We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feb 2014”
Review of Hotel du Golf

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel du Golf
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Les Arcs
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Feb 2014”
Reviewed May 26, 2014

Excellent location right on the piste. The room was a decent size, comfortable and clean. The food was good. Nice bar and restuarants, excellent service in the bar but the service in the main restuarant/buffet was a bit hit or a miss depending on who you landed with. Not being able to speak French very well seemed to anger a few of the young female waiting staff and once they realised our french speaking talents were exhausted after saying hello and ordering drinks their mood changed dramatically! Shocking behavour to be honest.

The ski/board locker room was good. Wifi was good.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BForbes2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    184
    71
    27
    19
See reviews for
149
143
8
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2014

We also stayed at the hotel and all four of us had seriously upset stomachs. We missed two days skiing as a result. The staff didn't seem to care.

When we arrived no information about the hotel or activities were given. You had to ask and it really did seem like you were bothering them.

The hotel is excellently located and apparently the thing to do is stay at the hotel and eat out in the many restaurants and bars nearby. We were looking forward to hot showers when we got back after skiing but the shower head is just above bath height. You have to sit in the bath to have a shower. Not for us, I'm afraid!

Nielsens were utterly useless with their rep disappearing back to the UK half way through our holiday. They left us standing in sub-zero temperatures around 5.00am waiting for a bus back to the airport for over 45 minutes. No message to say they were on their way or, indeed, any sort of communication the entire week.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Familyonholsabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2014

We stayed in this hotel as a couple from 22nd March - 29th March. The location of the hotel is perfect, less than 100m walk to the chairlifts, 200m to the nearest gondola and you can ski right back to the back door! We took our own skis/boards and the ski room service is excellent, having someone there to put your skis away saves them getting knocked over/moved by others and removes some of the chaos that you would normally see in a ski storage room. The hotel bar is lovely - slightly expensive but you are paying for the surroundings and great service. The food was the best food we have experienced in a ski hotel. The buffet restaurant was great with lots of choice and a different theme each evening e.g. Italian, seafood etc. The show cooking section was also a nice touch. We made use of the alternative restaurant serving raclette and pierrade which was impressive, particularly when included in the half board option. We also used the free use of the spa, but wouldn't say that it is worth cutting short a days skiing as it is so small! Staff were really friendly (although perhaps not so much those on the reception desk!) and always willing to help! Only slight negative would be the lack of shower in the room - to have just a bath and shower head in a ski hotel seems a bit bizarre but didn't cause us too much of a problem. Overall we had an excellent holiday in an amazing ski resort and this was one of the best ski hotels we have stayed in. Would definitely return if coming back to Les Arcs!

Room Tip: Try to get a room close to reception - it can be quite tiring walking up/down the sloping corridors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank April M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Of the 13 people waiting for the coach back to the airport - 12 had missed 2 days of the holiday due to food poisoning. The hotel cared little and all I can say is don't eat in the buffet restaurant. Also don't use Nielsen ski - I phoned and emailed twice and got no response, no rep , no help , no nothing - worse than useless.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Slingert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014

A nasty vomiting bug went round the restaurant staff and guests. The manager played down the problem and allowed his chef to cook and serve food despite the chef admitting to me he had been vomiting all the previous night! Over half the guests had the sickness bug including me and two children which lost us 4 days out of 6 for skiing. I suggested offering alcohol gel to the guests and staff which the manager informed me was not how things were done in France! I suggested he have the hotel cleaned and he said it was close to the end of the season and so was not worth it! He also said he didn't have enough staff left to not insist the sick chef continue to cook food for guests.
Hotel reception staff are particularly unwelcoming and had no departure information or telephone numbers for any of the reps from the agents.
The ski / boot room was manned but inadequately so it was a total bun fight in the morning to get your boots and skis as there was so little room.
The food in the buffet was mediocre at best, thats when we were able to experience it.
The drinks in the bar are outrageously expensive. I paid 9 euros for a large bottle of fizzy water!
The only redeeming feature of this hotel was the proximity to the lift and having an in-house ski hire shop. Also close to other shops and bars which is good.
Would not recommend unless you want to lose half a stone in a week or spend your holiday in your ensuite!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TCG2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2014

I had a poor stay at this hotel previously (very poor food, and a shocking attitude by management). Stayed again the following season because friends were using this hotel. Food was night and day better than my last experience. Food was excellent. Spoke to the manager, who was the same as previously, and they had changed their catering team.

Always has been a very good hotel in terms of rooms and access to slopes.

Happy to say say that I would now recommend it, although my previous experience holds me back from giving five starts.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 186338Philip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veyrier, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

Don't get drunk or you'll never find your room!

Of course I'm kidding but the floor layout is something I have never seen. All sloping with crisscrossing points where you'll find the elevators. From reception walk down to 3rd floor, take elevator to 8 and then you have access to all rooms walking down.

Room was clean, and simple. Bedding is fluffy. Bathroom was also clean but no shower curtain so complicated shower!

Free wifi ask at front desk. Works everywhere.

We will be back!

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank landrefl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Les Arcs hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel L'Aiguille Grive
Hotel L'Aiguille Grive
#2 of 17 in Les Arcs
196 reviews
2.3 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Premium Residence Arc 1950 Le Village
0.5 mi away
Hotel Mercure - Les Arcs 1800
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Residence Le Belmont
2.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Arc 1950
1.6 mi away
Arcadien Hotel & Spa
Arcadien Hotel & Spa
#11 of 17 in Les Arcs
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Golf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Golf

Property: Hotel du Golf
Address: Village du Charvet | Arc 1800, 73700 Les Arcs, Bourg Saint Maurice, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Bourg Saint Maurice > Les Arcs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Les Arcs
#4 Spa Hotel in Les Arcs
#6 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Les Arcs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel du Golf 3*
Number of rooms: 246
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set right in the centre of Arc 1800 and at the foot of the slopes, the Hotel du Golf is one of the most renowed in the region. The views on the forest, the slopes and the Mont-Blanc will charm any mountain lover.- The Grand Domaine des Arcs" and "Paradiski" ski areas - Altitude: 1,200 - 3,250 m.- One of the largest ski centres in the Alps with 3700 ha of skiing domain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel du Golf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pv Holidays Hotel Latitudes Du

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing