We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pierre & Vacances Premium Residence Les Alpages de Chantel
Nearby Hotels
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
    TripAdvisor
    View Deal
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Pool
    • Fitness center
    TripAdvisor
    View Deal
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Pool
    TripAdvisor
    View Deal
    • Restaurant
    • Bar/Lounge
    clubmed.us
    View Deal
    • Breakfast included
    • Restaurant
    TripAdvisor
    View Deal
    • Free Wifi
    • Restaurant
    TripAdvisor
    View Deal
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Pool
    Reviews (688)
    Filter reviews
    688 results
    Traveler rating
    193
    248
    142
    83
    22
    Traveler type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    193
    248
    142
    83
    22
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewsswimming poolserve fooddressing gownsperson apartmentski bootsno liftmain buildingtwin bedrooma bit crampedself catering apartmentfamily ski tripski hire shoppremium residenceunderground car parkgreat accommodationgroup of friendsthese apartments
    Filter
    Updating list...
    69 - 74 of 688 reviews
    Reviewed January 22, 2012

    Just back from a week at Alpages de Chantel in Les Arcs 1800. Beautifully decorated apts with a fab resturant on site with the most welcoming staff. However the same could not be said about the only one pub on site which was next door. The town could only be reached by shuttle bus or on foot which made it difficult to go out on the town at night. The shuttle bus finished at 10 o'clock and was not very reliable. A taxi would cost €80 from the town to our apts. There was no lift to our apts so we had to climb 3 flights of stairs from the ski locker to our apts each evening. The bottle bank and bins were a 200m walk away. On the plus side the pool was fab, as was the reception area. Ski-in ski-out was great. All in all we won't be back. Les Arcs is a super ski area but Le Village in 1950 is a much better option.

    • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    4  Thank EdelDonelan
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed January 20, 2012

    Returned last weekend from a wonderful holiday in Les Arcs. 3m of snow and a week of sunshine :-)
    We stayed at les alpages de chantel, a 5 star premium resort from pierre et vacances.

    We were a bit weary when we heared the residence was owned by p&v, because mosty they rent typical french studio's which are mostly very small and spartan.

    It is the very last location in arcs 1800. So when you arrive there it is still almost 3km to the residence. You benefit from this because i think it makes it the best situated residence in arcs 1800. The distance to the shops is too far to do on foot.

    For our stay we had booked the 5/6 ppl classic appartment. The price was somewhat lower than other premium residences. But we experienced later on why...
    We were just there as a couple, but we like to have enough room to move around. But: the appartment was incredibly small !. The maximum ppl who can live in there for a week is: a couple with 2 children.
    The dinner table has only 4 places (bench and 2 chairs). The beds are rather small. there is a sofa for 3 ppl.

    The appartment: the wooden finishing is nice and gives a 'luxuruous' atmosphere. But if you think that away, you have a rather small appartment (studio) with no more luxury than a standard french appartment ! The TV only had french channels (dont think that classifies under 'premium'), the internet was too small to be practical (not premium), on top of that you had to relog every 30 min! The day you arrive, you don't have access..

    The ski lockers where in a dismal state and were not heated (not 'premium' in my book!)

    As usual in france: everyone arrives at the same moment, that means: reception seriously understaffed at that time. Else, they were very friendly and helpful.

    What is practical too: you have a skiset rental in the building, a bar and pizzeria where you can order pizza's which were not too expensive.

    We didn't use the pool. so cant comment on that.

    in short: well situated, price/quality is correct, but not at all premium quality. If you want to book there: book a much bigger room than you should do normally. If you are with 6 ppl: book a residence with 3 bedrooms or you will be in for a disappointement afterwards

    Room Tip: We had B10 (suited for 2-4 ppl) and very close to the exit to the pistes.
    • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    3  Thank westende
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed June 28, 2011

    Stayed for a week over new-year. Excellent skiing (but just enough snow at resort level) and excellet apartment. Particularily like the pedestrian only nature of the resort and good selsection of bars and restruants.

    Only complaint is the swimming pools - each block doesn't have one (but you can walk through underground car-park if you don't want to venture outside) and they are too cold. Jacuzzis aren't much warmer either!

    • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
      • Value
      • Sleep Quality
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    2  Thank MD68
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed May 3, 2011

    This Alpages de Chantel is made up by 2 largish buildings, the main one being the highest on the mountain flank. That highest one has a ski rental shop, 2 restaurants and a spa. That spa can be enjoyed free of charge by the residents, and I have found it very refreshing after a long day on the slopes (massages and any treatments are charged and are quite expensive). It is a ski-in ski-out place, and despite the lack of snow when we were there, we could still ski down a maintained tongue of snow on the far side of the building. The apartement was duplex above the bar-restaurant, but it was very quiet at night. The flat was not cleaned during our stay, so we had to do it ourselves with the cleaning appliances provided, which was fined by me as I like to clean it my way. Bedlinen and towels are provided too, but only once at the start of the stay. Extra towels and dressing gowns could be requested for €8 a piece! Overall, the flat had everything we could ever need. The view from the large balcony was very nice. We were 6 people staying: 2 in the en-suite downstairs, 2 in the small bedroom upstairs and 2 on the landing upstairs. Very comfortable. Finally, the staff are superb: the most helpful and friendly and polite and patient people I have every encountered. Nothing is too much trouble for them. As for value for money, we sure had a bargain there.

    Room Tip: Reception is at left after bridge off Chantel bus
    • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    5  Thank Yoannlt
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed February 7, 2011

    I have just returned having spent a week in a 3 bedroomed appartment at Chantel 2. There were 5 of us and this was perfect. You would struggle with 8 as it reportedly caters for, but then that is the case with all appartments where you would have to utilise the sofas as additional beds.

    It was a pure mistake to have come here, but only because we found out we had been double booked in Le Village 1950 and were offered this as an alternative 2 days before arrival. And what a Gem.

    As it turns out anyway (if you do your research), everything is far less expensive in Arc 1800 including food and the all important ski hire. Use Ski Republic and save yourself a small fortune with their 2 for 1 offers. Many more eateries too.

    The rooms, bathrooms and kitchen were the cleanest that I have ever stayed in. All rooms well proportioned.

    Having lodged in over 10 resorts, never have I ever travelled and found a more helpful, friendly , happy and professional front of house staff. Nothing was too much trouble. The only downer was not the residence but the disgraceful inconsiderate party who moved in above us half way through the week. Screaming, shouting, singing etc. until 4am. However, a quick word with the front of house the next day and it never happened again. Amazing considering it turned out it was a large party with 3 appartments next to each other. There is a strict no noise past 10pm policy. Whatever the staff said...... worked. A credit to their ability to deal tactfully with clients.

    The pool/sauna & steam rooms were lovely and if you were in before 5pm the chances are that you will mostly have the place to yourself. Again... everything was spotless.

    Ski to the door. Perfect. Just so long as you aren't a complete beginner.

    There is nothing else that I can really say. A wonderful holiday. Thank you Pierre & Vacance.

    • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    2  Thank Duncan-DB
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    View more reviews