We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Les Arcs 2000
Nearby Hotels
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
    TripAdvisor
    View Deal
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Pool
    TripAdvisor
    View Deal
    • Restaurant
    • Bar/Lounge
    clubmed.us
    View Deal
    • Breakfast included
    • Restaurant
    TripAdvisor
    View Deal
    • Free Wifi
    • Restaurant
    Hotel Taj-I Mah(Les Arcs)
    TripAdvisor
    View Deal
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Pool
    TripAdvisor
    View Deal
    • Restaurant
    Reviews (85)
    Filter reviews
    85 results
    Traveler rating
    26
    25
    15
    7
    12
    Traveler type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    26
    25
    15
    7
    12
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewsgreat resortlower slopesski areaplenty of hot waterski hireski schoolrunsaccommodationpistealpsclubbluesskier
    Filter
    Updating list...
    54 - 59 of 85 reviews
    Reviewed March 3, 2007

    Stayed at the end of January 2007 in an apartment advertised as suitable for 4/6 persons. Accommodation comprised two bedrooms, one double, one twin, with the lounge area used to make up pull out beds. All mod cons available and in good working order, very tidy all round. Plenty blankets pillows etc, more if needed. Bath a bit pokey but shower room excellent with power shower and plenty hotwater.

    On site supermarket (more like corner shop) has most things albeit a tad expensive but thats to be expected 2000 metres up an alp. Onsite pub has good selection of beers and food, shows English premiership footie and other sporting events..

    Pool excellent as is sauna.

    Located at base of lift access to upper part of Les Arcs 2000 and short poma lift to ski slopes - allows for ski back to apartment with 50m walk / shuffle on skis - perfect.

    Three pubs within snowballs throw of apartment plus pizza/burger bar.

    Apartments overlook Les Arcs 1950 which at the time of our holiday is looking to smarten itself up with several new hotels being built. 1950 iteself seems to have come under influence of the Intrawest brand which can be pleasing on the eye but equally attracts stiff prices.

    Tips - when coming to Les Arcs stop off in Bourg St Maurice to load up with provisions from SuperU or equivalent. Bring your own loo roll! Make sure you tidy up well on departure as the reception staff come up and carry out inspection before return of deposit - €500 by way of credit card swipe.

    • Stayed: January 2007, traveled with friends
      • Value
      • Location
      • Check in / front desk
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank Jerrais
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed February 21, 2007

    I stayed at Club Med Altitude in late January of 2006. The hotel is well run, staff is friendly ( as is usual in club med). The food was unbelievably good, night entertainment was not bad. The cooler place to be was club med Extreme, across the street, however, next time this is where we're going to go. This village is all -adult, bar and night club are open till late, and it only costs a couple of hundred dollars more per person.
    The resort itselft is OK, nothing great, however skiing there is awesome, and that's why we go there after all. Plus, club med really had everything included, so we only came out in the evening for a short walk.
    The veriety and amound of terrain is amazingly rich, lift lines not long. Great vacation overall!

    • Stayed: February 2007, traveled with friends
      • Value
      • Location
      • Check in / front desk
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
      • Business service (e.g., internet access)
    2  Thank Ski-in-out
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed February 21, 2007

    We booked a 'Premier Service' ski holiday in Chalet Altitude, Les Arcs 2000 with ALPINE ELEMENTS and not only was the accomodation and service awful, vastly different to what was claimed in the brochure, but the food and hygiene was so poor the chalet assistant gave us all gastric flu which meant we were stuck in the cramped [--] chalet not able to ski. A v expensive way to waste money being ill in bed.

    If you would like to know the nitty gritty... read on. It's hard to think of a positive from the experience. The best thing to do would be avoid Alpine Elements entirely.

    This is a summary of the points we felt necessary to highlight to the company's director James Hardiman:

    1. Flights
    Our departure from Gatwick was delayed by 5¼ hours. We were told there was a mechanical fault with the plane, and had to wait for a new one. Under European Union Regulation 261/2004, all flights (whether schedule, charter or part of a package holiday) delayed more than 5 hours entitles the passenger to a) meals and refreshments in relation to waiting time, b) two free telephone calls, emails, telexes or faxes, c) hotel accommodation and transfers, and d) reimbursement of ticket if they decide not to travel. None of these measures were mentioned or provided by Alpine Elements or the carrier XL air.

    2. Bedrooms, Chalet Altitude, Les Arcs 2000
    Upon arrival at the Chalet at 1am, the chalet assistant was unaware of which rooms were allocated to each of the exhausted guests
    •The bedroom we received was dirty, unvacuumed, the toilet had faecal matter in it and bath was uncleaned – despite the additional 5 hours the chalet assistant subsequent to our expected arrival had, to prepare the chalet
    •There was broken glass in the one bathroom, which remained for the duration of our stay
    •One of the washhand basins was blocked, which remained blocked for the duration of our stay
    •A faulty bulb in the bathroom was replaced only when one of our party members took the initiative on day three
    •The rooms were too small. We required one double and a twin room. Each room contained two single beds and a wardrobe, and on arrival, the rooms had to be reorganised to allow access. One of the two rooms had a shared balcony, but the room was so small access to both the balcony and to the wardrobe was denied because the beds were in the way
    •As an Architect, we can confirm that it is good practice to allow access to three sides of the bed, which was not the case. There is normally 550mm minimum between the beds and 450mm space needed at the sides and the ends for making the beds, ideally, this should be 700mm. These rooms do not meet the minimum standards expected and in no certain terms could it be considered ‘Premier’
    •The rooms were not fit for double occupancy. It would appear that we have we have been charged for two double rooms (10m2 min.), but were allocated two single person rooms (6.5m2 min.) with an additional bed squeezed in. This begs the question whether these rooms are deemed fit for purpose?
    •The bathroom was too small and offered substantially less than the 700mm minimum access required in front of the shower
    •The mattresses on the beds were foam, well-indented with many previous body shapes and provided no back support resulting in back ache every night
    •The Pillows provided were extremely inadequate and we had to resort to the sofa cushions for comfort each night. One pillow cover was missing

    3. Chalet Altitude Living Conditions
    •The entrance door into the chalet was broken and did not lock. Nor were there any locks on the individual bedroom doors so this provided no security for possessions or personal safety throughout the holiday
    •The dining table was laid for 12 but only comfortably sat eight as the table ends were solid wood and thus each meal 4 people were unable to get their legs under the table. The wooden chairs provided were in need of repair and in various states of coming apart

    4. Chalet Altitude Facilities
    •At no time were we informed of the Emergency Escape procedure, and there was a lack of Fire Escape notices at the bottom of the stairwell
    •The lift to our chalet was broken and not working when we did arrive with all our bags at 1am after the 5+ hour delay at Gatwick. This lift was normally broken so apparently this was not unusual
    •The inviting photograph of the heated pool in the lower floor of our chalet that is ‘just a short walk’ through the car park was not all it appeared either. The pool was in another building, which required a walk through an unsafe, poorly lit car park that was open to the snow outside. And we were expected to do this in our swimming costume?! The temperature of the pool water was not high enough to be enjoyable and once experienced no one decided to visit the pool again
    •The sauna temperature was tepid at best and the water bucket was broken

    5. Alpine Elements catering
    • Basic knowledge of health and hygiene was conspicuously lacking from the training the chalet assistant had received. For one, he was very ill with gastric ‘flu (which we shortly would all come down with) and should not have been working. He coughed, spluttered and was most certainly not aware of the EU food hygiene legislation (Regulation 852/2004) which stipulates that it is the primary responsibility of food business operators to produce food safely to protect human health. Food operators are expected to uphold and satisfy the requirements of these food laws at all stages of production and processing
    • Gastric ‘flu (aka viral gastroenteritis) is contagious and the virus that causes it is spread by close and unhygienic contact with infected persons. Food commonly gets contaminated by food preparers/handlers. The CDC (Center for Disease Control and Prevention) states that transmission of viral gastroenteritis is especially common when food preparers do not wash their hands regularly after using the bathroom
    •The chalet assistant was receiving no medication for his gastroenteritis, which he openly admitted he had for the past week prior to our arrival. It is extraordinary that no medication is supplied to chalet staff who are handling and preparing food and that sick staff are not replaced with support staff
    • The two fridges contained a lot of old food that should have been long thrown out. We cringed at the appalling lack of care taken when handling dishes or storing or preparing food: he was frequently seen wiping his nose with his bare hand before handling food, picking his nose while talking to the resort representative before serving him food, and his coughing was never caught by his hand – merely directed over whatever he was doing (dishes, food)

    EU Health and Safety Laws are designed to maximise safety during food preparation and for all of our party to suffer from gastric upset, coughing, nausea, chronic lethargy, shivers or fever, none of these guidelines can have been adhered to. The consequence of becoming ill on an annual 7 day sports activity holiday is that the skiing – paid for up front – cannot happen. Physically we were unable to summon the high energy and muscle control that skiing requires. Out of the 7 days holiday, some were only able to ski for part of 3. This is where we feel Alpine Elements has let us down the most. Skiing comes but once a year and it was duly ruined by the company we booked it with.

    •The 2-week cookery course provided by Alpine Elements to train the chalet assistant provided a dull and limited repertoire that was more student-like than ‘high standard cuisine’ as quoted in your brochure. Soup was hot water with bits of floating vegetable, canapés were always laughably poorly disguised stale baguette from yesterday and the proportions were equally disappointing – 3 strawberries each for pudding
    •The brochure claims ‘a selection of wines are served at each meal’ and it was on this basis of the ‘Premier Standard' of food and wine provided that we booked with Alpine Elements. Upon discovering that the ‘selection of wines’ entailed 3 bottles of the same wine each night for 12 people, we had to take this up with the resort manager, who informed us that we had ‘misinterpreted’ the brochure and that it was just ‘sales spin’. We requested to discuss the matter further with the area manager Hughie (Based in Val D’Isere) and arranged for him to come over the following evening. He never came nor did we receive a reason for him not bothering to come and discuss our dissatisfaction with the Alpine Elements experience.

    5. Airport transfers
    •Upon coach transfer to Geneva airport (with some of our party still very ill) it emerged that ‘it was company policy to keep the toilet locked in the coach’ at all times, and food and drink was strictly prohibited. We explained to the driver before we set off that some of us were ill and would need the toilet facilities during the transfer. We were then informed that the Alps are ‘too cold for the flushing mechanism on the Alpine Elements coach to work’ and it must be kept locked. The driver then handed out local supermarket plastic bags just in case we felt the need to be sick. Not a service that any other company would admit without shame and not really helpful for bowel emergencies. How is such a ludicrous policy upheld by your Alpine based company?
    •In addition, on the return journey we had one scheduled stop at what can only be described as a coach drivers’ café, where the food and drink on offer certainly was not ‘Premiere’ and the 15 minutes allocated for the stop was spent queuing behind 50 others. This is most unfortunate as we were less than ten minutes from the beautiful town of Annecy, which was the original scheduled stop.

    All in all, Alpine Elements charged a lot of money for a service that most certainly did not reflect the standard or the ‘Premiere Service’ that was offered in the brochure. The cramped, shoddy living conditions, with poor food and meals would make a ski holiday a huge disappointment for anybody, but coupled with having to suffer through gastric ‘flu caught from the chalet cook made the entire experience utterly, miserably, awful and not one that we could ever recommend to anyone to experience.

    Vote with your feet! Avoid Alpine Elements...

    26  Thank tabbage
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    JamesHardiman, CEO - Alpine Elements Group Ltd at Les Arcs 2000, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2008

    From James Hardiman
    CEO - Alpine Elements Ltd

    Dear All
    The Chalet Altitude range of chalets is represented by a number of Tour Operators. There are several of these chalets which were all built in 2005/06 and each represent a premium, almost luxury level of accommodation with pool and sauna access.

    We did indeed run the 14 bed unit that was the subject of the above review and since then we have dropped it in favour of the more spacious 6, 8, 10 & 12 bed units.

    Nevertheless, these chalets were designed and built to standards by French architects in 2005. Each twin or double bedroom is designed to allow free movement to the balconies and ensuites and around the room. It is true to say that there is not an excess of space, but I personally have found each bedroom more than adequate for my needs. I have holiday-ed in our Altitude chalets on two occasions.

    I would like to add that the space in the public areas is larger than most other chalets and the combination of open hearth makes these especially comfortable chalets.

    With regard to the service element of the above complaint, then indeed there may be isolated cases where things do not always run to plan, however we have improved our management and staff training considerably over the years.

    We care a great deal about personal service, safety and all aspects of your holiday. If guests have an issue - we want to know immediately so we can make amends!

    We now offer a 24 hour emergency number, round the clock management and a dedicated email address for Complaints so contacting us is made extra-easy.

    We are an independent company, small enough to care, and very quick to react. We tweak our programme every year on the feedback from our loyal guests.

    Please enjoy the Altitude Chalets for what they are. They should not be tarnished by a lengthy letter/review that dilutes their excellent qualities: A superb range of almost ski to door properties with pool, sauna access and lovely décor.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed March 15, 2006

    Have just returned from Arc 2000 having stayed at the L' Aiguille Rouge, travelling with First Choice. We must say that we were bitterly disappointed with the hotel and the resort and believe the hotel should be classified as a two star not as a four plus as others have portrayed it. The hotel was all about ticking boxes, the bath was only a metre long, the shower did not have a fixing on the wall and the balcony was not large enough to fit even the smallest chair. The food in the evening was fairly good but the free wine tasted watered down and they did not offer the choice of purchasing any other wines in the restaurant. Breakfast was sadly lacking on the cooked side and all choices were rarely replenished. The resort itself is very isolated and suffers when conditions get bad, as they tend to close the lifts to 1800 and 1600 preventing you from getting out of the storm. The resort is very quite and we believe needs a lot of work to bring it up to normal standards. If you just want skiing then we presume this may well sort your needs but any minor form of luxuries are not included. Overall rating 3/10

    • Stayed: March 2006
      • Value
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    8  Thank Baltimaster
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed March 30, 2005

    Really great skiing - the snow was perfect, not too icy or too soft, just perfect, lots of easy relaxing runs, coupled with the more challenging!!! Just a beautiful part of the alps - you feel as though you are on top of the world there!!!!!!

    We stayed in 1800 le Alpage de chantel (which was first class) - but preferred the skiing in 2000/1950 as we had children and they found it brill!!!

    We are planning to return for Christmas and will be looking to stay in Les Arcs 1950 it is going to be beautiful when they have finished all the building work - the village is something else!!!!

    • Stayed: April 2005
      • Value
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    11  Thank Samgamble_13
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    View more reviews