We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great old style B & B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Oakfield Lodge Guest House
Ranked #1 of 1 Marple B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 7, 2012

A old house from the era when B & B was king! comfortable with old fitting(taps in bathrooms) Old in as OLD but not antique,I liked this it had Character.Breakfast was excellent and the price just right.Dont expect luxury here,but quirky and clean.Just round the corner is an excellent indian restaurant The Purple Pakora,unfortunatly it was fully booked,however i can recommend the Midland pub a little further down the hill.Will stay again on my next trip to this area.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lloyd C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (93)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 93 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2012

I stayed at Oakfield Lodge for 4 nights in June 2012. A beautiful house set in magnificent grounds. Here you'll find rabbits, squirrels and badgers without leaving the front gate. Decor is traditional and very warm and inviting. Breakfast was plentiful and graciously served. I had a room on the top floor with views to die for, overlooking a large garden with picnic tables, children's play area and toys (kiddie bikes) etc.

The atmosphere is efficient but laid back and relaxing. I had no car but that didn't matter.
Buses run from the front of the hotel in a continuous circuit into Stockport (no. 383) or 384 going in the opposite direction (from other side of the road) to the same place. Hop off at Rose Hill Station for the Train to Manchester, it takes less than half an hour.

Such was my enjoyment that I hope to stay again at Oakfields in the near future.

Room Tip: Not all rooms are en suite, but bathrooms are on the same floor and adequate in number for the numbe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellite69_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

Generally this place is like Bates motel. It needs money spending on it. I stayed there with my husband and daughter in what was described as a 'family room' basically it was a dark room with outrageously outdated decor and 3 single beds. The beds had seen better days , soft and noisy. We had 1 towel for 3 of us and the tea and coffee facilities included 1 tiny milk portion. Breakfast ' continental selection ' was cheap cereals and a bowl of mouldy fruit. It was so bad it was funny - we won't be returning

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank J9thebeauty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2012

My Wife and I had cause to go to Marple Bridge for the Night. We were booked into Oakfield Lodge by a 3rd party and very pleased with what we found. The House is a lovely example from the era. Stunning hall and staircase Lovely homely feel to the Dining room with great views over the valley. Our Room was absolutely Spotless with a very Comfortable Bed. The Poached Eggs at Breakfast were "ALMOST" as good as my Wife cooks!!!!
Great Stay with lovely Hosts.

Room Tip: Would ask for a Room at the Back , for that lovely view. "A Hook on the Door" would "...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PaulOrmeCourt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2011

Me and my wife stayed here for the night in a double room on the top fall with a sharred bathroom. Its old and quaint with great views. It was very clean and good food. There is no luxurious but its well worth the money. Its got a nice homely feel.

The owner is old and lacking a little social skills but dont let this put you off this place because its a great place to stay we will come back.

Room Tip: Choose en suit if you dont want to share bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2011

We stayed at Oakfield as we were going to a wedding at Peruga at Woodheys (lovely food by the way).
Oakfield is a nice wood panelled Victorian home converted to a B&B. Great location and plenty of parking.
Our room was on the top floor, not en-suite which was fine as we were only there for a short time and wanted to save costs. Room clean and had fabulous views through the stained glass windows. Sink in room with TV, wardrobe and towels etc. Single glazed but it wasn't cold (stayed in early Nov)
A toilet and bathroom with loo were across the corridor and as I think we were the only ones on the top floor this was fine. Both clean.
Breakfast was fine in a cosy B&B style room on the ground floor, again very nice views.
We liked the hotel for the cosy feel, good value and views!
Only dis-like was the very annoying church bells which go on for TEN minutes on a Sunday morning - not great at 8am after you've been to a wedding!

Room Tip: Rooms at rear have great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CharlieP76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2011

average B&B really, bit like what you have in your mind's eye of a British B&B.
Great views from the rear.

Bed very creaky, if you were getting up to anything I think the whole house would hear it.

Bathroom door has a glass penal, which lets light in to the main room through the bathroom window, which does have a blind, but only fitted below the opening section, thus resulting in daylight waking you at at 7am.

Also, the rooms are only single glazed and the openings very loose fitting so I should imagine very draughty and cold in wintertime.

Breakfast was your bog standard full english or a continental option.

As I said in the title, ok for a stopover as it was the nearest place to a family party at a pub nearby, but i wouldn't purposely seek this place out for a stay

Room Tip: go for an en suite to the rear because of the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anthony2312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marple
3.0 mi away
Bredbury Hall Hotel
Bredbury Hall Hotel
#9 of 15 in Stockport
1,012 reviews
3.7 mi away
Alma Lodge Hotel
Alma Lodge Hotel
#6 of 15 in Stockport
525 reviews
4.9 mi away
Wycliffe Hotel
Wycliffe Hotel
#5 of 15 in Stockport
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Trivelles Mayfair
Trivelles Mayfair
#11 of 15 in Stockport
99 reviews
5.2 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge Stockport, Heaton Chapel
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stockport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oakfield Lodge Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakfield Lodge Guest House

Address: 38 Arkwright Road, Marple, Stockport SK6 7DB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Stockport > Marple
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Marple
Price Range: $48 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Oakfield Lodge Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Oakfield Lodge Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oakfield Lodge Guest House Marple, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing