We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel ... great skiing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Mercure - Les Arcs 1800
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Les Arcs
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 11, 2012

We stayed here recently with our two children. Overall a nice hotel. Good breakfast and dinner choices. Room was average but roomy enough. The room had the basic amenities. The access to skiing is mixed. You need to go to the village (about a 1/4 mile walk) for ski passes otherwise ski rentals are available right in the hotel ski shop (very convenient). The hotel was inflexible on late check out, though ... which was strange given the week following our weekend visit seemed quiet.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SangPei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (409)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Mercure - Les Arcs 1800
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 409 reviews

Reviewed February 12, 2012

Just back from a week in Les Arcs. Its been bitterly cold but the hotel is lovely and cosy. Staff are v nice, rooms are good, and the common areas are spacious. Couple of quibbles - bar is not very enticing for the under 50's, likewise the restaurant is somewhat bland and functional - food ok. Pool wasnt open (its full of snow !). Sauna was good and feels great after a days ski-ing. Charmitoger lift is easily accessible, and you in ski back to the hotel (with a little bit of challenge !).

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thenev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2012

We had the best time in Les Arcs thanks to Grand Hotel Paradiso. The Staff is what makes the hotel. They are so friendly and helpful in every way. The ski lifts are just on their backyard. the view from our hotel room was breath taking. Rooms are clean and spacious enough. Their complimentary breakfast is to die for. Breads,OJ,bacon,Eggs,all kind of milk and juices,cold cuts etc etc...you get the picture.
Special thanks to the Director of the hotel, Assist Director and ALL the staff. We will come again.
Their little village was very quaint and i am sorry i did not try ALL the restaurants there...maybe next time.

Room Tip: we stayed on the 2nd floor but still had a great view.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shez369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2011

My friends and I stayed here for one night during our tour of Europe on motorbikes. We booked the hotel through booked.com and got a deal which included our evening meal. On arriving at the hotel check in was quick and simple the room we stayed in was lovely with great views of the Alps. It was spacious with comfy beds and additional pillows. it also contained two bunk beds in a separate part of the room which would be great for families. The bathroom was very modern and clean with a fabulous shower and plenty of hot water. The entertainment in the bar area was dire and we would have had a better night had there not been any as it was hard to hold a conversation over the noise. The veranda off the bar was lovely with comfy seating but unfortunately whilst we were sat drinking our wines the staff came and took the cushions off us and it was only 23.00hrs. Now for the meal firstly the dining room was very noisy and extremely hot. We were shown to our table by a very nice waitress who gave us our set menu which had no options. It consisted of gazpacho, fish gnocchi style then fruit. This was unsuitable for all of our party so we booked from the a la carte. The waiter who came to take our order was not so helpful I asked for the vegetarian option he basically said there wasn't one but I could have the house salad as this was my only option I ordered it only to find it was a bowl of lettuce leaves with grapefruit. It had no dressing on it and I found the leaves to be bitter. After explaining how disappointed I was, he basically didn't seem to care. The rest of the people in my party had excellent food they would recommend the burger which was served with a small salad which had a wonderful lemon dressing on it and fries. When I refused to pay for my salad no one bothered as they knew. On checking out the following morning though as we had booked a packaged with booking.com as no one had eaten from the set menu they wouldn't deduct the cost of the set meal against what we had spent in the restaurant so it cost us twice as much therefore I would recommend only paying for bed and breakfast. The breakfast was excellent with a choice of everything. Even having small teapots in which to make your tea.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hadley60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2011

Spent a week here with my wife and 8 yo son from 26-12-10 to 2-1-11.

We booked through a travel operator, they offered "discount" rooms that were very interesting price-wise and a lot cheaper than booking through the hotel.

The rooms were OK, good firm bed, twin bunk beds in the hallway.
We were right over the entrance to the ski-room, so some noise of skiers leaving and going but nothing serious as you're probably leaving anyway. Water temperature was a bit difficult to control but at least the water was hot enough.

The parking inside of the hotel was a bonus, no lugging around with ski's and bags.

Food was better than expected. Bar prices a bit steep and not a lot of people in the bar.

All in all I'd recommend this hotel to friends. We will not be going back, not because of the hotel, which was fine, not because of the rooms, who where great, not because of the distance to the ski-lift (a 2 minute walk), but mainly because of the location and the ski-station itself. It is a bit far from the town center but if you're happy staying in the hotel then it's a good enough choice.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Steven T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2009

The hotel is located about 200 metres from the skilifts, which can be quite a track, walking in skiing boots, with your skis in hand. However it is possible to ski to the hotel, so you only have to walk in the morning to get to the lifts.

The hotel has clean and very spacious rooms. We booked a double, but in the hallway there were bunk beds (ideal if you have children). Which we used to put our luggage on. The hallway can be closed off, using a sliding door, which makes it a two bed room room. The bath room is clean but small, and the room has a separate toilet, which we like.

Service is very friendly. The bar is good for cocktails and has some live music most of the evenings. The breakfast is okay (nice croissants, fresh orange juice,..) however lacks hot items (eggs, sausages, bacon,...). Dinner is a three course choice menu. It was not bad, but also not super. However, it was allways more then sufficient.

Parking in the ski station is payable, and the surcharge for parking in the hotel garage is very low.

We used the sauna as well, however, you have to start up the sauna yourself and wait for it to warm. The shower facilities in the saunacomplex are very handy if you want to change after check out. We skied for a day after we checked out, and could use the sauna room to change and freshen up.

The complimentary bottle of water in the room was a nice touch.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank csb001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2017, traveled with family
Thank Nathalie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Les Arcs hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel du Golf
Hotel du Golf
#8 of 17 in Les Arcs
433 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel L'Aiguille Grive
Hotel L'Aiguille Grive
#1 of 17 in Les Arcs
214 reviews
2.5 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Premium Residence Arc 1950 Le Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Residence Le Belmont
2.1 mi away
Arcadien Hotel & Spa
Arcadien Hotel & Spa
#11 of 17 in Les Arcs
98 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Taj-I Mah
Hotel Taj-I Mah
#2 of 17 in Les Arcs
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mercure - Les Arcs 1800? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mercure - Les Arcs 1800

Address: Village de Charmettoger | Arc 1800, 73700 Les Arcs, Bourg Saint Maurice, France (Formerly Grand Hotel Paradiso - Les Arcs)
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Bourg Saint Maurice > Les Arcs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Les Arcs
Price Range: $188 - $579 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mercure - Les Arcs 1800 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the resort "Les Arcs 1800" and easily accessible for guests returning from the slopes on skis, The Grand Hotel Paradiso offers its 81 spacious and comfortable rooms in a unique setting.The panoramic restaurant is open morning, noon & night (in winter). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Mercure - Les Arcs 1800 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing