We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Savour the Savoie”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Radisson Blu Resort, Arc 1950
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Les Arcs
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Dunblane, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Savour the Savoie”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

By my counting, this was the 4th time we have flown to Chambery and only the 2nd time we've managed to land there. The previous times we have been diverted to Lyon and Grenoble and this attempt boded no better as we sat on the runway at Edinburgh waiting for a slot at an allegedly fog affected Chambery. We landed 2.5 hours late, waited a further 30 minutes on the aircraft for a bus, then waited 30 minutes to get off the bus, then waited outside for an hour as the single immigration 'official' tried to deal with a plane load of Russians. This is a truly dreadful little airport.

Thankfully we had arranged a private transfer who sped us to Les Arcs by way of a large supermarket. Nevertheless we still arrived over 4 hours later than our anticipated ETA. Our driver was somewhat confused by the layout of Arcs 1950 and he tipped us out at the Manoir Savoie, where we eventually found reception and were told that we were to check in at Auberge - just across the street. We explained that we had lots of baggage and they arranged promptly for the Auberge concierge to come and get us and guide us through the maze of underground parking to Auberge reception - where again we had to negotiate throngs of our friends from Moscow. By this time our patience and holiday excitement had disappeared and we searched for our apartment in Source de Marie -yet another block. As we stood outside the door we all just hoped that the accommodation would be nice given the tribulations of the day.....thankfully it was wonderful.

We had booked a large 2 bedroomed apartment, and it was superb. The apartment was on the top floor with vaulted ceilings, 2 large double bedrooms, both with en-suite bathrooms, a large open plan dining, lounge, kitchen area, a large balcony and a superb log burning fire. Joy! We were so surprised as this is easily the most spacious ski accommodation that we have ever had. There was plenty of storage and the kitchen although small was well equipped and efficient. The HDTV was a great surprise also, especially as it had BBC and ITV channels - great when you wanted to veg out after a day's skiing.

The hotel is in a superb location in 1950. So close to everything and genuinely ski in / out. Nothing is more than a 2 minute walk - the small supermarket, ski hire, the baker, restaurants and cafes. The ski hire shop is another story as it seems to be run by the same people who run the airport - chaotic and under manned.

Having filled up on provisions en route, we had breakfast in the apartment and also ate dinner there on 3 occasions. The local supermarket, although small is really good and has excellent selections as has the bakery. We also ate out at Hemmingway's, The pizza place, the creperie and the truly excellent Savoyard restaurant. They were all great value, however they all seemed undermanned and unable to cope at peak times. We actually walked out of one other place at lunchtime as we were never going to get served.

The service at Source de Marie was excellent. The concierge made a fire up for us on a couple of evenings and small requests were attended to quickly. The staff were efficient, helpful and attentive at all times.

We used the outdoor swimming pool twice and it helped being hardy Scots. The steam rising from the pool was somewhat misleading as it was certainly no warmer than a municipal pool and consequently much too cool for an outdoor 'luxury'. It was however great fun to be outside in the pool as the snow teemed down. The sauna and Hamam rooms were very good but were very much monopolised by our Russian friends who seemed to spend most of their time either there or shopping. The boot room was absolutely fine and of a decent size and well located. Unfortunately these tight spaces require a bit of etiquette which some guests lacked in lorry loads.

Any down sides? The pool was too cold and the jacuzzi was even colder. The rooms in our apartment were huge but the furniture was rather sparse. A nice big lounging sofa would have been lovely. The grouping of the buildings and levels was quite confusing for a few days. There were also some slightly uncooth guests who would leave refuse bags in the corridors and barge around the place in fur and sequins slamming doors in your face with a complete lack of class. It does seem that 1950 does attract more of this than other parts of Les Arcs.

Altogether however, we thought that our experience at Les Arcs 1950 was wonderful. The accommodation was very much the icing on the cake for a superb new year skiing holiday.

Room Tip: Room 464 in Source de Marie.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Equality_7-2521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas M, Resort Manager at Radisson Blu Resort, Arc 1950, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for having posted such a positive comment about your stay at Radisson Blu Resort, Arc 1950.

I am glad you enjoyed your holidays in our resort and sincerely hope we will have the chance to welcome you back in Arc 1950. We well noticed your comments about our pools, jacuzzi and apartment fourniture to exceed your expectations upon your next visit.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

718 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    362
    272
    60
    15
    9
See reviews for
466
102
3
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We stayed over Christmas and it was magical. The Atmosphere in the village is fabulous and the staff were all friendly and helpful. We had an Apartment in Jerome Auberge and it was immaculate- big open plan living/dining room/kitchen and good sized bedrooms and bathrooms (rooms in the roof were a bit dark!)We had a few small issues but these were just teething problems as it was the start of the season and all were rectified immediately.
The Spar is excellent and the staff behind the pizza counter were excellent and made us a beautiful spag bol!

The Gondalor to 2000 is easy to use and we went to eat at a resturant called Kilamongaro a couple of times- excellent atmosphere. The Irish bar in 1950 is also a must. We went to the Spa also and the facilities are excellent and again all modern and very clean.

Skiing was fab! there isnt too much for beginners however- i would recommend a couple of lessons for people who havent skied before- easy to book and the instructors were very friendly.

Overall a magical experience had by all 6 of us we would definately reccommend this accommodation- stuuning views in 2000 too.

Room Tip: Room 606 in Jerome Auberge was directly over the village square so perfect for watching all of the a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DibbersCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas M, Resort Manager at Radisson Blu Resort, Arc 1950, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, we always welcome feedback to ensure we are providing the best quality of service for all our guests.

We are glad you appreciated your apartment and the atmosphere in Arc 1950 and hope to welcome you back shortly.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Large, comfortable apartment,by French standards, Excellent ski-in ski-out location and superb convenience for everything.
Very pleasant, helpful staff at front desk.
Small supermarket and very good bakery in the village as well as various restaurants and one or two gift shops, but, they are a tad expensive. As a purpose built resort, it fills all your needs.
Underground car park very expensive and no other alternative on site.
Would definitely like to return.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SygunFawr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas M, Resort Manager at Radisson Blu Resort, Arc 1950, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your taking the time to post a notice on Tripadvisor regarding your recent stay with us.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to thank you for choosing the Radisson Blu Resort, Arc 1950 and I am happy to see that you have enjoyed your stay in our residences.

Hoping to have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon,

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

We stayed in Manoir de Savoie on this purpose-built complex. While skiing is the raison d'etre for the hotel, we wanted RnR with alpine air and boy did it deliver. Apartment 365 has the best view we have ever had, both from the comfortable master bedroom and the wrap around balcony, with the huge pine tree valley giving way to a stunning view of Mount Blanc. The majesty of the mountains provided peace and was the perfect antidote to modern urban life. Kitchen very well equipped and living quarters tastefully decorated. Good standard hotel facilities with apartment independence.The easily accessed pool (outdoor and heated), steam room and sauna were quiet and just right for our needs. Arc 1950 reminded us of the Truman Show but,hey, it works.

Room Tip: Ask for room with a view-should be available in Summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gpdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Ski-in, ski-out. Beautifully maintained. Great pools (if a little cold). Family friendly. Very well mannered and helpful staff. Very yummy (if expensive) places to eat. Very large rooms as far as French ski resorts go. Not the greatest for a night out - but you should be skiing not clubbing all night! Can't reccommend it more.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank H_L_S_186336
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2012

I've been there 4 years ago for a week. We got a good price because we were 5 in the room (2 bedrooms + kitchen). Very nice room, clean, quiet, space, great view and location; right beside the slopes. Bakery, grocery store, restaurants, bars, shops around. Ski lift was very near. Good service, perfect for a memorable ski trip!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JMichel_07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2012

We stayed at the Manoir Savoie for the first week of April 2012. We were delighted to find that there was plenty of snow and sunshine. The mountains had never looked so picturesque. We have skiied here at Easter once before, and it was fantastic then too! The lifts and pistes were well-maintained, and there were no queues at all. We took the Vanoise Express, and also skiied as a family at Belle-Plagne for a day. One of our best skiing holidays ever! :-)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Speedy1319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Les Arcs hotels
0.1 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Premium Residence Arc 1950 Le Village
2.5 mi away
Hotel L'Aiguille Grive
Hotel L'Aiguille Grive
#2 of 17 in Les Arcs
192 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Taj-I Mah
Hotel Taj-I Mah
#1 of 17 in Les Arcs
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hotel du Golf
Hotel du Golf
#8 of 17 in Les Arcs
421 reviews
2.4 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Residence Le Belmont
2.5 mi away
Hotel Mercure - Les Arcs 1800
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Resort, Arc 1950? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Resort, Arc 1950

Property: Radisson Blu Resort, Arc 1950
Address: Arc 1950 Le Village, 73700 Les Arcs, Bourg Saint Maurice, France (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Bourg Saint Maurice > Les Arcs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Les Arcs
#1 Family Hotel in Les Arcs
#3 Luxury Hotel in Les Arcs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Resort, Arc 1950 5*
Number of rooms: 335
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rezidor so you can book your Radisson Blu Resort, Arc 1950 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Resort, Arc 1950 Hotel Les Arcs
Radisson Les Arcs
Radisson Bourg Saint Maurice
Les Arcs Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing