We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely chalet”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chalets L'Ours Brun
Ranked #15 of 17 Hotels in Les Arcs
London
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Lovely chalet”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

So this is a big building, divided up into smaller apartment style chalets. The rooms aren't very large, but if you're a keen snowboarder or skier you won't be around much during the day anyway so that's not really a big deal!

The chalet staff were fantastic, it was great to come back to tea and cake every day, and the fire was always lit for dinner in the evening. Food was not five star cuisine, but tasty nonetheless and plenty enough of it to keep you fuelled for the day.

The downside for me as a not-very-proficient snowboarder was that it was quite a walk to get to the cable car lift, otherwise it was the bus to other parts of the resort, which took a while.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    18
    7
    3
    3
See reviews for
14
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed here last Jan as a group of 12 and it was one of the best trips we have had. The chalet is more of an apartment in a block but well appointed. All 6 rooms were ensuite so no issue around queuing. The appartment is all on one floor with rooms leading off the living area and kitchen, as we were sole occupancy we respected each others sleep, it could be noisy otherwise. Food was great with the usual 3 course options plus canapes or mulled wine each evening, I guess this is down to the host though.

Under the chalets is a hire shop with some great staff, my wife tried boarding and then went back to skiing with no complaints, they also helped her get the perfect fit boots.

Les Arcs 2000 is a great resort with easy links to 1950 BUT if it snows your stuck as the busses and cross mountain lifts were shut for the day so there was no access to the tree lined slopes of 1800/1600, we were stuck in a white out with no access to lower slopes and not much too do other than drink, there are some good bars in 2000 though.

The next day was heaven as we had a bluebird day with up to 3ft of fresh powder, waiting for them to dig out the lifts was agonising but once you got up top it was AMAZING, be careful one of our party came to a stop in the bottom of the bowl under the arcabulle lift and it took 45 mins to pull himself out, we monitored his progress as we kept going back up.

Room Tip: Get the ones off the kitchen if you go to sleep early
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 24, 2012

We stayed in Chalet L'ours Andin and found the whole trip great! The bedrooms rooms are quite small but very comfortable and more than big enough for the amount of time you spend in your room. The en suite bathrooms and balcony in most rooms are good.

The lifts are 5 mins away and there is a ski hire shop on the ground floor.

The ski cupboard is a bit small that some people complained about but not sure why people want a huge walk in ski cupboard!

We found the food to be of a reasonably high standard, always plenty of it and not at all bad. If people are expecting 3 Michelin stars they'll be disappointed as 1 couple in our Chalet expected!

Our chalet host Tom was great, very informative and helpful and always looking to offer advice.

Would definitely go back!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick186306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2012

We stayed in the Andin chalet and had a wonderful time. Our chalet host Tom was fantastic and he looked after our every need. He was slow and methodical but it suited us not to be rushed for our evening meal and the quality of food was excellent. He was popular with all the guests and he could do no wrong he was such a pleasant young man. Our room was small but very comfortable and warm but it could have done with a few hooks to hang our ski gear on. The bath at the end of a very challenging day was always appreciated.The rooms were configured around the dinning area which made for great socialising but would tend to be a bit noisy if anyone wanted to go to bed early. Having said this we all made good friends and enjoyed one anothers company to the full. The swimming pool was a luxury and the water warm for those that enjoy a swim. I was surprised that there was work downstairs which needed attention and felt that this could have been achieved pre season. The bootroom was incredibly small and our chalet of ten people had to sqeeze our skiis into this small cupboard which was nother challenge at the end of the ski day. However I am being a little picky and we did have a wonderous time with Ski Total and are now totally sold on chalet ski holidays.

Room Tip: Choose one with a balcony and away from the dining area
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lawrence G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh on sea, Essex
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2010

Travelling with Neilson Chalets L'Ours, and the staff (Colin, Dan & Jack), made our holiday into an very good experience.
Being a 1st time chalet board customer, I was wondering what I’d get for the extra money, but my experience of this chalet & staff has shown me the light, and will never be going back to self catering.
The staff were really friendly, and offered the highest standards of service. Colin looked after all the guest really well as chalet host. Dan cooked 5 out of 6 days, breakfast was always well presented in a continental style, with a few cooked options through the week.
Dinner was always on time, and served with unlimited bottled white & red wine. The quality of the meals provided was of the highest standard every night, it was as if I had ordered food from a top end London restaurant!! The food was so good that guest were asking for the recipes on a day to day basis!
The only down side was the size of the bedrooms, but was as expected from French chalets; though as so little time was spent in the room it didn't really bother me.
The facilities of the chalets we're pretty good swimming pool and sauna were a nice way to relax after a day on the slopes, but were a 3 min walk through the indoor car park to get their. 5-6 pm are times to avoid as the pool becomes full of kids and the sauna gets busy.
Located a 2 min walk from the nursery slope and 1 minute walk from après ski Chalets L'Ours was ideally situated. Though the main square and ski hire was a loner walk using the towns lifts (elevators)
All in all a thoroughly nice trip, with great food and service

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjc12390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2009

My wife and I (both 32 living in London) have just returned from a great ski tip staying in Chalet de lours 1 in Les Arcs 2000. Firstly there is no difference between l'ours 1 and 2. Both are situated on the 4th floor of a building containing several self contained chalets. Each hold 14 and comprise of a double/twin bed(s), a shared balcony (between two rooms) and a reasonably sized communal area. One room in the chalet had its bathroom located via an adjacent door. Not perfect as you need to pop a tee-shirt on each visit, but no big deal and you don't pass other rooms on the way. The rooms, as normal it seems, are compact but adequate. It is just a sleeping space after all. The Nielsen staff and rep were spot on. We had one nasty accident to a member of l'ours 2 and they pulled out all the stops (it seems to me) to make sure the best care was offered. The rep (Simon) also provides tours to the neighbouring areas for those looking to get the maximum out of their days skiing and hosts are always available for questions and are able to supply unreliable weather updates at any time:).

Food - I think the guys are on a tight budget and do pretty well with what they have available. As usual, 3 courses, wine etc. Was always full at the end but I wont be touching cheese again until at least June. Breakfast set you up the morning but don't expect a full fry up.

The location is the chalet's main asset. It has it's own locker room so you save a few quid and the piste is 100m away. You will be skiing within 10 minutes of leaving your room. Upon your return, you'll pass 3 pubs offering happy hour to ease the sting of the Euro exchange rate.

Les Arc 2000 is a bit disjointed and is really split over a couple of levels (accessed via lift should you wish). It does however have all you need and with a short cable car running to 1950 until 11pm. You also have access to the prettiest resort in the region without the cost of staying there. We ate and drank there at our leisure in 1950. Having skied to all the areas (1600, 1800 and Le Plangne), 2000 would be my preferred choice. As a bonus, you get the high altitude and more of the white stuff in resort should you be a photo fanatic.

Lastly the skiing. paradeski (spelling?) is right up there with the areas I've managed to visit. It is vast, the pistes are in good nick but it feels busy. I think we did hit the Paris half term break though. Some of the lifts are a little slow, but if the weather is good, who's rushing? If you are an intermediate, then this is the place to go. You can access the whole area due to the abundance of blues and reds. If you're a more accomplished skier, then again 2000 is the place to stay as it offers quick access to the highest point and a more varied range of blacks. If I had to put one downer on things, it's that the transfer seems to be around 4 hours regardless of which airport you choose....and so as not to finish on that downer, I'll sign of by saying we really did have a great week and thanks to the Nielsen guys.

Hope it's of some use and in Simon's (rep) cheesy words, "relax as hard as you like".

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank phinoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Les Arcs hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Taj-I Mah
Hotel Taj-I Mah
#2 of 17 in Les Arcs
142 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chalet Altitude
Chalet Altitude
#12 of 17 in Les Arcs
88 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Residence Le Belmont
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Premium Residence Arc 1950 Le Village
0.0 mi away
Hotel L'Aiguille Grive
Hotel L'Aiguille Grive
#1 of 17 in Les Arcs
197 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel du Golf
Hotel du Golf
#8 of 17 in Les Arcs
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalets L'Ours Brun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalets L'Ours Brun

Property: Chalets L'Ours Brun
Address: Centre Station | Arc 2000, 73700 Les Arcs, Bourg Saint Maurice, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Bourg Saint Maurice > Les Arcs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Les Arcs
#9 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Les Arcs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Chalets L'Ours Brun 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chalet L'Ours Brun, in this excellent residence, which offers the finest chalet apartments anywhere in Arc 2000 is furnished and fitted in a high quality, comfortable style. The chalet has satellite TV and a fireplaceAll Total guests have free use of the indoor swimming-pool in the adjacent Altitude Residence.Access to the slopes could not be simpler, with the pistes and nearest ski-lift just 250m from the residence's front door, for swift and easy access to and from the slopes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Chalets L'Ours Brun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chalets l`Ours Brun Hotel Les Arcs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing