenic view, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
39 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Tasteless fish and chips”
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Visited over the bank holiday weekend and have to say these were the worst fish and chips I have ever had. Tasted of nothing, might as well have been eating cardboard.
Im sure they do a roaring trade but I wont be repeating my custom, 4 x £5.50s worth of fish and chips (not that many chips either) went straight in the bin (

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank maidyment
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    49
    13
    3
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very slow service but nice food. Needs more staff”
Reviewed August 25, 2012 via mobile

Visited at lunch time so was a little busy but fancied a nice baguette sat by the sea. Ordered a egg Mayo & a cheese baguette which took over 10 minutes to make!!! I was stood waiting awkwardly in the way and to top it off once they were made they were left on the back shelf of the bar area until I asked for them?! I should have had chips from the chippy next door which was efficient and the chips were lovely what my daughter had. Needs more staff as the girl who served me was lovely but seemed to be trying to do it all herself.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank secretsquirrel74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cwmbran, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed August 14, 2012 via mobile

Came lunchtime on a busy summer holiday, plenty of customers.
Good menu even if a little bit on the expensive side.
Meal 1 - children's pizza and chips with salad, good value at £4.50
Meal 2 - adult pizza with bacon (they had run out of ham) and pineapple. £7.50
Meal 3 - jacket potato with roasted peppers and cheese.
The pizza base was pretty poor, a frozen and reheated offering, although the toppings were plentiful and tasty.
The jacket potato was microwaved, which for £7 was disappointing, the toppings and salad was lovely however.
The table was dirty and we had to ask to have it cleaned.
All in all an average meal, we would come again but would prefer The Patio Cafe nearby which just edges it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank themonty888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kidderminster, Worcestershire
Level Contributor
170 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Fish and Chips -Bang Tidy!”
Reviewed August 5, 2012

This place was recommended to us and did not disappoint. We both had haddock, chips and mushy peas. The fish melted in your mouth and the chips are the best we've eaten for a long time. Add bread and butter and a pot of tea and you're in paradise!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The place to eat out in Ceredigion”
Reviewed July 20, 2012

Our few days holiday staying near Llangrannog was enhanced by a delicious early evening meal here. Guessed it was going to be good after I was served a Pimms and lemonade loaded with orange and lemon slices and cucumber. At least five different salads ( beans, beet root, coleslaw. etc) came with husband's fish pie.. What a contrast to the often very average offering of varieties of lettuce leaves at many other places. So glad I chose the whitebait. Not only was it tasty, served with fresh bread and a small salad but it was very good value.
Lovely atmosphere with friendly good service and great value and right by the sea..what could be better?

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzegrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Beach Hut also viewed

Llangrannog, Ceredigion
Llangrannog, Ceredigion
 
Llangrannog, Ceredigion
Penbryn, Ceredigion
 
Llandysul, Ceredigion
 

Been to The Beach Hut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing