We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Royal Champagne Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Les Berceaux(Epernay)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (214)
Filter reviews
214 results
Traveler rating
93
60
26
28
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
93
60
26
28
7
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
85 - 90 of 214 reviews
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We only had one night to spare to run to Epernay to buy bubbles. This was a lovely hotel just outside Epernay. You need a car to get there and have a run around the countryside to get the best from the experience although it is doable by taxi. The room was nice and a mix of mainly modern and some old. Big sliding patio style windows meant we could catch a few rays from the comfort of our room (the rain was looming). Only problem was the temperature of water which was not hot. Apparently the room we were in is at the end of the pipe so has to be run for a long time to get the hot water through ......could do with fixing as it was annoying.

Great restaurant - we had the dinner bed and breakfast deal and the menu was fantastic. Top tip get to the restaurant early to get a window seat to look out over the vines. It fills up quickly
Really good wine list and I would recommend getting half bottle of bubbles then move to reds (depending on taste). Lots of lovely courses but make sure you save some room for the cheese and then the pudding ...........and wear some stretchy but smart clothes it was generous with all those courses. They did do a la carte as well a the set menus.
Its the sort of place that you dress up a bit as the decor and staff are a bit more French formal - we dont mind that and the staff do respond to have a bit of a chat.

We had a lovely brekkie - and yes you could have champers as part of the buffet......sadly we were off on the road so didnt want it!!

Room Tip: They are buidling a spa and pool so that will be great in the future. The really posh elaborate rooms are in the main house and cost a lot more but if you are being very 'push the boat out' they look fabulous.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SianNorthYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed four nights at the royal champagne as part of a DuVine cycling trip in Champagne, first week of September. All rooms look out through wide windows over the champagne-vined valley into the beautiful Marne Valley and Epernay. The food is superb at the hotel, as are the services.

This is a terrific, romantic getaway hotel.

Room Tip: ask for a room closer to, but not in, the main hotel building
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fitzes18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Conflicting reports on here, but... We had an good visit with fine service. I have stayed here a couple of times before. This time we were guests of one of the large champagne houses. I am not sure if that made a difference. Very satisfactory balcony rooms and an excellent dinner, very good foie gras, nice cheese. My favourite Champagne, Krug, was not on their list but there are plenty of others. I have to return to Epernay in december and will probably stay elsewhere just for varieties sake rather than any fault with the Royal Champagne. Yes, overpriced. 29 euros for a buffet breakfast is about the same as i paid in the Dorchester for the best breakfast in the world about 3 weeks ago. They definitely want capital city money!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dogontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Back to this lively venue for first time in nearly 10 years so first chance to see the changes since new owners took over.

This is the end of a trip around France staying at Relais chateaux in Loire, Bordeaux, burgundy and a week on canal du midi.

I also had a challenge to get their wi-fi to work but was straight forward after they explained they have a prepassword to get into their network. It took 5 mins to sort not hours.

I cannot recommend enough Orange's prepaid wifi dongle to avoid data roaming by buying locally called Internet for holidays or coffers pret a surfer Internet pour les vacances. This means good wifi even on boat in canal du midi.

Bon vacances

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Adrian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

this was in deed a rip off - I have stayed here numerous times over the years but never have we been charged so much for so little .
The dinner was so expensive and the portions very small - having been told that one party could not eat wheat - no attempt was made to substitute the tapioca risotto - the lobster was a half of a small one - the cod was the size of a fish finger with a little sauce and that alone was 48euros . Water was well overpriced and they did not serve tap water despite a request . 20 euros for a pot of tea with a tea bag! wecouldnt be shewn to our room because the one girl on reception just kept taking phone calls one after the other -

Room Tip: dont eat here
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anna_arthur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews